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January 2024 Topics: 
 
• Governor Abbott, HHSC Announce Medicaid, CHIP Postpartum Coverage 

Extension 
• January Declared Human Trafficking Prevention Month 
• HHSC Encourages Cervical Cancer Screenings 
• El Paso SSLC Cuts Ribbon on New Sports Complex 
• DSHS Launches New Virus Dashboard 
 

Governor Abbott, HHSC Announce Medicaid, CHIP Postpartum 
Coverage Extension 

Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
Texas Tribune 
January 17, 2024 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KIII-TV 
January 17, 2024 

Postpartum Medicaid extension for Texans goes into effect in March 
Elena Rivera 
KERA 
January 17, 2024 
 
Feds Approve Texas’ Plan to Expand Medicaid to Postpartum Moms 
Maggie Q. Thompson 
Austin Chronicle 
January 17, 2024 
 

https://www.texastribune.org/2024/01/17/texas-medicaid-postpartum/
https://www.kiiitv.com/article/news/health/feds-approve-12-months-medicaid-coverage-low-income-texas-moms/500-98978e44-498f-4f43-85c7-68b61ab721a5
https://www.keranews.org/health-wellness/2024-01-17/texas-pregnancy-medicaid-extension
https://www.austinchronicle.com/daily/news/2024-01-17/feds-approve-texas-plan-to-expand-medicaid-to-postpartum-moms/
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Medicaid coverage for Texas mothers to increase to 12 months postpartum 
after federal sign-off 
Taylor Goldenstein 
Houston Chronicle 
January 17, 2024 
 
Governor Abbott, HHSC Announce Medicaid, CHIP Postpartum Coverage 
Extension To 12 Months 
Gilbert Rodriguez 
Texas Insider 
January 18, 2024 
 
Medicaid, CHIP postpartum coverage in Texas extended from 2 months to 1 
year 
Juliana Russ 
KXAN-TV 
January 18, 2024 
 
Federal government approves 1 year of Medicaid coverage for Texas 
mothers 
Hannah Norton 
Community Impact Newspaper 
January 18, 2024 
 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission extends children's health 
insurance 
KDBC-TV 
January 17, 2024 
 
Texas expands postpartum Medicaid coverage to 12 months for low-income 
mothers 
Margo Lepe 
KFOX-TV 
January 22, 2024 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 

https://www.houstonchronicle.com/politics/texas/article/medicaid-texas-postpartum-18613069.php
https://www.houstonchronicle.com/politics/texas/article/medicaid-texas-postpartum-18613069.php
https://texasinsider.org/articles/governor-abbott-hhsc-announce-medicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-extension-to-12-months
https://texasinsider.org/articles/governor-abbott-hhsc-announce-medicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-extension-to-12-months
https://www.kxan.com/news/texas/medicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-in-texas-extended-from-2-months-to-1-year/#:%7E:text=AUSTIN%20(KXAN)%20%E2%80%94%20On%20Thursday,will%20take%20effect%20March%201.
https://www.kxan.com/news/texas/medicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-in-texas-extended-from-2-months-to-1-year/#:%7E:text=AUSTIN%20(KXAN)%20%E2%80%94%20On%20Thursday,will%20take%20effect%20March%201.
https://communityimpact.com/austin/south-central-austin/texas-legislature/2024/01/18/federal-government-approves-1-year-of-medicaid-coverage-for-texas-mothers/
https://communityimpact.com/austin/south-central-austin/texas-legislature/2024/01/18/federal-government-approves-1-year-of-medicaid-coverage-for-texas-mothers/
https://cbs4local.com/news/local/texas-health-and-human-services-commission-extends-childrens-health-insurance-governor-greg-abbott-medicaid-childrens-health-insurance-program
https://cbs4local.com/news/local/texas-health-and-human-services-commission-extends-childrens-health-insurance-governor-greg-abbott-medicaid-childrens-health-insurance-program
https://kfoxtv.com/news/local/texas-expands-postpartum-medicaid-coverage-to-12-months-for-low-income-mothers
https://kfoxtv.com/news/local/texas-expands-postpartum-medicaid-coverage-to-12-months-for-low-income-mothers
https://www.krgv.com/news/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms
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Karen Brooks Harper 
KRGV-TV 
January 17, 2024 
 
Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 
Corpus Christi Caller-Times 
January 22, 2024 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper  
KSCC-TV 
January 17, 2024 
 
Medicaid, CHIP postpartum coverage in Texas extended from 2 months to 1 
year 
Julianna Russ 
Concho Valley Homepage 
January 18, 2024 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KVUE-TV 
January 18, 2024 
 
Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 
Austin American-Statesman  
January 22, 2024 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
News4SA.com 
January 17, 2024 

https://www.caller.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.caller.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://fox38corpuschristi.com/news/local/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms-people-local-helping-money-children-health-medical#:%7E:text=Texas%20moms%20will%20be%20able,coverage%20for%20low%2Dincome%20moms.
https://nam12.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.conchovalleyhomepage.com%2Fnews%2Ftexas-politics%2Fmedicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-in-texas-extended-from-2-months-to-1-year%2F&data=05%7C02%7CThomas.Vazquez%40hhs.texas.gov%7C42b07894b71b49e7c62e08dc1849a174%7C9bf9773282b9499bb16aa93e8ebd536b%7C0%7C0%7C638411951729421092%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=m9IO6npX%2B%2BmtvpgdmG7KWH1%2BaVcSJ%2BCle3yPYDoiDnE%3D&reserved=0
https://nam12.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.conchovalleyhomepage.com%2Fnews%2Ftexas-politics%2Fmedicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-in-texas-extended-from-2-months-to-1-year%2F&data=05%7C02%7CThomas.Vazquez%40hhs.texas.gov%7C42b07894b71b49e7c62e08dc1849a174%7C9bf9773282b9499bb16aa93e8ebd536b%7C0%7C0%7C638411951729421092%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=m9IO6npX%2B%2BmtvpgdmG7KWH1%2BaVcSJ%2BCle3yPYDoiDnE%3D&reserved=0
https://www.kvue.com/article/news/health/feds-approve-12-months-medicaid-coverage-low-income-texas-moms/500-98978e44-498f-4f43-85c7-68b61ab721a5
https://www.statesman.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.statesman.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://news4sanantonio.com/news/local/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms-people-local-helping-money-children-health-medical
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Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
FOX San Antonio 
January 17, 2024 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KAGS-TV 
January 17, 2024 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KPRC-TV 
January 17, 2024 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KXXV-TV 
January 17, 2024 
 
Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 
San Angelo Standard Times 
January 22, 2024 
 
Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 
Abilene Reporter News 
January 22, 2024 
 
Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 

https://foxsanantonio.com/newsletter-daily/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms-people-local-helping-money-children-health-medical
https://www.kagstv.com/article/news/health/feds-approve-12-months-medicaid-coverage-low-income-texas-moms/500-98978e44-498f-4f43-85c7-68b61ab721a5
https://www.click2houston.com/news/texas/2024/01/17/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms/
https://www.kxxv.com/news/texas-news/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms
https://www.gosanangelo.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.gosanangelo.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.reporternews.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.reporternews.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.timesrecordnews.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.timesrecordnews.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
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Wichita Falls Times Record 
January 22, 2024 
 
Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 
Lubbock Avalanche-Journal 
January 22, 2024 
 

Governor Abbott Declares January Human Trafficking Month 

Texas declares January Human Trafficking Prevention Month 
Kelsey Thompson 
KXAN-TV – Austin 
January 3, 2024 

Abbott recognizes January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention Month 
Odessa American 
January 3, 2024 

Governor Abbott Recognizes January 2024 As Human Trafficking Prevention 
Month 
Brownwood News 
January 3, 2024 

Governor Abbott recognizes January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention 
month 
MyParisTexas.com 
January 4, 2024 

