Statewide Behavioral Health Coordinating Council

The Statewide Behavioral Health Coordinating Council (SBHCC) was established to ensure a strategic statewide approach to behavioral health services. House Bill 1, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, (Article IX, Section 10.04) established the SBHCC to coordinate behavioral health services across state agencies. The SBHCC is comprised of representatives of state agencies or institutions of higher education that receive state general revenue for behavioral health services. 

Core duties of the SBHCC include:

  • Developing and monitoring the implementation of a five-year statewide behavioral health strategic plan.
  • Developing annual coordinated statewide behavioral health expenditure proposals.
  • Annually publishing an updated inventory of behavioral health programs and services that are funded by the state.


Brooke Boston 
Director of Programs 
Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs

Alexander Comsudi
Grant Attorney and Administrator
Court of Criminal Appeals

Kristin Meeks
Policy Analyst, Oversight and Improvement
Office of Court Administration/Texas Indigent Defense Commission

Trenton Engledow
Director, State Office of Rural Health
Texas Department of Agriculture

Hillary England
Deputy Director, Victim Services and Prevention Programs 
Office of the Governor

Reilly Web
Associate Commissioner
Health and Human Services Commission, Mental Health and Substance Use Programs

Stephen Glazier
Chief Operating Officer
University of Texas Health Science Center – Houston

Blake Harris, Ph.D.
Director, Veterans Mental Health Department
Texas Veterans Commission

Courtney Harvey, Ph.D. (Chair) 
Mental Health Statewide Coordinator and Associate Commissioner
Health and Human Services Commission, Office of Mental Health Coordination

Nancy Trevino, PhD.
Director, Texas Tech Mental Health Initiative
Texas Tech University System

Trina Ita
Chief Strategist for Behavioral Health
Department of Family and Protective Services

Roxanne Lackey
Special Projects Coordinator
Texas Civil Commitment Office

Evan Norton, Psy.D
Director of Integrated Treatment and Support
Texas Juvenile Justice Department

John Monk
Director,Health Professions Council
(Representing the State Board of Dental Examiners, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, Texas Optometry Board, Texas Board of Nursing and Texas Medical Board.)

Brittney Nichols, LPC-S
Administrative Director, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine
University of Texas Health Science Center – Tyler

Sydney Minnerly, Ph.D.
Director of Data Analytics & Special Projects
Department of State Health Services

Terina McIntyre
Director of System Operations
Health and Human Services Commission-Health and Specialty Care System

Jonas Schwartz
Program Manager, Vocational Rehabilitation Division
Texas Workforce Commission

Stacy Silverman, Ph.D.
Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Academic Quality and Workforce Division
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Luanne Southern
Executive Director
Texas Child Mental Health Care Consortium

Robin Sontheimer
Director of Psychological Health, Office of the Joint Surgeon
Texas Military Department

Ashley O’Niell
School Based Mental Health Wellness Coordinator
Texas School for the Deaf

Rene Olvera, MD
Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
University of Texas Health Science Center – San Antonio

Kristi Taylor
Executive Director, Judicial Commission on Mental Health
Supreme Court of Texas

Brandon Wood
Executive Director
Texas Commission on Jail Standards

Chris Varady
Peer to Peer Liaison
Texas Commission on Law Enforcement

Julie Wayman
Mental and Behavioral Health Manager, Interagency Liaison
Texas Education Agency

April Zamora
Director of Reentry and Integration Division
Texas Department of Criminal Justice/Texas Correctional Office on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments

Meeting Dates

  • February 28, 2024 (9 a.m.)
  • May 22, 2024 (9 a.m.)
  • August 21, 2024 (9 a.m.)
  • November 20, 2024 (9a.m.)

For More Information

Contact us at Mental Health SBHCC. serves as a resource for mental health services in the state of Texas.