
 
 
 

Long-Term Care Regulatory Provider Letter 
 

Number: PL 20-55 (Revised) 

Title: Administrative Penalty Process for Home and Community-based 
Services (HCS) and Texas Home Living (TxHmL) Program Providers 

Provider Types: HCS and TxHmL Program Providers 

Date Issued: September 13, 2022 

 
1.0 Subject and Purpose 

This provider letter provides guidance for HCS and TxHmL program 
providers on the rules regarding administrative penalties and amelioration 
that HHSC adopted on April 28, 2020. The rules can be found in the Texas 
Administrative Code, Title 40, Part 1, Chapter 9 and Chapter 49. This letter 
was updated to include a link to the new 3708-A HCS and TxHmL 
Amelioration Request form.  

2.0 Policy Details & Provider Responsibilities 

2.1 Criteria for an Administrative Penalty 
 

HHSC can impose and collect an administrative penalty from a program 
provider for a violation of a certification principle or for willfully interfering 
with the work of a representative of HHSC, such as falsifying documentation. 
HHSC also can impose a second administrative penalty for failure to pay the 
first administrative penalty within 10 calendar days after the date the 
assessment of the administrative penalty becomes final. 

2.2 Violations 
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HHSC Waiver Survey, and Certification (WSC) conducts surveys and 
identifies rule violations of non-compliance. Violations fall into two 
categories: critical and non-critical. 

Critical Violations 
 

When HHSC determines that a violation is critical, the program 
provider is not given the opportunity to correct the violation before the 
administrative penalty begins to accrue. Therefore, the administrative 
penalty begins to accrue the day HHSC identifies the violation, and it 
stops accruing when HHSC determines the program provider has 
corrected the violation. If the program provider corrects a critical 
violation the same day it is identified, the administrative penalty is 
imposed for one day. 

Non-Critical Violations 
 

When HHSC determines that a violation is non-critical, the program 
provider is given the opportunity to correct the violation to avoid an 
administrative penalty. If corrective action has been completed by the 
next survey opportunity, no administrative penalty is imposed for the 
violation. 

If the violation is not corrected by the date of the exit conference for 
the post 45-day follow-up survey, the administrative penalty begins 
accruing on the date of the exit conference for the post 45-day follow- 
up survey. HHSC does not always conduct follow-up surveys on the 
46th day; however, the administrative penalty is not backdated. 

2.2.1 Plan of Correction 
 

Within 14 calendar days after receiving the final survey report, the 
program provider must submit a plan of correction to address each 
violation that was identified during the survey. This applies even if the 
provider disagrees with the findings of violations or requests informal 
dispute resolution (IDR). 

For violations that are critical, the Plan of Correction must include the 
corrective action(s) the program provider will take for each violation. 
The Plan of Correction must also have a completion date within 30 
calendar days from the survey exit conference. 
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For violations that are non-critical, the Plan of Correction must include 
the corrective action(s) the program provider will take for each 
violation. The Plan of Correction must also have a completion date 
within 45 calendar days from the survey exit conference. 

HHSC will review the plan of correction, and the program provider will be 
notified in writing whether the plan has been approved or denied. If the 
plan is denied, the program provider must submit a revised plan within 
five business days. Once the plan is approved, HHSC will request that the 
program provider submit evidence of the correction to HHSC, and HHSC 
can conduct a follow-up survey to verify the corrections. 

2.2.2 Informal Dispute Resolution (IDR) 
 

If a program provider does not agree with a violation cited by HHSC, the 
program provider can dispute the violation through the IDR process. The 
IDR process is an informal process by which a program provider can 
dispute, before an independent third party, the findings on which a 
violation is based. HHSC has contracted with Michigan Peer Review 
Organization (MPRO) to perform the IDR reviews. 

For more information on the IDR process, see the IDR website and PL 
2021-07. 

2.3 Determination of the Amount 
 

HHSC Regulatory Enforcement will review all critical violations, along with 
non-critical violations that are not corrected by the post 45-day follow-up 
survey. During the enforcement review meeting, administrative penalties 
can be recommended. In determining the amount of an administrative 
penalty, HHSC Regulatory Enforcement considers: 

(1) the seriousness of the violation, including: the nature, circumstances, 
extent, and gravity of the violation and the hazard to the health or safety of 
individuals resulting from the violation; 

(2) the program provider's history of previous violations; 
 

(3) whether the program provider had prior knowledge of the violation, 
including whether the program provider identified the violation through the 

https://hhs.texas.gov/doing-business-hhs/contracting-hhs/informal-dispute-resolution-process
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program provider's internal quality assurance process and made any efforts 
to mitigate or correct the identified violation; 

(4) the penalty amount necessary to deter future violations; and 
 

(5) any other matter that justice might require. 
 