January is Human Trafficking Prevention Month in Texas 
Yantis Green 
San Angelo Live 
January 4, 2024 

https://www.lubbockonline.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.lubbockonline.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.kxan.com/news/texas/texas-declares-january-human-trafficking-prevention-month/#:%7E:text=AUSTIN%20(KXAN)%20%E2%80%94%20Gov.,Prevention%20Month%20within%20the%20state.
https://www.oaoa.com/local-news/abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
https://www.brownwoodnews.com/2024/01/04/governor-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
https://www.brownwoodnews.com/2024/01/04/governor-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
https://myparistexas.com/governor-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
https://myparistexas.com/governor-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
https://sanangelolive.com/news/crime/2024-01-04/january-human-trafficking-prevention-month-texas
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Human Trafficking Prevention Month; last year approximately 80 survivors 
were helped in Abilene 
Karina Hollingsworth 
KXTX-TV Abilene 
January 4, 2024 

Gov. Abbott Recognizes January 2024 As Human Trafficking Prevention 
Month 
Athens Daily Review 
January 9, 2024 

Gov. Recognizes January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention Month 
Texas Border Business 
January 4, 2024 
 
Gov. Abbott Recognizes January 2024 As Human Trafficking Prevention Month 
CNHI News 
January 9, 2024 
 

HHSC Encourages Cervical Cancer Screenings 

Encouraging Cancer Screenings During Cervical Health Awareness Month 
Mega Doctor News (MDN) 
January 8, 2024 

Texas Health Commission Urges Women To Prioritize Cervical Cancer 
Screenings During National Awareness Month 
Irving Weekly 
January 8, 2024 

HHSC encourages cancer screenings during Cervical Health Awareness 
Month 
Victoria Reyes 
KAMR-TV 
January 8, 2024 

https://ktxs.com/news/local/human-trafficking-prevention-month-last-year-approximately-80-survivors-were-helped-in-abilene
https://ktxs.com/news/local/human-trafficking-prevention-month-last-year-approximately-80-survivors-were-helped-in-abilene
https://www.athensreview.com/news/gov-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/article_bd8fda42-af5a-11ee-8bbb-531aed1eb60b.html
https://www.athensreview.com/news/gov-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/article_bd8fda42-af5a-11ee-8bbb-531aed1eb60b.html
https://texasborderbusiness.com/gov-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
https://www.cnhinews.com/texas/news/article_303424c3-b3c4-5891-96ee-263be0a9430a.html
https://megadoctornews.com/encouraging-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/
https://www.irvingweekly.com/s/6875/Texas-Health-Commission-Urges-Women-to-Prioritize-Cervical-Cancer-Screenings-During-National-Awareness-Month.php#:%7E:text=Health%20News-,Texas%20Health%20Commission%20Urges%20Women%20to%20Prioritize,Screenings%20During%20National%20Awareness%20Month&text=In%20observance%20of%20National%20Cervical,to%20undergo%20cervical%20cancer%20screenings.
https://www.irvingweekly.com/s/6875/Texas-Health-Commission-Urges-Women-to-Prioritize-Cervical-Cancer-Screenings-During-National-Awareness-Month.php#:%7E:text=Health%20News-,Texas%20Health%20Commission%20Urges%20Women%20to%20Prioritize,Screenings%20During%20National%20Awareness%20Month&text=In%20observance%20of%20National%20Cervical,to%20undergo%20cervical%20cancer%20screenings.
https://www.myhighplains.com/life-health/health/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/
https://www.myhighplains.com/life-health/health/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/
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HHSC encourages cancer screenings during Cervical Health Awareness 
Month 
Jacksonville Progress 
January 16, 2024 

HHSC encourages cancer screenings during Cervical Health Awareness 
Month 
Cleburne Times-Review 
January 16, 2024 

HHSC encourages cancer screenings during Cervical Health Awareness 
Month 
CNHI News 
January 16, 2024 
 
January | Cervical Health Awareness Month 
Dallas Express 
January 12, 2024 
 

El Paso SSLC Cuts Ribbon on New Sports Complex 
 
El Paso SSLC opens $550,000 sports complex for residents with special 
needs 
Drew Pittock 
KDBC-TV 
January 18, 2024 
 
HHSC celebrates new sports complex at EP State Supported Living Center 
Luisa Barrios 
KTSM-TV El Paso  
January 18, 2024 
 
El Paso SSLC opens $550,000 sports complex for residents with special 
needs 
Drew Pittock 
KFOX-TV 

https://www.jacksonvilleprogress.com/news/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/article_c431e510-b343-11ee-9ff4-83ddedc1a3be.html
https://www.jacksonvilleprogress.com/news/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/article_c431e510-b343-11ee-9ff4-83ddedc1a3be.html
https://www.cleburnetimesreview.com/texas/news/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/article_4b496869-c8f1-50fe-854f-364ba58cf18b.html
https://www.cleburnetimesreview.com/texas/news/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/article_4b496869-c8f1-50fe-854f-364ba58cf18b.html
https://www.cnhinews.com/texas/news/article_781434f9-d33e-5dde-b77e-6bc8cfbca964.html
https://www.cnhinews.com/texas/news/article_781434f9-d33e-5dde-b77e-6bc8cfbca964.html
https://dallasexpress.com/health/january-cervical-health-awareness-month/
https://cbs4local.com/newsletter-daily/gallery/el-paso-sslc-opens-550000-sports-complex-for-residents-with-special-needs-state-supported-living-center-marathon-petroleum-corporation-el-paso-chihuahuas-chico-the-chihuahua-texas-health-and-human-services-commission?photo=10
https://cbs4local.com/newsletter-daily/gallery/el-paso-sslc-opens-550000-sports-complex-for-residents-with-special-needs-state-supported-living-center-marathon-petroleum-corporation-el-paso-chihuahuas-chico-the-chihuahua-texas-health-and-human-services-commission?photo=10
https://www.ktsm.com/news/hhsc-celebrates-new-sports-complex-at-ep-state-supported-living-center/
https://kfoxtv.com/news/local/el-paso-sslc-opens-550000-sports-complex-for-residents-with-special-needs-state-supported-living-center-marathon-petroleum-corporation-el-paso-chihuahuas-chico-the-chihuahua-texas-health-and-human-services-commission
https://kfoxtv.com/news/local/el-paso-sslc-opens-550000-sports-complex-for-residents-with-special-needs-state-supported-living-center-marathon-petroleum-corporation-el-paso-chihuahuas-chico-the-chihuahua-texas-health-and-human-services-commission
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January 18, 2024 
 
A short story of hope 
Avery Escamilla-Wendell 
The Prospector Daily 
January 30, 2024 
 

DSHS Launches New Virus Dashboard 
 
Texas DSHS launches new respiratory virus dashboard 
Morgan McGrath 
KVUE-TV 
January 22, 2024 
 
Texas DSHS launches new respiratory virus dashboard 
Zachary Yates 
KCEN-TV 
January 22, 2024 
 
Texas Launches New Respiratory Virus Dashboard 
Focus Daily News 
January 22, 2024 
 
Texas launches new respiratory illness dashboard 
Carter Diggs 
KVIA-TV 
January 22, 2024 
 
Texas Publishes 'Big Three' Respiratory Virus Trends and Insights 
Robert Carlson, MD 
Precision Vaccinations 
January 22, 2024 
 
Texas launches dashboard to track the ‘big three’ respiratory viruses 
Idolina Peralez 
CW-39 Houston 

https://www.theprospectordaily.com/2024/01/30/a-short-story-of-hope/
https://www.kvue.com/article/news/health/texas-dshs-dashboard-flu-covid-rsv/269-da436e54-466b-4414-b916-d35a4c2649ea
https://www.kcentv.com/article/news/local/texas/texas-department-of-state-health-services-respiratory-illness-dashboard/500-7b3164f2-af85-48b5-8793-895a9ea870f7
https://www.focusdailynews.com/texas-launches-new-respiratory-virus-dashboard/
https://kvia.com/health/2024/01/22/texas-launches-new-respiratory-illness-dashboard/
https://www.precisionvaccinations.com/texas-publishes-big-three-respiratory-virus-trends-and-insights-2024-01-22
https://cw39.com/news/health/texas-launches-dashboard-to-track-the-big-three-respiratory-viruses/
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January 30, 2024 
 
 
The full articles have been added below for your convenience. 
* * * * * * * * * * * * 

Governor Abbott, HHSC Announce Medicaid, CHIP Postpartum 
Coverage Extension 

Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
Texas Tribune 
January 17, 2024 
 
Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, according to emails obtained 
by the Texas Tribune. 
 
