HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

Public Notice: Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance Amendment

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) announces its intent to
submit amendments to the Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance under Title XIX of
the Social Security Act. The proposed amendment is effective June 1, 2023.

The purpose of the amendment is to update the rate methodology and payment rate for
Community First Choice (CFC) Personal Attendant Services (PAS) and Habilitation,
under the Consumer Directed Services (CDS) option, for STAR Kids. The amendment
aligns the CFC PAS and Habilitation CDS rate for STAR Kids with the base rate for
Personal Care Services — Behavioral Health (PCS-BH) CDS. Provider Finance
Department (PFD) staff evaluated the CFC PAS and Habilitation CDS rate methodology
and payment rate as part of the biennial fee review process.

The proposed amendment is estimated to result in an annual aggregate expenditure of
$0 for federal fiscal year (FFY) 2023, consisting of $0 in federal funds and $0 in state
general revenue. For FFY 2024, the estimated annual aggregate expenditure is $0,
consisting of $0 in federal funds and $0 in state general revenue. For FFY 2025, the
estimated annual aggregate expenditure is $0, consisting of $0 in federal funds and $0
in state general revenue. There is no fiscal impact for the proposed amendment in fee-
for-service, as STAR Kids CFC PAS and Habilitation CDS is a part of Managed Care
services.

Further detail on specific reimbursement rate changes is available on the HHSC PFD
website under the proposed effective date at http://pfd.hhs.texas.gov/rate-packets.

A rate hearing will be held on May 19, 2023, at 9:00 a.m. in Austin, Texas. Information
about the proposed rate change and the hearing can be found in the April 14, 2023,
issue of the Texas Register on page 1999 at
http://lwww.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml.

Copy of Proposed Amendment(s).

Interested parties may obtain additional information or a free copy of the proposed
amendments from Kenneth Anzaldua, State Plan Team Lead, by mail at the Health and
Human Services Commission, P.O. Box 13247, Mail Code H-600, Austin, Texas 78711,
by telephone at (512) 438-4326; by facsimile at (512) 730-7472; or by email at
Medicaid_Chip_SPA_Inquiries@hhsc.state.tx.us. Copies of the proposed amendments
will be available for review at the local county offices of HHSC (formerly the local offices
of the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services).

Written Comments.



Written comments and requests to review comments may be sent by U.S. mail,
overnight mail, special delivery mail, hand delivery, fax, or email:

U.S. Mail

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Attention: Provider Finance, Mail Code H-400
P.O. Box 149030

Austin, Texas 78714-9030

Overnight mail, special delivery mail, or hand delivery
Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Attention: Provider Finance, Mail Code H-400

North Austin Complex

4601 West Guadalupe Street

Austin, Texas 78751

Phone number for package delivery: (512) 730-7401

Fax Attention: Provider Finance at (512) 730-7475

Email: PFD-LTSS@hhs.texas.gov

Persons with disabilities who wish to participate in the hearing and require auxiliary aids

or services should contact Provider Finance at (512) 730-7401 at least 72 hours before
the hearing so appropriate arrangements can be made.



