A-2510, General Policy

Revision 13-2; Effective April 1, 2013


State time limits determine the number of months certain individuals can receive TANF benefits.

The TANF Program and TANF State Program limit caretakers and second parents to a 60-month lifetime limit. When a caretaker or second parent receives 60 months of benefits, their entire household is ineligible.

Caretakers and second parents are also subject to a state time limit of 12, 24 or 36 months of benefits based on their work history and education. Other household members may continue to receive benefits after a caretaker or second parent reaches their 12-, 24- or 36-month time limit.

The individual's education and/or recent work experience determine(s) the individual's state time limit. There are three time limits, known as "tiers." Tiers and their corresponding state time limits are:

Tier State Time Limit
5 12 months
6 24 months
7 36 months


Note: TIERS enters Tier 8 when the advisor does not enter enough information.

All certified caretakers and second parents, including minor parents certified as caretakers and second parents, receive a state time limit tier.

State time limits apply to the TANF cash benefits received by certified caretakers and second parents who have access to Choices employment services.

After the individual is notified to participate or voluntarily participates in the Choices program, each month the individual has an open Choices case and is certified as a TANF caretaker or second parent counts toward the state time limit.

When a TANF caretaker or second parent reaches their time limit, TIERS disqualifies the individual from receiving TANF in Texas for five years. The children on the TANF EDG remain eligible.

Exception: During the five-year freeze out period, disqualified individuals who meet the criteria for a hardship exemption may receive TANF.

Individuals may continue receiving TANF Level Medicaid and transitional child care benefits during the 12 months following their last state time limit month. (See A-840, Transitional Medicaid Coverage.)