The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 
 
In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 
 
But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 
 
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rd state 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 
 
The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 
 
“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 
 

https://www.texastribune.org/2024/01/17/texas-medicaid-postpartum/
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Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 
 
During the regular legislative session last year the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 
 
But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 
simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 
 
Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
said that allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit 
abortions is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 
 
Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 
 
The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 
 
“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 
 
This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KIII-TV 
January 17, 2024 

https://www.kiiitv.com/article/news/health/feds-approve-12-months-medicaid-coverage-low-income-texas-moms/500-98978e44-498f-4f43-85c7-68b61ab721a5
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Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, Jan. 17, according to emails 
obtained by the Texas Tribune. 
 
The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 
 
In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 
 
But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 
 
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rd state 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 
 
The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended 
 
“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 
 
Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 
 
During the regular legislative session last year, the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 
 
But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 
simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 
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Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
said that allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit 
abortions is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 

Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 

The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 

“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 

This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Postpartum Medicaid extension for Texans goes into effect in March 
Elena Rivera 
KERA 
January 17, 2024 
 
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) on Wednesday approved Texas’ plan to extend 
postpartum Medicaid coverage from two months to 12 months. 
 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission submitted the plan to CMS in October. The 
extended coverage goes into effect March 1. 
 
New parents who lost their Medicaid before then but are still within a year of giving birth can re-
enroll. 
 
Gov. Greg Abbott signed House Bill 12 into law last year. The bill, authored by Rep. Toni Rose, is 
designed to help new parents take care of health issues before they become a crisis. 
 
“I feel like this is one of my most fulfilling pieces of legislation, because it saves lives,” Rose told 
KERA in June. 

https://www.keranews.org/health-wellness/2024-01-17/texas-pregnancy-medicaid-extension
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Chronic diseases like diabetes and high blood pressure, along with bleeding and mental health issues, 
account for many of the pregnancy-related deaths in Texas, according to a report from the Texas 
Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee. 
 
Advocates, birth workers and researchers have said this extended coverage will lower the rates of 
maternal mortality and morbidity in the state. 
 
In 2022 almost half of all births in Texas were financed by Medicaid. 
 
Feds Approve Texas’ Plan to Expand Medicaid to Postpartum Moms 
Maggie Q. Thompson 
Austin Chronicle 
January 17, 2024 
 
It’s been a little more than four months since the Texas legislature passed a law aiming to expand 
Medicaid access to moms 12 months postpartum and now, with the feds approving the state’s request 
to do so, the implementation process can begin. Low-income moms should qualify for Medicaid March 
1. 
 
Texas is one of the last states to adopt Medicaid coverage for moms 12 months postpartum, a 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) spokesperson told the Chronicle last week. CMS 
approved the state’s plan for expansion today, and it’s a “game changer,” said State Rep. Donna 
Howard, D-Austin, who chairs the Texas Women’s Health Caucus. 
 
“We’ve been working on this for years. It’s been the number one recommendation of the Maternal 
Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee,” Howard told the Chronicle. “These are preventable 
deaths we’ll be able to address with access to care, especially in a post-Roe world where we’re going 
to have more pregnancies.” 
 
State Rep. Toni Rose, D-Dallas, authored House Bill 12, which passed with broad bipartisan support 
last year. “The deck is stacked against new mothers and women that are expecting, and I’m proud to 
have authored a bill that expands postpartum care for low-income new moms in Texas,” Rose said in 
a statement. “While we celebrate this win for new moms – the work does not end here in our effort to 
expand Medicaid across Texas.” 
 
As for the work left to do, Howard told the Chronicle that top priorities for reducing Texas’ unusually 
high maternal mortality rate include clarifying medical exceptions for abortions and protecting access 
to contraceptives. “I’ve had a bill for session after session to allow for reimbursement for 
contraceptives in our CHIP program. We are one of only two states that don’t do that and we have 

https://www.austinchronicle.com/daily/news/2024-01-17/feds-approve-texas-plan-to-expand-medicaid-to-postpartum-moms/
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one of the highest teen pregnancy rates in the country, and we know teen pregnancies are more 
likely to have complications.” 
 
For new moms applying for Medicaid coverage, the process may not be smooth. Medicaid applications 
and renewals are still problematic in Texas. Since July, a group of anonymous whistleblowers have 
sent a series of letters to Gov. Greg Abbott detailing dysfunction at Texas Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC), which processes Medicaid applications and renewals. Last month, the Texas 
Women’s Health Caucus sent a letter to HHSC demanding action on “the crisis in Texas’ eligibility 
system.” 
 
An HHSC spokesperson told the Chronicle last week that they are "working to implement 12-month 
postpartum coverage effective March 1." 
 
Medicaid coverage for Texas mothers to increase to 12 months postpartum 
after federal sign-off 
Taylor Goldenstein 
Houston Chronicle 
January 17, 2024 
 
Low-income Texas women will soon be able to keep their Medicaid benefits for 12 months after 
childbirth. The state on Wednesday received federal approval for the extension, which will take effect 
March 1. 
 
It’s a drastic bump from the two months of Medicaid coverage available under current rules, and 
thousands of Texans are expected to benefit.  
 
Almost half of Texas births were financed by Medicaid in 2022, according to data from the Kaiser 
Family Foundation. Until now, the state had been among the minority that had not approved the 
extended postpartum coverage.  
 
Advocates say the full year of Medicaid benefits is critical to prevent maternal deaths and ensure new 
mothers can get needed follow-up care. 
 
Both new and existing enrollees in the program will be able to take advantage of the extension, which 
is funded by state and federal dollars. Texans who lost their Medicaid coverage before March 1 but 
are still within 12 months of the end of their pregnancy will see their benefits automatically 
reinstated, according to state officials.  
 

https://www.houstonchronicle.com/politics/texas/article/medicaid-texas-postpartum-18613069.php
https://www.houstonchronicle.com/politics/texas/article/medicaid-texas-postpartum-18613069.php
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“Twelve months of postpartum coverage will help mothers across this state gain access to high-
quality healthcare," said Texas Health and Human Services Commission Executive Commissioner 
Cecile Erwin Young in a written statement.  
 
The federal approval comes after years of lawmakers in the GOP-led Legislature clashing over 
whether to fund the extension and how to address women who have had abortions. 
 
An attempt by Texas House members in 2021 failed when they could not find enough backing in the 
Senate. That year, the more conservative upper chamber agreed to a six-month extension, but the 
federal government never signed off. 
 
Lawmakers involved in the effort said the feds took issue with an anti-abortion provision stipulating 
that Texans were only eligible if “the woman delivers or experiences an involuntary miscarriage.” 
 
Last year’s successful compromise bill, approved with the help of a bipartisan group of lawmakers, 
includes similar language, but it is housed in a different part of the legislation that does not change 
state statute, making it a mostly symbolic gesture. Texas banned abortion after the fall of Roe vs. 
Wade with only one exception to save the life of the pregnant patient. 
 
Governor Abbott, HHSC Announce Medicaid, CHIP Postpartum Coverage 
Extension To 12 Months 
Gilbert Rodriguez 
Texas Insider 
January 18, 2024 
 
Governor Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) today 
announced that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has approved Texas’ request to 
extend Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) coverage from two to 12 months 
after pregnancy. 
 