2.3.1 Violation of Certification Principles 
 

HHSC Regulatory Enforcement will impose penalties according to the 
following breakdown: 

Immediate Threat 
 

Depending on the frequency and scope of the violation, the 
administrative penalty for an Immediate Threat ranges from $400 - 
$5,000 per day. All Immediate Threat violations are considered critical, 
and amelioration in lieu of a penalty is not allowed. 

Actual Harm 
 

Depending on the frequency and scope of the violation, the 
administrative penalty for a violation that causes actual harm ranges 
from $100 - $3,000 per day. Violations that meet the definition of 
actual harm can be critical or non-critical. 

Potential for Actual Harm 
 

Depending on the frequency and scope of the violation, the 
administrative penalty for a violation that has the potential for actual 
harm ranges from $0 - $1,000 per day. Violations that have the 
potential to cause actual harm can be critical or non-critical. 

No Potential for Actual Harm 
 

Depending on the frequency and scope of the violation, the 
administrative penalty for a violation that poses no potential for actual 
harm ranges from $0 - $500 per day. Violations that do not pose any 
potential for actual harm are always non-critical. 

If a violation is identified as an immediate threat, the provider must 
submit a plan of removal to remove the immediate threat. Once the 
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immediacy of the threat is resolved, per the approved Plan of Removal, 
the violation will be downgraded to a new scope and severity. The 
violation will remain at the lower level until the provider comes into 
compliance, as determined by HHSC. 

2.3.2 Willful Interference 
 

If HHSC determines that a program provider willfully interfered with the 
work of an HHSC representative, it can impose a one-time $1,000 
penalty. Such interference would include a program provider making 
statements that he or she knows or should know are false with respect to 
a matter under investigation by HHSC, as well as falsifying 
documentation, including documenting the provision of a service before 
the service has been provided. This administrative penalty is imposed 
only once per survey and cannot be corrected before the penalty is 
imposed. 

2.3.3 Late Payment 
 

If the program provider fails to pay the administrative penalty within 10 
calendar days of the penalty becoming final, HHSC Regulatory 
Enforcement can impose a one-time $1,000 penalty. This penalty is 
imposed only once per survey and cannot be corrected before the 
administrative penalty is imposed. 

2.4 Penalty Timeline 
 

For violations that are critical, the administrative penalty begins to accrue at 
the time HHSC identifies the critical violation. For non-critical violations, the 
administrative penalty begins to accrue at the exit conference of the post 
45-day follow-up survey if the violation has not been corrected. Once HHSC 
administers the penalty, it continues accruing until one of the following 
occurs: 

(1) the program provider completes corrective action for that violation, 
as determined by HHSC; 

(2) HHSC imposes a vendor hold for that violation; or 
 

(3) HHSC withholds payments as the result of a proposed contract 
termination. 
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HHSC Surveyors do not impose administrative penalties or determine 
penalty amounts. HHSC Regulatory Enforcement separately reviews each 
case to determine administrative penalty amounts. Therefore, the on-site 
surveyor will not know a specific amount of any given penalty. 

HHSC Regulatory Enforcement issues a notice letter that imposes the 
administrative penalty and provides the opportunity to appeal or accept the 
penalty. This notice letter also provides amelioration information. 

2.5 Special Note 
 

If HHSC imposes an administrative penalty on a program provider for a 
violation of a certification principle, willfully interfering with the work of an 
HHSC representative, or failing to pay an administrative penalty within the 
10-day timeframe, HHSC does not, at the same time, impose a vendor hold 
or otherwise withhold contract payments from the program provider for the 
same violation, action, or failure to act. 

