
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION 

 
Public Notice - Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance Amendment 
 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) announces its intent to 
submit an amendment to the Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance, under Title XIX 
of the Social Security Act. The proposed amendment is effective September 1, 2022. 
 
The purpose of the amendment is to update the fee schedules in the current state plan 
by adjusting fees, rates, or charges for the following services: 
 
Physicians, Vaccine Administration under the Pediatric Immunization Program, Birthing 
Centers, Durable Medical Equipment Prosthetics Orthotics (DMEPOS), Outpatient 
Hospital Services, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT), 
Vision Services, Medication Assistance Treatment (MAT) and Ambulatory Surgical 
Center (ASC). 
 
The proposed amendment is estimated to result in an annual aggregate expenditure of 
$4,448,357 for federal fiscal year (FFY) 2022, consisting of $ $2,663,231  
in federal funds and $ $1,785,126 in state general revenue. For FFY 2023, the 
estimated annual aggregate expenditure is $6,138,697 consisting of $3,675,238 in 
federal funds and $2,463,459 in state general revenue. For FFY 2024, the estimated 
annual aggregate expenditure is $5,824,663 consisting of $3,487,226 in federal funds 
and $2,337,437 in state general revenue. 
Further detail on specific reimbursement rates and percentage changes is available on 

the HHSC Provider Finance website under the proposed effective date at: 

https://pfd.hhs.texas.gov/rate-packets 

Rate Hearings. 

Rate hearings were conducted in person and online on December 13, 2021, and May 

16, 2022. Information about the proposed rate changes and hearings was published in 

the December 3, 2021, and the April 22, 2022 issues of the Texas Register (46 TexReg 

8272-8273, 47 TexReg 2360-2361, respectively). Additional information and the notice 

of hearings can be found at https://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml.  Archived 

recordings of the hearings can be found at https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/meetings-

events. 

 

A rate hearing was held online on July 20 ,2022 at 1:00 P.M. to address additional rate 

updates proposed to be effective September 1, 2022. Information about the proposed 

rate changes and the hearing was published in the June 24, 2022 issue of the Texas 

Register (47 TexReg 3729-3730) at https://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml.  

Additional information can be found at 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/communications-events/meetings-

events/2022/07/20/notice-public-hearing-proposed-updates-medicaid-payment-rates. 

https://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml


 
Copy of Proposed Amendment.  
To obtain copies of the proposed amendment, interested parties may contact Kenneth 
Anzaldua, State Plan Policy Advisor, by mail at the Health and Human Services 
Commission, PO Box 13247, Mail Code H-600, Austin, Texas 78711; by telephone at 
(512) 438-4326; by facsimile at (512) 730-7472; or by email at 
Medicaid_Chip_SPA_Inquiries@hhsc.state.tx.us. Copies of the proposal will also be 
made available for public review at the local offices of the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission. 
 
Written Comments. 
Written comments about the proposed amendment and/or requests to review comments 
may be sent by U.S. mail, overnight mail, special delivery mail, hand delivery, fax, or 
email: 
 
U.S. Mail 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Attention: Provider Finance Department 
Mail Code H-400 
P.O. Box 149030 
Austin, Texas 78714-9030 
 
Overnight mail, special delivery mail, or hand delivery 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Attention: Provider Finance Department 
North Austin Complex 
Mail Code H-400 
4601 W. Guadalupe St. 
Austin, Texas 78751 
Phone number for package delivery: (512) 730-7401 
 
Fax 
Attention: Provider Finance at (512) 730-7475 
 
Email 
PFDAcuteCare@hhs.texas.gov 
 
Preferred Communication. 
During the current state of disaster due to COVID-19, physical forms of communication 
are checked with less frequency than during normal business operations.  For quickest 
response, and to help curb the possible transmission of infection, please use e-mail or 
phone if possible, for communication with HHSC related to this state plan amendment. 
 
Persons with disabilities who wish to attend the hearing and require auxiliary aids or 

services should contact Provider Finance at (512) 730-7401 at least 72 hours before the 

hearing so appropriate arrangements can be made 