“This past regular legislative session, I was proud to sign a crucial bipartisan law that extends 
postpartum coverage for Texas mothers from two to 12 months,” said Governor Abbott. “With Texas’ 
application approved by CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive high-quality 
healthcare across our great state. I thank the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Senator 
Lois Kolkhorst, and Representative Toni Rose for their work to ensure this critical postpartum 
extension is available to new mothers in need across Texas.” 
 
“I thank Governor Abbott and the Texas Legislature for standing by our families,” said HHS Executive 
Commissioner Cecile Erwin Young. “Twelve months of postpartum coverage will help mothers across 
this state gain access to high-quality healthcare.” 

https://texasinsider.org/articles/governor-abbott-hhsc-announce-medicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-extension-to-12-months
https://texasinsider.org/articles/governor-abbott-hhsc-announce-medicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-extension-to-12-months
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Last year, Governor Abbott signed House Bill 12 into law, which extended Medicaid and CHIP 
postpartum coverage from two to 12 months. The law will take effect on March 1, 2024. Under the 
state plan amendments, anyone enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP who is pregnant or becomes pregnant 
will be automatically enrolled for 12 months of postpartum coverage. Services covered by Medicaid 
and CHIP include prenatal doctor visits, prenatal vitamins, labor and delivery, and postpartum 
checkups. 
 
Coverage will be automatically reinstated for individuals who are not current Medicaid or CHIP 
recipients, but who were enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP in Texas while pregnant and are still within their 
12-month postpartum period, as long as they are still residents of Texas. Their coverage will be 
reinstated for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 
 
Women who are enrolled in Healthy Texas Women who are still within their 12-month postpartum 
period will be transitioned back to full-coverage Medicaid or CHIP for the remainder of their 12-month 
postpartum period. 
 
Texas projects approximately 137,000 women will benefit from 12-months postpartum coverage in 
fiscal year 2025. To apply for Medicaid or CHIP, call 2-1-1 and choose Option 2 or visit 
YourTexasBenefits.com. 

 
Medicaid, CHIP postpartum coverage in Texas extended from 2 months to 1 
year 
Juliana Russ 
KXAN-TV 
January 18, 2024 

On Thursday, Texas’ request to extend Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) 
coverage from two to 12 months after pregnancy was approved. 

House Bill 12 was signed into law last year, and it will take effect March 1. 

Gov. Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission made the announcement. 

Family, doctor fight for Texas boy’s urgent treatment after Medicaid denial 

“With Texas’ application approved by CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive 
high-quality healthcare across our great state,” Abbott said. 

According to the governor’s office, approximately 137,000 women are projected to benefit from 12-
month postpartum coverage in fiscal year 2025. 

New Texas laws taking effect in 2024 

https://www.kxan.com/news/texas/medicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-in-texas-extended-from-2-months-to-1-year/#:%7E:text=AUSTIN%20(KXAN)%20%E2%80%94%20On%20Thursday,will%20take%20effect%20March%201.
https://www.kxan.com/news/texas/medicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-in-texas-extended-from-2-months-to-1-year/#:%7E:text=AUSTIN%20(KXAN)%20%E2%80%94%20On%20Thursday,will%20take%20effect%20March%201.
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“Under the state plan amendments, anyone enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP who is pregnant or becomes 
pregnant will be automatically enrolled for 12 months of postpartum coverage. Services covered by 
Medicaid and CHIP include prenatal doctor visits, prenatal vitamins, labor and delivery, and 
postpartum checkups,” a statement from the governor’s office said. 

Federal government approves 1 year of Medicaid coverage for Texas 
mothers 
Hannah Norton 
Community Impact Newspaper 
January 18, 2024 

Beginning March 1, low-income Texas mothers can receive Medicaid coverage for one year after 
childbirth. The federal government approved Texas’ extension Jan. 17. 

Medicaid covered nearly half of Texas births in 2022, according to data from the Kaiser Family 
Foundation. Yet low-income women are currently eligible for two months of postpartum coverage. 

The details 

New and existing enrollees will be eligible for the extension. Women whose Medicaid coverage expired 
before March 1 will be automatically re-enrolled and receive coverage for 12 months after their 
pregnancy ended, according to Gov. Greg Abbott's office. 

Over 137,000 new parents will benefit from the extension, according to the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Beyond prenatal care, Medicaid covers checkups and other services for mothers and their children. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, the 
director of health policy at Texans Care for Children, in a statement. 

How we got here 

Texas is the 43rd state to extend postpartum Medicaid coverage to 12 months. The change is a top 
recommendation of the Texas Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee, which documented 
rising rates of maternal deaths and severe complications in its 2022 report. 

Maternal health advocates have pushed for the extension for years, but proposals stalled as 
lawmakers argued over coverage for women who had abortions. 

In 2021, lawmakers agreed to a six-month extension, but the federal government did not approve it. 

Rep. Toni Rose, D-Dallas, led a bipartisan effort to expand coverage for low-income women during the 
2023 legislative session. The legislation, known as House Bill 12, includes a “legislative purpose” 
section that says only “mothers whose pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the 
natural loss of the child” are eligible for the extension. 

https://communityimpact.com/austin/south-central-austin/texas-legislature/2024/01/18/federal-government-approves-1-year-of-medicaid-coverage-for-texas-mothers/
https://communityimpact.com/austin/south-central-austin/texas-legislature/2024/01/18/federal-government-approves-1-year-of-medicaid-coverage-for-texas-mothers/


  

 
 
 
 

   18 

This section, however, does not hold legal weight. 

“The deck is stacked against new mothers and women that are expecting,” Rose said in a statement. 
“The simple fact of the matter is that only providing new mothers with postpartum care for two 
months is unacceptable.” 

Texas Democrats said they would fight to expand Medicaid coverage for more Texans. 

“We are so grateful to Rep. Toni Rose, Sen. Lois Kolkhorst, the staff at the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission ... and everyone else who worked hard to make this happen,” Forester said. 
“Disagreements between elected officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our 
state legislators really can come together to improve access to health care for Texas families.” 

Texans who are eligible for Medicaid coverage can access their plan and update their information at 
www.yourtexasbenefits.com. 

Texas Health and Human Services Commission extends children's health 
insurance 
KDBC-TV 
January 17, 2024 

Governor Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) announced 
Wednesday that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has approved Texas’ request to 
extend Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) coverage from two to 12 months 
after pregnancy. 

In a statement, Governor Abbott said, 

This past regular legislative session, I was proud to sign a crucial bipartisan law that extends 
postpartum coverage for Texas mothers from two to 12 months. With Texas’ application approved by 
CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive high-quality healthcare across our 
great state. I thank the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Senator Lois Kolkhorst, and 
Representative Toni Rose for their work to ensure this critical postpartum extension is available to 
new mothers in need across Texas. 

Texas expands postpartum Medicaid coverage to 12 months for low-income 
mothers 
Margo Lepe 
KFOX-TV 
January 22, 2024 

Texas mothers with Medicaid will soon catch a break and get longer coverage after having their baby 
thanks to a new law passed by the Texas legislature. 

http://www.yourtexasbenefits.com/
https://cbs4local.com/news/local/texas-health-and-human-services-commission-extends-childrens-health-insurance-governor-greg-abbott-medicaid-childrens-health-insurance-program
https://cbs4local.com/news/local/texas-health-and-human-services-commission-extends-childrens-health-insurance-governor-greg-abbott-medicaid-childrens-health-insurance-program
https://kfoxtv.com/news/local/texas-expands-postpartum-medicaid-coverage-to-12-months-for-low-income-mothers
https://kfoxtv.com/news/local/texas-expands-postpartum-medicaid-coverage-to-12-months-for-low-income-mothers
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Starting on March 1st, Medicaid coverage for low-income new moms across the state will be extended 
12 months after giving birth. 

Currently Medicaid for new mom’s caps off two months after the baby is born, which makes this a big 
milestone for postpartum mothers. But, Texas is actually one of the last states in the country to 
implement this extra coverage. 

