Nurse Aide Training & Competency Evaluation Program (NATCEP)

Texas Health and Human Services reviews and approves or disapproves nurse aide training and competency evaluation programs and nurse aide competency evaluation programs.

Announcement Nurse Aide online system

As of 07/05/2023, NATCEPs, nurse aides and applicants for nurse aide certification will apply via Texas Unified License Information Portal (TULIP), a web-based licensure system designed specifically for licensed long-term care providers and licensees.  TULIP will allow Nurse Aides to complete all certification and application functions online.  For assistance with using TULIP, see user guide link on the TULIP landing page.

Log into TULIP account to create applicant registration, login and password reset here.

To contact the NATCEP, call 512-438-2017.

Any person or entity that wants to offer a NATCEP must receive approval from HHS.

NATCEP Requirements

Each NATCEP must provide a minimum of 100 clock hours of training, including:

  • 60 clock hours of classroom training that doesn't involve direct resident care
  • 40 clock hours of hands-on resident care in a nursing facility

Each NATCEP must teach the HHS-established curriculum, including:

  1. At least 16 introductory hours of training in the following areas before direct client contact:
    1. Communication and interpersonal skills
    2. Infection control
    3. Safety and emergency procedures, including the Heimlich maneuver
    4. Promoting residents' independence
    5. Respecting residents' rights
  2. Personal care skills
  3. Basic nursing skills
  4. Mental health and social service needs
  5. Care of cognitively impaired residents
  6. Basic restorative services
  7. Residents' rights

A facility may not provide NATCEP training if, within the previous two years, it:

  1. Operated under a waiver under 42 United States Code, relating to the services of a registered nurse
  2. Has been subject to an extended (or partial extended) survey under 42 USC
  3. Has been assessed a civil money penalty of not less than $5,000
  4. Has been subject to denial of payment or appointment of temporary management

Nurse aides renewing their certification are required to complete 24 hours of in-service education every two years. All approved NATCEPs are eligible to offer in-service education. If you are interested in offering this training, complete page 4 of Form 5514-NATCEP, Application, for Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program, and submit it to the address on the application. All non-facility based NATCEPs are required to obtain additional approval through the Texas Workforce Commission. Please contact TWC at 512-936-3100.

Nursing Facility Clinical Site Survey

In the summer of 2021, HHSC conducted a survey of nursing facilities’ interest in becoming a NATCEP clinical site. The following report includes respondents that answered yes to both of the following survey questions and includes the information they provided:

  • Is your facility willing to partner with a NATCEP to be a clinical site for nurse aides who do not work at your facility?
  • If so, are you willing to have your facility's name and contact information listed on the HHSC website as a possible clinical site?

Being included in this report does not guarantee that the nursing facility meets the requirements to be a clinical site. The review and determination of approval of the clinical site is completed once the NATCEP submits an application designating the site as a potential clinical site.

NATCEPs who are pursuing a clinical site with a nursing facility should click here to read the report (Excel) of nursing facilities interested in becoming a clinical site.

Nursing facilities should click here to review their information (Excel) is accurate or needs to be changed (updated, added, deleted). If changes are necessary, please send an email with any corrections. Please include NATCEP Clinical Site Survey in the subject line.

Employability Checks

NATCEPs are required to check both the Employee Misconduct Registry and the Nurse Aide Registry and to conduct a criminal history background check for all applicants. Applicants found to be listed on the EMR, or who are listed on the NAR in "revoked" status, or who have a criminal history that would bar employment in a HHS-licensed facility or agency are prohibited from enrolling in a nurse aide training program.

Military Members, Spouses and Veterans

The State of Texas recognizes the contributions of our military service members, their spouses, and veterans.

Military service members or veterans may have met some licensing requirements as a result of their military service or other training, knowledge, and experience. Military spouses of current, active duty military service members may also have met some licensing requirements related to this status. Modifications to renewal requirements may also be available for some military service members on active duty.

For more information regarding special licensure provisions military service members, military veterans, or military spouses may qualify for, read Senate Bill 1307, 84th Regular Legislative Session, 2015 (PDF).

For more information regarding requirements, email Credentialing or call 512-438-2017.

Statutes and Rules

The Nurse Aide rules are found in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 26, Part 1, Chapter 556.


TULIP Walkthrough – New and Renewal Applications for NATCEP