Chapter 1: CRS Program Overview

The Comprehensive Rehabilitation Services (CRS) Standards for Providers manual is the official reference document of provider requirements for contracted goods and services for the CRS program.

The CRS program service arrays may be provided to eligible persons who have a traumatic brain injury (TBI), traumatic spinal cord injury (TSCI), or both.

The CRS program offers the following service arrays for TBI and TSCI:

  1. Inpatient Comprehensive Medical Rehabilitation Services
  2. Outpatient Therapy Services
  3. Post-Acute Rehabilitation Services
  4. Ancillary Goods and Services

The specific services provided to a participant are based on the participant’s rehabilitation needs. The services are available based on service setting and services governed by the contract’s terms and conditions and by contract standards.

This CRS standards manual is available online. This is CRS's preferred method of providing access to the CRS standards and all revisions. Revisions to these CRS standards are made periodically, and a log noting all revisions is also available online. Changes to the CRS standards are published on the website at least 30 days in advance of the effective date of the changes. Each provider is contractually responsible for maintaining compliance with the most recent CRS standards.

Any questions about the CRS Standards for Providers, please contact a standards specialist by emailing

If a printed copy is needed of the CRS Standards for Providers, contact the CRS Inquiries Unit at:

Phone: 512-438-4718
Fax: 512-206-3981
Mail: CRS Program, 701 W. 51st Street, MC 3084 Austin, TX 78751