The woman's body goes through so much during pregnancy and it's not just during pregnancy, but 
after pregnancy. As a matter of fact, for me, it was a really scary time because I ended up getting 
diagnosed with Hashimoto’s hypothyroidism right after I had my daughter,” El Paso mom Angela 
Berruecos said. “Plus, a lot of women, we go through postpartum and baby blues, so we really need 
that extra care. 

Berruecos was once on Medicaid and said she’s in favor of the new law, especially the additional 
coverage after having a baby. 

Texas is the 43rd state to approve the extended coverage for low-income moms and the timing for 
this is pivotal, as millions of Texans continue to utilize Medicaid. 

KFOX14 spoke with Thomas Vazquez with the Texas Health and Human Services Commission. While 
he wasn’t available for an interview, he told KFOX14 this approval also means anyone whose 
pregnancy ended before March 1st and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is also eligible to re-enroll 
to maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 

The extra coverage is something Berruecos said she wishes had when she had her daughter. 

"We matter too as mothers, especially after having our babies. We need that extra support,” 
Berruecos said. 

Anyone needing more information about Medicaid or these new benefits can call 211 or click here. 

Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KRGV-TV 
January 17, 2024 

Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, according to emails obtained 
by the Texas Tribune. 

The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 

In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 

https://www.krgv.com/news/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms
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But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rd state 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 

The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 

Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 

During the regular legislative session last year the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 

But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 
simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 

Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
said that allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit 
abortions is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 

Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 

The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 

“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 
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This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 
Corpus Christi Caller-Times 
January 22, 2024 

Texas mothers are one step closer to getting health coverage for 12 months following pregnancy. 

This week, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approved Texas' plan to provide 12 
months of postpartum health care coverage through Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program 
instead of the current 60 days. Those programs are for people who qualify based on income. The 
extended coverage will begin March 1. 

"With Texas’ application approved by CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive 
high-quality healthcare across our great state," Gov. Greg Abbott said in a statement Wednesday. 

In October, Texas' Health & Human Services Commission submitted its plan for 12 months of 
continuous postpartum coverage after the state Legislature passed House Bill 12 during the 2023 
regular session in May. The bill had 73 sponsors and was bipartisan. 

In June, Abbott signed House Bill 12 into law, paving the way for the state to seek approval from 
CMS. 

The state expects approximately 137,000 women will benefit from 12-months postpartum coverage in 
fiscal 2025. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies," said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at advocacy group Texans Care for Children. “Disagreements between elected officials 
get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come together to 
improve access to health care for Texas families." 

Many starts and stops 

This is not the first time Texas tried to extend coverage for postpartum people. Two years ago, the 
state had submitted a plan to extend coverage to six months, but that was not approved by CMS in 
the hopes that Texas lawmakers would seek a 12-month extension during the 2023 legislative 
session. Twelve months has become standard among almost all the states. As of this month, 47 
states and Washington, D.C., either have 12 months or plan to have 12 months of coverage. Only 
Idaho, Iowa, Arkansas and Wisconsin do not. 

https://www.caller.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.caller.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
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The news that the extended coverage was going to be put in place was celebrated on Wednesday. 
"I'm almost amazed that it is actually happening," said Regina Rogoff, CEO of People's Community 
Clinic, a federally qualified health center, which provides care for many people with lower income 
levels. 

"It's a recognition that the postpartum period is longer than we've recognized in the past," Rogoff 
said. 

Why is this important? 

Pregnancy is a major life change, Rogoff said. Complications such as increases in blood pressure, 
heart conditions and postpartum depression can be life-threatening and can occur after the initial 60 
days that was previously covered by Medicaid in Texas. 

"The months following pregnancy are critical for monitoring women for potentially dangerous health 
conditions that they are more susceptible to after giving birth," said Dr. Kathleen V. Butler, chief 
medical officer and chief quality office for Lone Star Circle of Care, a federally qualified health center 

Maternal deaths after pregnancy have been rising across the United States, Based on 2018-2021 
numbers, health care advocacy group KFF found that Texas ranked 14 for the highest number of 
maternal deaths per 1,000 live births. 

"We expect that the extension of Medicaid will help improve the health of women in the postpartum 
period," Butler said. " In doing so, Texas may improve its maternal mortality rate." 

While People's Community Clinic and Lone Star Circle of Care help anyone with or without insurance, 
this is especially good if a mother has complications and needs to be hospitalized or seek specialized 
care. 

This coverage extension "is good for moms and babies. That's a win-win," Rogoff said. 

How will the new coverage work? 

This new law will affect future postpartum people as well as current new mothers. Anyone who has 
given birth but whose Medicaid coverage ended can reenroll if they are still within the 12-month 
period. 

The state says coverage will be automatically reinstated for individuals who are not current Medicaid 
or CHIP recipients, but who were enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP in Texas while pregnant and are still 
within their 12-month postpartum period, as long as they are still Texas residents. Their coverage will 
be reinstated for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 

Women who are enrolled in Healthy Texas Women program, another state health care program, and 
are still within their 12-month postpartum period will be transitioned back to full-coverage Medicaid or 
CHIP for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 
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Texas has recently experience problems maintaining and even reenrolling people in Medicaid and 
CHIP during the post-pandemic Medicaid unwinding process that began last year. 

Texans Care for Children's Forester said, "Now that the plan has been approved, we encourage state 
officials to move quickly to ensure that Texas moms who were recently pregnant and lost Medicaid 
coverage are able to re-enroll as soon as possible.” 

Clinics like People's also will be working on helping new moms who lost coverage get reenrolled in 
Medicaid. 

How to apply for Medicaid or CHIP in Texas? 

To apply for Medicaid or CHIP or to find out about your status, call 211 and choose Option 2 or visit 
YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper  
KSCC-TV 
January 17, 2024 
 
Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, according to emails obtained 
by the Texas Tribune. 
 
The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 
 
In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 
 
But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 
 
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rd state 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 
 
The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 
 

https://fox38corpuschristi.com/news/local/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms-people-local-helping-money-children-health-medical#:%7E:text=Texas%20moms%20will%20be%20able,coverage%20for%20low%2Dincome%20moms.
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“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 
 
Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 
 
During the regular legislative session last year the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 
 
But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 
simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 
 
Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
said that allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit 
abortions is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 
 
Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 
 
The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 
 
“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 
 
This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 
 
Medicaid, CHIP postpartum coverage in Texas extended from 2 months to 1 
year 

https://nam12.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.conchovalleyhomepage.com%2Fnews%2Ftexas-politics%2Fmedicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-in-texas-extended-from-2-months-to-1-year%2F&data=05%7C02%7CThomas.Vazquez%40hhs.texas.gov%7C42b07894b71b49e7c62e08dc1849a174%7C9bf9773282b9499bb16aa93e8ebd536b%7C0%7C0%7C638411951729421092%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=m9IO6npX%2B%2BmtvpgdmG7KWH1%2BaVcSJ%2BCle3yPYDoiDnE%3D&reserved=0
https://nam12.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.conchovalleyhomepage.com%2Fnews%2Ftexas-politics%2Fmedicaid-chip-postpartum-coverage-in-texas-extended-from-2-months-to-1-year%2F&data=05%7C02%7CThomas.Vazquez%40hhs.texas.gov%7C42b07894b71b49e7c62e08dc1849a174%7C9bf9773282b9499bb16aa93e8ebd536b%7C0%7C0%7C638411951729421092%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=m9IO6npX%2B%2BmtvpgdmG7KWH1%2BaVcSJ%2BCle3yPYDoiDnE%3D&reserved=0
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Julianna Russ 
Concho Valley Homepage 
January 18, 2024 

On Thursday, Texas’ request to extend Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) 
coverage from two to 12 months after pregnancy was approved. 

House Bill 12 was signed into law last year, and it will take effect March 1. 

Gov. Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission made the announcement. 

