Revision 23-2; Effective April 1, 2023
Before certifying applicants and recertifying recipients, staff must:
- Ensure that the applicant completes each item and signs and dates the application or renewal form. Note: If the applicant indicates changes during the interview, or application or renewal processing, document the nature of the change and when the person expects the change to occur. People on TP 08, TP 43, TP 44 and TP 48 complete the administrative renewal process and may not be required to provide a signed renewal form.
- Give the applicant Form H1019, Report of Change. Explain the applicant must report changes within 10 days after the household knows about the change. Indicate the appropriate reporting requirement on page 1.
- Refer the applicant to other programs the applicant might be eligible for, such as:
- family planning;
- Supplemental Security Income (SSI);
- Women, Infants and Children (WIC); and
- Social Security.
- Refer people who are elderly or have disabilities and who are ineligible for Medical Programs for families and children to the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) Medicaid for the Elderly and People with Disabilities (MEPD) programs. Note: If a person indicates they need services that Texas Works does not offer, and HHSC staff cannot provide a resource number, advise the person to call 2-1-1, option 1, for information and referral services.
- Inform the applicant of the right to appeal any HHSC action that affects the applicant’s eligibility or amount of benefits.
- Check for unpaid overpayments from prior certifications.
- Inform applicants that the information they provide is subject to verification by third parties.
Medical Program Administrative Renewals, B-122.4
- Explain federal and state time limits of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) benefits.
- Inform the person that a Choices noncompliance penalty makes them ineligible for a TANF state time limit hardship exemption during their five-year freeze-out period.
- Explain members need to be employed or apply for other sources of income. Encourage individual independence.
- Explain the requirement to seek other income available to the person, as explained in the policy related to pursuing SSI and RSDI benefits. Provide Form H1859, Social Security Administration Benefits for People with Disabilities Receiving TANF. Explain that the person must apply for applicable benefits and provide verification by the next TANF redetermination.
- Explain the option to receive One-Time TANF (OTTANF) instead of TANF. Offer this option to households eligible for TANF but not currently receiving TANF.
- For relatives who are potentially eligible to receive One-Time TANF for Relatives, explain the option to receive this additional benefit for a related dependent child certified for TANF.
- Inform people receiving a TANF one-time payment that they will receive the payment through the mail in the form of a warrant (check) and that the U.S. Postal Service does not forward TANF warrants. The address on file with HHSC must match the address on file with the U.S. Postal Service.
- Inform people with a Choices noncooperation, who reapply for TANF while in pay for performance, to contact the local Workforce Solutions office within 10 days. This allows enough time to demonstrate 30 days of cooperation before the 40th day after the interview date.
- Explain the Employment and Training (E&T) program requirements and services to applicable households at application and redetermination.
- Explain the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) time limits to people subject to these limits.
- Give Form H1805, SNAP Food Benefits: Your Rights and Program Rules, to all households at application and redetermination. Respond to any questions the applicant has about the form.
- Give Form H1019 to all streamlined reporting households. Indicate the appropriate reporting requirement on page 1. Explain streamlined reporting households must:
- Report changes in residence, and associated changes in shelter costs, and when their ongoing gross income exceeds 130 percent of the Federal Poverty Limit (FPL) for the household size.
- Report changes within 10 days after the household knows of the change.
- Respond to all notices and letters from the Employment and Training program as directed, even if they are employed.
What to Report, B-621
TP 43, TP 44 and TP 48
- Mail Form H0025, HHSC Application for Voter Registration, with the initial eligibility notice to a newly certified family and at subsequent redeterminations.
- Inform the family that when HHSC processes an application and determines the child is ineligible for Medicaid but eligible for the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), the family is notified on Form TF0001, Notice of Case Action. Form TF0001 also informs the household that the CHIP enrollment packet will be sent to the household.
- Inform new caretakers about the requirement to participate in a health care orientation. Include Form TF0001. This one-time requirement applies only to caretakers who have not been included as a certified or budget group member of a Medical Programs Eligibility Determination Group (EDG) within the past two years.
- Inform caretakers of Medicaid children under 19 that they are required to comply with the regimen of care prescribed by the Texas Health Steps program. The requirement applies to children starting at 2 years old. Begin checking for compliance with the first redetermination after the caretaker is informed of the requirement.
Registering to Vote, A-1521