
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION 
 

Public Notice - Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance Amendment 
 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) announces its intent to 
submit an amendment to the Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance, under Title XIX 
of the Social Security Act. The proposed amendment is effective June 1, 2022. 
 
The purpose of the amendment is to update the fee schedules in the current state plan 
by adjusting fees, rates, or charges for the following services: 
 
Physcians; and 

 Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS). 

The proposed amendment is estimated to result in an annual aggregate expenditure of 
$57,815 for federal fiscal year (FFY) 2022, consisting of $38,736 in federal funds and 
$19,079 in state general revenue. For FFY 2023, the estimated annual aggregate 
expenditure is $219,363 consisting of $131,333 in federal funds and $88,030 in state 
general revenue. For FFY 2024, the estimated annual aggregate expenditure is 
$216,698, consisting of $129,737 in federal funds and $86,961 in state general revenue. 

Further detail on specific reimbursement rates and percentage changes is available on 
the HHSC Provider Finance website under the proposed effective date at: 
https://pfd.hhs.texas.gov/rate-packets.  

Rate Hearings.  
A rate hearing was conducted online on November 19, 2021, at 1:00 P.M. Information 
about the proposed rate changes and the hearing was published in the October 29, 
2021 and November 5, 2021 issue of the Texas Register (46 TexReg 7451, 46 TexReg 
7662). Additional information and the notice of hearings can be found at 
http://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml.  
 
A rate hearing will be held both online and in person on May 16 ,2022 at 9:00 A.M. to 
address additional rate updates proposed to be effective June 1, 2022. Information 
about the proposed rate changes and the hearing was published in the April 22, 2022 
issue of the Texas Register at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml and can be 
found at https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/communications-events/meetings-
events/2022/05/16/public-hearing-notice-proposed-medicaid-payment-rates-medicaid-biennial-
calendar-fee-reviews-medical.  

http://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml
http://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml


 
Copy of Proposed Amendment.  
Interested parties may obtain additional information and/or a free copy of the proposed 
amendment by contacting Shaneqwea James, State Plan Policy Advisor, by mail at the 
Health and Human Services Commission, P.O. Box 13247, Mail Code H-600, Austin, 
TX 78711; by telephone at (512) 487-3349; by facsimile at (512) 730-7472; or by e-mail 
at Medicaid_Chip_SPA_Inquiries@hhsc.state.tx.us. Copies of the proposed 
amendment will be available for review at the local county offices of HHSC, (which were 
formerly the local offices of the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services). 
 
Written Comments.   
Written comments about the proposed amendment and/or requests to review comments 
may be sent by U.S. mail, overnight mail, special delivery mail, hand delivery, fax, or 
email: 
 
U.S. Mail 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Attention: Provider Finance Department 
Mail Code H-400 
P.O. Box 149030 
Austin, Texas 78714-9030 
 
Overnight mail, special delivery mail, or hand delivery 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Attention: Provider Finance Department 
North Austin Complex 
Mail Code H-400 
4601 W Guadalupe St 
Austin TX, 78751 
Phone number for package delivery: 512-730-7401 
 
Fax  
Attention: Provider Finance at 512-730-7475 
 
Email  
PFDAcuteCare@hhs.texas.gov  
 
Preferred Communication.   
During the current state of disaster due to COVID-19, physical forms of communication 
are checked with less frequency than during normal business operations.  For quickest 
response, and to help curb the possible transmission of infection, please use e-mail or 
phone if possible, for communication with HHSC related to this state plan amendment. 
 
Persons with disabilities who wish to attend the hearing and require auxiliary aids or 
services should contact Provider Finance at (512) 730-7401 at least 72 hours before the 
hearing so appropriate arrangements can be made. 
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