“With Texas’ application approved by CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive 
high-quality healthcare across our great state,” Abbott said. 

According to the governor’s office, approximately 137,000 women are projected to benefit from 12-
month postpartum coverage in fiscal year 2025. 

“Under the state plan amendments, anyone enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP who is pregnant or becomes 
pregnant will be automatically enrolled for 12 months of postpartum coverage. Services covered by 
Medicaid and CHIP include prenatal doctor visits, prenatal vitamins, labor and delivery, and 
postpartum checkups,” a statement from the governor’s office said. 

Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KVUE-TV 
January 18, 2024 

Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, Jan. 17, according to emails 
obtained by the Texas Tribune. 

The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 

In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 

But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rd state 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 

https://www.kvue.com/article/news/health/feds-approve-12-months-medicaid-coverage-low-income-texas-moms/500-98978e44-498f-4f43-85c7-68b61ab721a5
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The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 

Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 

During the regular legislative session last year, the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 

But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 
simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 

Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
said that allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit 
abortions is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 

Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 

The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 

“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 

This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Austin American-Statesman 

https://www.statesman.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.statesman.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
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Nicole Villalpando  
January 22, 2024 
 
Texas mothers are one step closer to getting health coverage for 12 months following pregnancy. 
 
This week, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approved Texas' plan to provide 12 
months of postpartum health care coverage through Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program 
instead of the current 60 days. Those programs are for people who qualify based on income. The 
extended coverage will begin March 1. 
 
"With Texas’ application approved by CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive 
high-quality healthcare across our great state," Gov. Greg Abbott said in a statement Wednesday. 
 
In October, Texas' Health & Human Services Commission submitted its plan for 12 months of 
continuous postpartum coverage after the state Legislature passed House Bill 12 during the 2023 
regular session in May. The bill had 73 sponsors and was bipartisan. 
 
In June, Abbott signed House Bill 12 into law, paving the way for the state to seek approval from 
CMS. 
 
The state expects approximately 137,000 women will benefit from 12-months postpartum coverage in 
fiscal 2025. 
 
“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies," said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at advocacy group Texans Care for Children. “Disagreements between elected officials 
get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come together to 
improve access to health care for Texas families." 
 
Many starts and stops 
 
This is not the first time Texas tried to extend coverage for postpartum people. Two years ago, the 
state had submitted a plan to extend coverage to six months, but that was not approved by CMS in 
the hopes that Texas lawmakers would seek a 12-month extension during the 2023 legislative 
session. Twelve months has become standard among almost all the states. As of this month, 47 
states and Washington, D.C., either have 12 months or plan to have 12 months of coverage. Only 
Idaho, Iowa, Arkansas and Wisconsin do not. 
 
The news that the extended coverage was going to be put in place was celebrated on Wednesday. 
"I'm almost amazed that it is actually happening," said Regina Rogoff, CEO of People's Community 
Clinic, a federally qualified health center, which provides care for many people with lower income 
levels. 



  

 
 
 
 

   28 

 
"It's a recognition that the postpartum period is longer than we've recognized in the past," Rogoff 
said. 
 
Why is this important? 
 
Pregnancy is a major life change, Rogoff said. Complications such as increases in blood pressure, 
heart conditions and postpartum depression can be life-threatening and can occur after the initial 60 
days that was previously covered by Medicaid in Texas. 
 
"The months following pregnancy are critical for monitoring women for potentially dangerous health 
conditions that they are more susceptible to after giving birth," said Dr. Kathleen V. Butler, chief 
medical officer and chief quality office for Lone Star Circle of Care, a federally qualified health center 
 
Maternal deaths after pregnancy have been rising across the United States, Based on 2018-2021 
numbers, health care advocacy group KFF found that Texas ranked 14 for the highest number of 
maternal deaths per 1,000 live births. 
 
"We expect that the extension of Medicaid will help improve the health of women in the postpartum 
period," Butler said. " In doing so, Texas may improve its maternal mortality rate." 
 
While People's Community Clinic and Lone Star Circle of Care help anyone with or without insurance, 
this is especially good if a mother has complications and needs to be hospitalized or seek specialized 
care. 
 
This coverage extension "is good for moms and babies. That's a win-win," Rogoff said. 
 
How will the new coverage work? 
 
This new law will affect future postpartum people as well as current new mothers. Anyone who has 
given birth but whose Medicaid coverage ended can reenroll if they are still within the 12-month 
period. 
 
The state says coverage will be automatically reinstated for individuals who are not current Medicaid 
or CHIP recipients, but who were enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP in Texas while pregnant and are still 
within their 12-month postpartum period, as long as they are still Texas residents. Their coverage will 
be reinstated for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 
 
Women who are enrolled in Healthy Texas Women program, another state health care program, and 
are still within their 12-month postpartum period will be transitioned back to full-coverage Medicaid or 
CHIP for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 
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Texas has recently experience problems maintaining and even reenrolling people in Medicaid and 
CHIP during the post-pandemic Medicaid unwinding process that began last year. 
 
Texans Care for Children's Forester said, "Now that the plan has been approved, we encourage state 
officials to move quickly to ensure that Texas moms who were recently pregnant and lost Medicaid 
coverage are able to re-enroll as soon as possible.” 
 
Clinics like People's also will be working on helping new moms who lost coverage get reenrolled in 
Medicaid. 
 
Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
News4SA.com 
January 17, 2024 

Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, according to emails obtained 
by the Texas Tribune. 

The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 

In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 

But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rd state 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 

The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 

Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 

https://news4sanantonio.com/news/local/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms-people-local-helping-money-children-health-medical
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During the regular legislative session last year the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 

But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 
simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 

Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
said that allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit 
abortions is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 

Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 

The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 

“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 

This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
FOX San Antonio 
January 17, 2024 

Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, according to emails obtained 
by the Texas Tribune. 

The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 

In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 

https://foxsanantonio.com/newsletter-daily/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms-people-local-helping-money-children-health-medical


  

 
 
 
 

   31 

But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rd state 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 

The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 

Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 

During the regular legislative session last year the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 

But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 
simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 

Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
said that allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit 
abortions is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 

Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 

The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 

“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 
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This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KAGS-TV 
January 17, 2024 

Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, according to emails obtained 
by the Texas Tribune. 

The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 

In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 

But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rd state 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 

The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 

Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 

During the regular legislative session last year the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 

But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 

https://www.kagstv.com/article/news/health/feds-approve-12-months-medicaid-coverage-low-income-texas-moms/500-98978e44-498f-4f43-85c7-68b61ab721a5
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simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 

Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
said that allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit 
abortions is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 

Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 

The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 

“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 

This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KPRC-TV 
January 17, 2024 

Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, according to emails obtained 
by The Texas Tribune. 

The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 

In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 

But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 

https://www.click2houston.com/news/texas/2024/01/17/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms/
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The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rd state 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 

The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 

Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 

During the regular legislative session last year the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 

But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 
simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 

Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
said that allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit 
abortions is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 

Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 

The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 

“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 

This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 
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Feds approve 12 months of Medicaid coverage for low-income Texas moms 
Karen Brooks Harper 
KXXV-TV 
January 17, 2024 

Texas moms will be able to stay on Medicaid for a year after childbirth, after the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid approved the state's application on Wednesday, according to emails obtained 
by the Texas Tribune. 

The move caps a yearslong effort to extend coverage for low-income moms. Medicaid covers half of 
all births in Texas, but coverage currently expires after two months. 

In 2021, the federal government found Texas' application for continued coverage "unapprovable" due 
to medically inaccurate language intended to exclude women who had abortions. 

But when Roe v Wade was overturned in 2022, giving states the right to ban abortion, the idea 
gained traction. During the last regular session, lawmakers worked to reach a proposal that the 
federal government would approve. 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval on Wednesday makes Texas the 43rdstate 
to be approved for the extended coverage — which was authorized by the American Rescue Plan Act 
of 2021 and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. 

