HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

Public Notice - Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance Amendment

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) announces its intent to submit an amendment to the Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance, under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. The proposed amendment is effective September 1, 2022.

The purpose of the amendment is to update the fee schedules in the current state plan by adjusting fees, rates, or charges for the following services:

Physicians, Vaccine Administration under the Pediatric Immunization Program, Birthing Centers, Durable Medical Equipment Prosthetics Orthotics (DMEPOS), Outpatient Hospital Services, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT), Vision Services, Medication Assistance Treatment (MAT) and Ambulatory Surgical Center (ASC).

The proposed amendment is estimated to result in an annual aggregate expenditure of \$4,448,357 for federal fiscal year (FFY) 2022, consisting of \$\$2,663,231 in federal funds and \$\$1,785,126 in state general revenue. For FFY 2023, the estimated annual aggregate expenditure is \$6,138,697 consisting of \$3,675,238 in federal funds and \$2,463,459 in state general revenue. For FFY 2024, the estimated annual aggregate expenditure is \$5,824,663 consisting of \$3,487,226 in federal funds and \$2,337,437 in state general revenue.

Further detail on specific reimbursement rates and percentage changes is available on the HHSC Provider Finance website under the proposed effective date at: https://pfd.hhs.texas.gov/rate-packets

Rate Hearings.

Rate hearings were conducted in person and online on December 13, 2021, and May 16, 2022. Information about the proposed rate changes and hearings was published in the December 3, 2021, and the April 22, 2022 issues of the *Texas Register* (46 TexReg 8272-8273, 47 TexReg 2360-2361, respectively). Additional information and the notice of hearings can be found at https://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml. Archived recordings of the hearings can be found at https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/meetings-events.

A rate hearing was held online on July 20 ,2022 at 1:00 P.M. to address additional rate updates proposed to be effective September 1, 2022. Information about the proposed rate changes and the hearing was published in the June 24, 2022 issue of the *Texas Register* (47 TexReg 3729-3730) at https://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml. Additional information can be found at

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/communications-events/meetings-

events/2022/07/20/notice-public-hearing-proposed-updates-medicaid-payment-rates.

Copy of Proposed Amendment.

To obtain copies of the proposed amendment, interested parties may contact Kenneth Anzaldua, State Plan Policy Advisor, by mail at the Health and Human Services Commission, PO Box 13247, Mail Code H-600, Austin, Texas 78711; by telephone at (512) 438-4326; by facsimile at (512) 730-7472; or by email at

Medicaid_Chip_SPA_Inquiries@hhsc.state.tx.us. Copies of the proposal will also be made available for public review at the local offices of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

Written Comments.

Written comments about the proposed amendment and/or requests to review comments may be sent by U.S. mail, overnight mail, special delivery mail, hand delivery, fax, or email:

U.S. Mail

Texas Health and Human Services Commission Attention: Provider Finance Department Mail Code H-400 P.O. Box 149030 Austin, Texas 78714-9030

Overnight mail, special delivery mail, or hand delivery Texas Health and Human Services Commission Attention: Provider Finance Department North Austin Complex Mail Code H-400 4601 W. Guadalupe St. Austin, Texas 78751 Phone number for package delivery: (512) 730-7401

Fax Attention: Provider Finance at (512) 730-7475

Email PFDAcuteCare@hhs.texas.gov

Preferred Communication.

During the current state of disaster due to COVID-19, physical forms of communication are checked with less frequency than during normal business operations. For quickest response, and to help curb the possible transmission of infection, please use e-mail or phone if possible, for communication with HHSC related to this state plan amendment.

Persons with disabilities who wish to attend the hearing and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Provider Finance at (512) 730-7401 at least 72 hours before the hearing so appropriate arrangements can be made