### **HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION**

## **Public Notice - Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance Amendments**

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) announces its intent to submit amendments to the Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance, under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. The proposed amendments are effective January 1, 2022.

The purpose of the amendments is to update the fee schedules in the current state plan by adjusting fees, rates, or charges for the following services:

2022 Annual Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) Updates:

Ambulance Services;

Ambulatory Surgical Center;

Birthing Center Facility Services;

Case Management Services;

Certified Pediatric Nurse Practitioners and Certified Family Nurse Practitioners;

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists and Anesthesiologist Assistants;

Clinical Diagnostic Laboratory Services;

Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS);

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment Services (EPSDT);

Family Planning Services;

Hearing Aids and Audiometric Evaluations;

Home Health Services;

Indian Health Services;

Licensed Clinical Social Worker Services;

Licensed Professional Counselor Services;

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Services;

Physicians and Other Practitioners;

Physician Assistants;

Rehabilitative Chemical Dependency Treatment Facility Services; and

Vision Care Services.

The proposed amendments are estimated to result in an annual aggregate expenditure of \$1,188,367 for federal fiscal year (FFY) 2022, consisting of \$722,527 in federal funds and \$465,840 in state general revenue. For FFY 2023, the estimated result is an annual aggregate expenditure of \$1,557,237, consisting of \$951,316 in federal funds and \$605,921 in state general revenue. For FFY 2024, the estimated result is an annual aggregate expenditure of \$1,530,452, consisting of \$934,953 in federal funds and \$595,499 in state general revenue.

Further detail on specific reimbursement rates and percentage changes will be made available on the HHSC Provider Finance website under the proposed effective date at: http://pfd.hhs.texas.gov/rate-packets.

**Rate Hearing**. A rate hearing will be held both online and in person to address the 2022 Annual Healthcare Common Procedures Coding System (HCPCS) Updates. Once available, information about the proposed rate changes and the hearing will be published in a subsequent issue of the *Texas Register* at <a href="http://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml">http://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml</a>.

Copy of Proposed Amendments. Interested parties may obtain additional information and/or a free copy of the proposed amendments by contacting Holly Freed, State Plan Policy Advisor, by mail at the Health and Human Services Commission, P.O. Box 13247, Mail Code H-600, Austin, TX 78711; by telephone at (512) 487-3349; by facsimile at (512) 730-7472; or by e-mail at <a href="Medicaid Chip SPA Inquiries@hhs.texas.gov">Medicaid Chip SPA Inquiries@hhs.texas.gov</a>. Copies of the proposed amendments will be available for review at the local county offices of HHSC, (which were formerly the local offices of the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services).

**Written Comments.** Written comments about the proposed amendments and/or requests to review comments may be sent by U.S. mail, overnight mail, special delivery mail, hand delivery, fax, or email:

### U.S. Mail

Texas Health and Human Services Commission Attention: Provider Finance, Mail Code H-400 P.O. Box 149030 Austin, Texas 78714-9030

# Overnight mail, special delivery mail, or hand delivery

Texas Health and Human Services Commission Attention: Provider Finance, Mail Code H-400 North Austin Complex 4601 Guadalupe St Austin, Texas 78751 Phone number for package delivery: 512-730-7401

## Fax

Attention: Provider Finance at 512-730-7475

### **Email**

PFDAcuteCare@hhs.texas.gov

Preferred Communication. During the current state of disaster due to COVID-19, physical forms of communication are checked with less frequency than during normal business operations. For quickest response, and to help curb the possible transmission of infection, please use e-mail or phone if possible for communication with HHSC related to this rate hearing.

Persons with disabilities who wish to attend the hearing and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Provider Finance at (512) 730-7401 at least 72 hours before the hearing so appropriate arrangements can be made.