The approval goes into effect on March 1, 2024. Under the Texas plan, anyone whose pregnancy 
ended in the months prior to March 1 and lost postpartum Medicaid coverage is eligible to re-enroll to 
maintain coverage until 12 months after their pregnancy ended. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies,” said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at Texans Care for Children. 

Maternal health advocates have been calling for a full year of postpartum Medicaid for years, and it’s 
long been the top recommendation from the state’s Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review 
Committee. 

During the regular legislative session last year the bill to expand postpartum Medicaid for Pregnant 
Women caught bipartisan support from a wide-ranging coalition of legislators and advocates, and it 
initially passed the Texas House with overwhelming backing. 

But the bill hit a snag in the Senate as Republicans demanded an amendment that specified women 
who had elective abortions do not qualify for the extended Medicaid coverage. The original bill said 
simply that the coverage began on the last day of pregnancy; it did not specify how that pregnancy 
had to end. 

https://www.kxxv.com/news/texas-news/feds-approve-12-months-of-medicaid-coverage-for-low-income-texas-moms
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Abortion is banned in Texas except to save the life of the pregnant patient. Anti-abortion groups have 
saidthat allowing extended Medicaid coverage to go to women who had out-of-state or illicit abortions 
is tantamount to using state funds to support abortion. 

Throughout the session, advocates called for the Legislature to pass a “clean” bill that matches the 
language in Medicaid guidelines to ensure the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
quickly accepts the state’s application for the extension. 

The law now includes a “legislative purpose” section that reads, “Out of the state’s profound respect 
for the lives of mothers and unborn children, Medicaid coverage is extended for mothers whose 
pregnancies end in the delivery of the child or end in the natural loss of the child.” 

“We are so grateful to Representative Toni Rose, (D-Dallas), Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), the 
staff at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), and everyone else who worked 
hard to make this happen,” Forester said in the emailed statement. “Disagreements between elected 
officials get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come 
together to improve access to healthcare for Texas families.” 

This bill comes at a crucial moment, as millions of Texans face the end of Medicaid benefits for the 
first time since the COVID-19 pandemic began in March 2020. Texans who receive Medicaid benefits 
are encouraged to make sure their information is up to date at YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 
San Angelo Standard Times 
January 22, 2024 

Texas mothers are one step closer to getting health coverage for 12 months following pregnancy. 

This week, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approved Texas' plan to provide 12 
months of postpartum health care coverage through Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program 
instead of the current 60 days. Those programs are for people who qualify based on income. The 
extended coverage will begin March 1. 

"With Texas’ application approved by CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive 
high-quality healthcare across our great state," Gov. Greg Abbott said in a statement Wednesday. 

In October, Texas' Health & Human Services Commission submitted its plan for 12 months of 
continuous postpartum coverage after the state Legislature passed House Bill 12 during the 2023 
regular session in May. The bill had 73 sponsors and was bipartisan. 

In June, Abbott signed House Bill 12 into law, paving the way for the state to seek approval from 
CMS. 

https://www.gosanangelo.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.gosanangelo.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
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The state expects approximately 137,000 women will benefit from 12-months postpartum coverage in 
fiscal 2025. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies," said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at advocacy group Texans Care for Children. “Disagreements between elected officials 
get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come together to 
improve access to health care for Texas families." 

Many starts and stops 

This is not the first time Texas tried to extend coverage for postpartum people. Two years ago, the 
state had submitted a plan to extend coverage to six months, but that was not approved by CMS in 
the hopes that Texas lawmakers would seek a 12-month extension during the 2023 legislative 
session. Twelve months has become standard among almost all the states. As of this month, 47 
states and Washington, D.C., either have 12 months or plan to have 12 months of coverage. Only 
Idaho, Iowa, Arkansas and Wisconsin do not. 

The news that the extended coverage was going to be put in place was celebrated on Wednesday. 
"I'm almost amazed that it is actually happening," said Regina Rogoff, CEO of People's Community 
Clinic, a federally qualified health center, which provides care for many people with lower income 
levels. 

"It's a recognition that the postpartum period is longer than we've recognized in the past," Rogoff 
said. 

Why is this important? 

Pregnancy is a major life change, Rogoff said. Complications such as increases in blood pressure, 
heart conditions and postpartum depression can be life-threatening and can occur after the initial 60 
days that was previously covered by Medicaid in Texas. 

"The months following pregnancy are critical for monitoring women for potentially dangerous health 
conditions that they are more susceptible to after giving birth," said Dr. Kathleen V. Butler, chief 
medical officer and chief quality office for Lone Star Circle of Care, a federally qualified health center 

Maternal deaths after pregnancy have been rising across the United States, Based on 2018-2021 
numbers, health care advocacy group KFF found that Texas ranked 14 for the highest number of 
maternal deaths per 1,000 live births. 

"We expect that the extension of Medicaid will help improve the health of women in the postpartum 
period," Butler said. " In doing so, Texas may improve its maternal mortality rate." 

While People's Community Clinic and Lone Star Circle of Care help anyone with or without insurance, 
this is especially good if a mother has complications and needs to be hospitalized or seek specialized 
care. 
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This coverage extension "is good for moms and babies. That's a win-win," Rogoff said. 

How will the new coverage work? 

This new law will affect future postpartum people as well as current new mothers. Anyone who has 
given birth but whose Medicaid coverage ended can reenroll if they are still within the 12-month 
period. 

The state says coverage will be automatically reinstated for individuals who are not current Medicaid 
or CHIP recipients, but who were enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP in Texas while pregnant and are still 
within their 12-month postpartum period, as long as they are still Texas residents. Their coverage will 
be reinstated for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 

Women who are enrolled in Healthy Texas Women program, another state health care program, and 
are still within their 12-month postpartum period will be transitioned back to full-coverage Medicaid or 
CHIP for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 

Texas has recently experience problems maintaining and even reenrolling people in Medicaid and 
CHIP during the post-pandemic Medicaid unwinding process that began last year. 

Texans Care for Children's Forester said, "Now that the plan has been approved, we encourage state 
officials to move quickly to ensure that Texas moms who were recently pregnant and lost Medicaid 
coverage are able to re-enroll as soon as possible.” 

Clinics like People's also will be working on helping new moms who lost coverage get reenrolled in 
Medicaid. 

How to apply for Medicaid or CHIP in Texas? 

To apply for Medicaid or CHIP or to find out about your status, call 211 and choose Option 2 or visit 
YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 
Abilene Reporter News 
January 22, 2024 

Texas mothers are one step closer to getting health coverage for 12 months following pregnancy. 

This week, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approved Texas' plan to provide 12 
months of postpartum health care coverage through Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program 
instead of the current 60 days. Those programs are for people who qualify based on income. The 
extended coverage will begin March 1. 

https://www.reporternews.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.reporternews.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
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"With Texas’ application approved by CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive 
high-quality healthcare across our great state," Gov. Greg Abbott said in a statement Wednesday. 

In October, Texas' Health & Human Services Commission submitted its plan for 12 months of 
continuous postpartum coverage after the state Legislature passed House Bill 12 during the 2023 
regular session in May. The bill had 73 sponsors and was bipartisan. 

In June, Abbott signed House Bill 12 into law, paving the way for the state to seek approval from 
CMS. 

The state expects approximately 137,000 women will benefit from 12-months postpartum coverage in 
fiscal 2025. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies," said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at advocacy group Texans Care for Children. “Disagreements between elected officials 
get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come together to 
improve access to health care for Texas families." 

Many starts and stops 

This is not the first time Texas tried to extend coverage for postpartum people. Two years ago, the 
state had submitted a plan to extend coverage to six months, but that was not approved by CMS in 
the hopes that Texas lawmakers would seek a 12-month extension during the 2023 legislative 
session. Twelve months has become standard among almost all the states. As of this month, 47 
states and Washington, D.C., either have 12 months or plan to have 12 months of coverage. Only 
Idaho, Iowa, Arkansas and Wisconsin do not. 