2.6 Amelioration 
 

Once the penalty is administered, the program provider can choose 
amelioration in lieu of paying the penalty for non-critical violations. The 
program provider must notify HHSC in writing within 10 business days of 
receiving notice for an administrative penalty or the program provider 
forfeits the opportunity. The amelioration request form can be found here. 
After the program provider notifies HHSC it is pursuing amelioration, the 
program provider must create and submit to HHSC a written plan for 
amelioration within 45 calendar days of the original penalty notice. The plan 
for amelioration must include the following: 

(1) proposed changes to the management or operation of the program 
provider that will improve services or the quality of care for the 
individuals; 

(2) the ways in which and the extent to which the proposed changes 
will improve services or quality of care for the individuals through 
measurable outcomes; 

(3) clear goals to be achieved through the proposed changes; 
 

(4) a timeline for implementing the proposed changes; 

https://www.hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/3000-3999/3708-a-hcstxhml-amelioration-request
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(5) specific actions necessary to implement the proposed changes; 

 
(6) the cost of the proposed changes; and 

 
(7) an agreement to waive the program provider's right to appeal the 
imposition of the administrative penalty if HHSC approves the plan for 
amelioration. 

The program provider is responsible for the cost of these changes after 
HHSC approves the plan for amelioration. If HHSC approves the plan and the 
cost of the proposed changes is less than the amount of the administrative 
penalty, HHSC requires the program provider to pay the difference between 
the cost of the proposed changes and the administrative penalty. 

HHSC has 45 calendar days from the day the plan for amelioration is 
received to approve or deny the plan. During this 45-day period, HHSC may 
allow the program provider to revise the plan. HHSC also can contact the 
program provider if clarification or additional information is needed. 

If HHSC denies the plan for amelioration or HHSC determines the program 
provider did not implement the plan as approved, the program provider is 
required to pay the administrative penalty. 

2.6.1 Prohibition to Amelioration 
 

HHSC will not give a program provider the opportunity for amelioration: 
 

(1) more than three times in a two-year period; 
 

(2) more than one time in a two-year period for the same or similar 
violation; 

(3) for a critical violation that is an immediate threat; 
 

(4) for willful interference; or 
 

(5) late payment. 
 

Once a plan is approved, HHSC can require proof of the plan’s progress 
and/or completion, such as documentation or an onsite visit by HHSC. 
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3.0 Background/History 

Human Resources Code (HRC), Sections 161.089, 161.0891, and 161.0892, 
added by House Bill 2590, 85th Legislature, Regular Session, 2017, and 
HRC, Section 161.088, added by Senate Bill 1385, 84th Legislature, Regular 
Session, 2015 require HHSC to develop a process to administer 
administrative penalties, as well as create an informal dispute resolution 
process for HCS and TxHmL waiver program providers. 

4.0 Resources 

For additional information on the administrative penalty scope and severity, 
see graphic from 40 TAC §9.181. For the TAC references on Administrative 
Penalties and the process, see the below links: 

 40 TAC §9.181 – Administrative Penalties for HCS 
 

 40 TAC §9.182 – Amelioration for HCS 
 

 40 TAC §9.183 - Program Provider Compliance and Corrective Action 
for HCS 

 40 TAC §9.581 – Administrative Penalties for TxHmL 
 

 40 TAC §9.586 – Amelioration for TxHmL 
 

 40 TAC §9.587 - Program Provider Compliance and Corrective Action 
for TxHmL 

 40 TAC §49.535 - Administrative Penalties in the HCS and TxHmL 
Programs 

5.0 Contact Information 

If you have any questions about LTCR policy, rules, or this letter, please 
contact the LTCR Policy and Rules by email at LTCRPolicy@hhs.texas.gov or 
call (512) 438-3161. 

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/fids/202001394-1.pdf
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir&p_rloc&p_tloc&p_ploc&pg=1&p_tac&ti=40&pt=1&ch=9&rl=181
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir&p_rloc&p_tloc&p_ploc&pg=1&p_tac&ti=40&pt=1&ch=9&rl=182
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir&p_rloc&p_tloc&p_ploc&pg=1&p_tac&ti=40&pt=1&ch=9&rl=183
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir&p_rloc&p_tloc&p_ploc&pg=1&p_tac&ti=40&pt=1&ch=9&rl=581
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir&p_rloc&p_tloc&p_ploc&pg=1&p_tac&ti=40&pt=1&ch=9&rl=586
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir&p_rloc&p_tloc&p_ploc&pg=1&p_tac&ti=40&pt=1&ch=9&rl=587
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir&p_rloc&p_tloc&p_ploc&pg=1&p_tac&ti=40&pt=1&ch=49&rl=535
mailto:LTCRPolicy@hhs.texas.gov
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