Governor’s EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) EMS Medical Directors Committee Meeting Agenda

May 25, 2022 - 1:00 pm

Holiday Inn Austin Midtown, Hill Country Rooms A and B
6000 Middle Fiskville Road, Austin, TX
United States

This Agenda Is Revised and Is Being Re-Posted Because of the Addition of Agenda Items 8 and 9 to TRD # 2022002518.

This meeting will be conducted live and virtually through Microsoft Teams.

Access the online meeting here.
Registration must be completed no later than 5:00 P.M., May 19, 2022.

Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair
Gerad Troutman, MD, Sharon Malone, MD, Taylor Ratcliff, MD, Council Liaisons
Joseph Schmieder, DSHS

Call to Order/Roll Call - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair

Reading of the GETAC Vision and Mission Statements - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair

GETAC Vision:
A unified, comprehensive,and effective Emergency Healthcare System.

GETAC Mission:
To promote, develop, and advance an accountable, patient-centered Trauma and Emergency Healthcare System.

GETAC EMS Medical Directors Committee Statement of Purpose:
The purpose of the Governor’s EMS and Trauma Advisory Council’s EMS Medical
Directors Committee is to promote a robust, responsive, flexible
emergency healthcare system that is based on evidence, quality, and
safety by board certified EMS physicians with appropriate authority,
compensation, and oversight of all actions of the emergency healthcare

Review and approval of November 21, 2021 meeting minutes - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair

GETAC Chair comments - Alan Tyroch, MD, GETAC Chair

EMS-Trauma Systems update – Jorie Klein, MSN, MHA, BSN, RN, EMS-Trauma Systems Director; Joseph Schmider, State EMS Director

Discussion and possible action on the following items - Committee Members

  1. Review the GETAC Strategic Plan for the Texas Emergency Healthcare System and determine if any additions, deletions, or corrections are in order - Committee Members
  2. Conflict of Interest Discussion
  3. Discussion, review, and approval of potential single sentence statements on:
    1. Cardiac Arrest as a reportable condition - Richard Bradley, MD

    2. Need for additional statements - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair
  4. EMS Research Agenda - Robert Gerhardt, MD, Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair
  5. DSHS EMS Physician patch - Christopher Winckler, MD
  6. Update on the Texas-Cardiac Arrest Registry to Enhance Survival (TX-CARES) - Jeff Jarvis, MD
  7. Update on development of methods to provide financial support for medical direction resource document - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair
  8. New EMS Medical Directors patch for Texas – DSHS
  9. Senate Bill 1876 amendment to Texas Administrative Code 157.11, Requirements for an EMS Provider License, developing draft protocol - DSHS
  10. Update on joint work group with EMS Medical Directors and EMS Committees to develop best practices and goals to assist and encourage EMS Medical Directors to become more involved with their agencies - Yagnesh Desai, MD
  11. Emergency Triage, Treat, and Transport (ET3) Update - Gerad Troutman, MD
  12. Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) State Partnership update, review of EMSC EMS Recognition Program – Sam Vance, MHA, LP
  13. First responder mental health project - Micah Panczyk/Ben Bobrow, MD
  14. Initiatives, programs, and potential research that might improve EMS medical direction in Texas - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair

General Public Comment (Comment time may be limited at Chair’s discretion.)

Summary of action items for GETAC meeting report - Committee Members

Announcements - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair

Review and list agenda items for next meeting - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair

Next meeting date - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair

Adjournment - Heidi Abraham, MD, Chair

Public Comment: The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) welcomes public comments pertaining to topics related to Emergency Health Care. Members of the public are encouraged to participate in this process by providing written public comment to DSHS by emailing no later than 5:00 P.M., May 19, 2022. Please include your name and either the organization you are representing or that you are speaking as a private citizen. Written comments are limited to three minutes and will be read during the meeting for consideration by the Council. The request must contain your name, the name of the organization you represent or that you are speaking as a private citizen, and your direct phone number.

Public comment is limited to three minutes. Speakers must state their name, affiliation, and on whose behalf they are speaking. Public members who are using handouts are asked to provide an electronic copy in accessible pdf format that will be distributed by DSHS staff to Council members, state staff, and for public distribution. Handouts are limited to two pages of documentation (paper size: 8.5” by 11”, one side only). Handouts must be emailed to DSHS no later than 5:00 P.M., May 19, 2022, and include the name of the person who will be commenting.

Note: These procedures may be revised at the discretion of DSHS.

Contact: Questions regarding agenda items, content, or meeting arrangements should be directed to Jorie Klein, DSHS, 512-535-8538, or

People with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Crystal Beard at 737-270-0202 or at least 72 hours before the meeting so appropriate arrangements can be made.