Behavioral Health Advisory Committee

The Health and Human Services Commission established the Behavioral Health Advisory Committee (BHAC) to serve as the planning council for the Mental Health Block Grant and the Substance Use Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery Services Block Grant in accordance with the state's obligations under 42 U.S.C. §300x-3.

The BHAC members serve as stakeholders for the behavioral health system, monitoring operations and recommend improvements for allocation and adequacy of behavioral health services across the state. 
Recommendations to the Health and Human Services system agencies regarding behavioral health services may relate to:

  • Promotion of cross-agency coordination, state/local partnerships, and public/private partnerships in the funding and delivery of behavioral health services;
  • Promotion of data-driven decision-making;
  • Prevention of behavioral health issues and promotion of behavioral health wellness and recovery;
  • Integration of services for both mental illness and substance use disorder in prevention, intervention, treatment, and recovery services and supports;
  • Integrating delivery of behavioral health services and supports with delivery of physical health service;
  • Access to services and supports in urban, rural, and frontier areas of the state;
  • Access to services and supports to special populations;
  • Rules, policies, programs, initiatives, and grant proposals/awards for behavioral health services; and
  • Monitoring the five-year behavioral health strategic plan and coordinating expenditure plan developed by the Statewide Behavioral Health Coordinating Council.


Jolene Rasmussen 
Representative of the Texas Council of Community Centers, Chair 

Anna Gray 
Adult Certified Peer Provider, Co-Chair 
San Antonio

Olawale Adio-Oduola 
Other Interest in and Knowledge of Behavioral Health 

Doug Beach 
Family Member 
San Antonio

Amy Curtis 
Representative of the Interagency Coordinating Group for Faith and Community-Based Organizations 

Elias Diaz 
Eagle Pass

Tracy Hicks 

Jennifer Reed 
Local Government 

Victoria Rodriguez 
Managed Care Organization 
Corpus Christi

Nasruddin Rupani 

Vanessa D'lise Vale Saenz 

Jordan Smelley 
Youth/Young Adult with Lived Experience* 

Paul Walker 
Other Interest in and Knowledge of Behavioral Health 

Representative of a Federally Recognized Native American Tribe in Texas

Adult with Lived Experience*

Adult with Lived Experience*

Representative of the Association of Substance Abuse Programs

Local Government

Parent of a Child with Serious Emotional Disturbance

*“Person with Lived Experience” means someone living with a diagnosis of a mental illness or substance use disorder.

Meeting Dates

  • February 3, 2023 (9:00 a.m.)
  • May 5, 2023 (9:00 a.m.)
  • August 4, 2023 (9:00 a.m.)
  • November 10, 2023 (9:00 a.m.)

For More Information

Email the Behavioral Health Advisory Committee.