Community Mental Health Grant Program

House Bill 13, 85th Legislature, 2017 created the Community Mental Health Grant Program to support programs providing services and treatment to people with mental illness. Populations served include people with mental illness and unmet behavioral health needs.

Grant Program Overview

The program is designed to support community collaboration, reduce duplication of mental health services and strengthen continuity of care for people receiving services through a diverse local provider network. The purpose of the grant program is to:

  • Support community programs providing mental health services and treatment to people with mental illness 
  • Coordinate mental health services with other transition support services for people with mental illness.

The grant will fund community programs to expand treatment, promote recovery and improve quality of life for people with mental illness.

View the CMHG FY 2021 Report Card (PDF).

Matching Requirements

Awards to community mental health grants depend on matching funds, which can include cash or in-kind contributions from any person but must not include money from state or federal funds. The match must equal:

  • 50 percent of the grant amount if the community mental health program is in a county with a population of less than 250,000.
  • 100 percent of the grant amount if the community mental health program is in a county with a population of 250,000 or more.
  • The percentage of the grant amount needed for the largest county included in the community mental health program, if the program is in more than one county.

Fiscal 2018–2019 Biennium Awardees

The following organizations have been selected as apparent awardees for the fiscal 2018–2019 biennium. To learn more about the Community Mental Health Grant Program, see the HB 13 Frequently Asked Questions (PDF).

  • Amistad Community Health Center: Nueces County
  • Andrews Center Behavioral Healthcare System: Smith, Henderson, Van Zandt, Wood and Rains counties
  • Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas: Jefferson County
  • Betty Hardwick Center: Taylor, Jones, Callahan, Shackelford and Stephens counties
  • Bluebonnet Trails: Williamson and Gonzales counties
  • Border Region Behavioral Health Center: Zapata, Jim Hogg and Starr counties
  • Boys and Girls Club of Pharr: Hidalgo County
  • Burke Center: Angelina, Houston, Jasper, Nacogdoches, Newton, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity and Tyler counties
  • Camino Real Community Services: Atascosa, Dimmit, Frio, Karnes, La Salle, Maverick, McMullen, Wilson and Zavala counties
  • The Center for Health Care Services: Bexar County
  • Center for Life Resources: Brown County
  • Children's Medical Center Dallas: Dallas County
  • Collin County: Collin County
  • Communities In Schools of Houston: Harris County
  • Communities in Schools of North Texas: Denton County
  • CommUnityCare Health Centers: Travis County
  • Community Healthcore: Bowie and Cass counties
  • Community HOPE Projects Inc.: Hidalgo, Cameron and Willacy counties
  • Covenant Health Foundation: Lubbock County
  • Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council Foundation: Ellis, Erath, Grayson, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell and Wise counties
  • DePelchin Children's Center: Harris County
  • The Ecumenical Center: Aransas, Atascosa, Bandera, Bee, Bexar, Blanco, Brooks, Cameron, Comal, Duval, Edwards, Frio, Gillespie, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kendall, Kenedy, Kerr, Kleberg, Kimble, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, Medina, Nueces, Real, San Patricio, Starr, Uvalde, Val Verde, Wilson, Willacy, Webb and Zapata counties
  • Family Support Services of Amarillo: Potter and Randall counties
  • Foundation Communities: Travis County
  • Gregg County: Gregg County
  • Gulf Bend Center: Goliad, Refugio, Jackson, Calhoun, Lavaca, DeWitt and Victoria counties
  • The Harris Center: Harris County
  • Harris County: Harris County
  • Helen Farabee Regional MHMR Center: Young County
  • Hill Country MHDD Centers: Comal County
  • Hope Fort Bend Clubhouse: Fort Bend County
  • Integral Care: Travis County
  • Joven: Bexar County
  • LifePath Systems: Collin County
  • MHMR Authority of Brazos Valley: Brazos County
  • MHMR Services for the Concho Valley: Tom Green, Crockett, Coke, Irion, Concho, Sterling and Reagan counties
  • My Health My Resources: Tarrant County
  • National Alliance on Mental Illness: Bell, Bexar, Denton, El Paso, Jones, Nueces, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Travis counties
  • NEWCO: Cooke, Grayson and Fannin counties
  • North Texas Behavioral Health Authority: Dallas, Hunt, Ellis, Rockwall, Kaufman and Navarro counties
  • Pecan Valley Centers: Johnson, Parker, Hood, Erath, Palo Pinto and Somervell counties
  • Project Vida Health Center: El Paso County
  • SAMMinistries: Bexar County
  • San Antonio Clubhouse: Bexar County
  • StarCare Specialty Health System: Lubbock County
  • Texas Panhandle Centers: Potter and Randall counties
  • Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center: Armstrong, Carson, Deaf Smith, Hutchinson, Moore, Oldham, Potter, Randall and Swisher counties
  • Texoma Community Center: Cooke, Fannin and Grayson counties
  • The Women's Home: Harris County
  • Tri-County Services: Montgomery County
  • United Way of Amarillo and Canyon: Dallam, Potter and Randall counties
  • United Way of Denton County: Denton County
  • University of Texas Rio Grande Valley: Cameron and Hidalgo counties
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center: Dallas County
  • West Texas A&M University: Randall County
  • West Texas Centers: Howard County


  • Required training will vary based on training needs identified in the project proposal. HHS staff will continue providing technical assistance to discuss successes, challenges and best practices. Staff will also provide technical assistance for program operation. 

Statues and Rules

  • House Bill 13, 85th Legislature, 2017 authorized the development of a community mental health grant program.


Contact Us