The news that the extended coverage was going to be put in place was celebrated on Wednesday. 
"I'm almost amazed that it is actually happening," said Regina Rogoff, CEO of People's Community 
Clinic, a federally qualified health center, which provides care for many people with lower income 
levels. 

"It's a recognition that the postpartum period is longer than we've recognized in the past," Rogoff 
said. 

Why is this important? 

Pregnancy is a major life change, Rogoff said. Complications such as increases in blood pressure, 
heart conditions and postpartum depression can be life-threatening and can occur after the initial 60 
days that was previously covered by Medicaid in Texas. 

"The months following pregnancy are critical for monitoring women for potentially dangerous health 
conditions that they are more susceptible to after giving birth," said Dr. Kathleen V. Butler, chief 
medical officer and chief quality office for Lone Star Circle of Care, a federally qualified health center 
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Maternal deaths after pregnancy have been rising across the United States, Based on 2018-2021 
numbers, health care advocacy group KFF found that Texas ranked 14 for the highest number of 
maternal deaths per 1,000 live births. 

"We expect that the extension of Medicaid will help improve the health of women in the postpartum 
period," Butler said. " In doing so, Texas may improve its maternal mortality rate." 

While People's Community Clinic and Lone Star Circle of Care help anyone with or without insurance, 
this is especially good if a mother has complications and needs to be hospitalized or seek specialized 
care. 

This coverage extension "is good for moms and babies. That's a win-win," Rogoff said. 

How will the new coverage work? 

This new law will affect future postpartum people as well as current new mothers. Anyone who has 
given birth but whose Medicaid coverage ended can reenroll if they are still within the 12-month 
period. 

The state says coverage will be automatically reinstated for individuals who are not current Medicaid 
or CHIP recipients, but who were enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP in Texas while pregnant and are still 
within their 12-month postpartum period, as long as they are still Texas residents. Their coverage will 
be reinstated for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 

Women who are enrolled in Healthy Texas Women program, another state health care program, and 
are still within their 12-month postpartum period will be transitioned back to full-coverage Medicaid or 
CHIP for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 

Texas has recently experience problems maintaining and even reenrolling people in Medicaid and 
CHIP during the post-pandemic Medicaid unwinding process that began last year. 

Texans Care for Children's Forester said, "Now that the plan has been approved, we encourage state 
officials to move quickly to ensure that Texas moms who were recently pregnant and lost Medicaid 
coverage are able to re-enroll as soon as possible.” 

Clinics like People's also will be working on helping new moms who lost coverage get reenrolled in 
Medicaid. 

How to apply for Medicaid or CHIP in Texas? 

To apply for Medicaid or CHIP or to find out about your status, call 211 and choose Option 2 or visit 
YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 

https://www.timesrecordnews.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.timesrecordnews.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
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Wichita Falls Times Record 
January 22, 2024 

Texas mothers are one step closer to getting health coverage for 12 months following pregnancy. 

This week, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approved Texas' plan to provide 12 
months of postpartum health care coverage through Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program 
instead of the current 60 days. Those programs are for people who qualify based on income. The 
extended coverage will begin March 1. 

"With Texas’ application approved by CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive 
high-quality healthcare across our great state," Gov. Greg Abbott said in a statement Wednesday. 

In October, Texas' Health & Human Services Commission submitted its plan for 12 months of 
continuous postpartum coverage after the state Legislature passed House Bill 12 during the 2023 
regular session in May. The bill had 73 sponsors and was bipartisan. 

In June, Abbott signed House Bill 12 into law, paving the way for the state to seek approval from 
CMS. 

The state expects approximately 137,000 women will benefit from 12-months postpartum coverage in 
fiscal 2025. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies," said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at advocacy group Texans Care for Children. “Disagreements between elected officials 
get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come together to 
improve access to health care for Texas families." 

Many starts and stops 

This is not the first time Texas tried to extend coverage for postpartum people. Two years ago, the 
state had submitted a plan to extend coverage to six months, but that was not approved by CMS in 
the hopes that Texas lawmakers would seek a 12-month extension during the 2023 legislative 
session. Twelve months has become standard among almost all the states. As of this month, 47 
states and Washington, D.C., either have 12 months or plan to have 12 months of coverage. Only 
Idaho, Iowa, Arkansas and Wisconsin do not. 

The news that the extended coverage was going to be put in place was celebrated on Wednesday. 
"I'm almost amazed that it is actually happening," said Regina Rogoff, CEO of People's Community 
Clinic, a federally qualified health center, which provides care for many people with lower income 
levels. 

"It's a recognition that the postpartum period is longer than we've recognized in the past," Rogoff 
said. 

Why is this important? 
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Pregnancy is a major life change, Rogoff said. Complications such as increases in blood pressure, 
heart conditions and postpartum depression can be life-threatening and can occur after the initial 60 
days that was previously covered by Medicaid in Texas. 

"The months following pregnancy are critical for monitoring women for potentially dangerous health 
conditions that they are more susceptible to after giving birth," said Dr. Kathleen V. Butler, chief 
medical officer and chief quality office for Lone Star Circle of Care, a federally qualified health center 

Maternal deaths after pregnancy have been rising across the United States, Based on 2018-2021 
numbers, health care advocacy group KFF found that Texas ranked 14 for the highest number of 
maternal deaths per 1,000 live births. 

"We expect that the extension of Medicaid will help improve the health of women in the postpartum 
period," Butler said. " In doing so, Texas may improve its maternal mortality rate." 

While People's Community Clinic and Lone Star Circle of Care help anyone with or without insurance, 
this is especially good if a mother has complications and needs to be hospitalized or seek specialized 
care. 

This coverage extension "is good for moms and babies. That's a win-win," Rogoff said. 

How will the new coverage work? 

This new law will affect future postpartum people as well as current new mothers. Anyone who has 
given birth but whose Medicaid coverage ended can reenroll if they are still within the 12-month 
period. 

The state says coverage will be automatically reinstated for individuals who are not current Medicaid 
or CHIP recipients, but who were enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP in Texas while pregnant and are still 
within their 12-month postpartum period, as long as they are still Texas residents. Their coverage will 
be reinstated for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 

Women who are enrolled in Healthy Texas Women program, another state health care program, and 
are still within their 12-month postpartum period will be transitioned back to full-coverage Medicaid or 
CHIP for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 

Texas has recently experience problems maintaining and even reenrolling people in Medicaid and 
CHIP during the post-pandemic Medicaid unwinding process that began last year. 

Texans Care for Children's Forester said, "Now that the plan has been approved, we encourage state 
officials to move quickly to ensure that Texas moms who were recently pregnant and lost Medicaid 
coverage are able to re-enroll as soon as possible.” 

Clinics like People's also will be working on helping new moms who lost coverage get reenrolled in 
Medicaid. 

How to apply for Medicaid or CHIP in Texas? 
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To apply for Medicaid or CHIP or to find out about your status, call 211 and choose Option 2 or visit 
YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Feds approve Medicaid for Texas mothers up to 12 months after birth 
beginning March 1 
Nicole Villalpando 
Lubbock Avalanche-Journal 
January 22, 2024 

Texas mothers are one step closer to getting health coverage for 12 months following pregnancy. 

This week, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approved Texas' plan to provide 12 
months of postpartum health care coverage through Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program 
instead of the current 60 days. Those programs are for people who qualify based on income. The 
extended coverage will begin March 1. 

"With Texas’ application approved by CMS, this postpartum extension will help Texas mothers receive 
high-quality healthcare across our great state," Gov. Greg Abbott said in a statement Wednesday. 

In October, Texas' Health & Human Services Commission submitted its plan for 12 months of 
continuous postpartum coverage after the state Legislature passed House Bill 12 during the 2023 
regular session in May. The bill had 73 sponsors and was bipartisan. 

In June, Abbott signed House Bill 12 into law, paving the way for the state to seek approval from 
CMS. 

The state expects approximately 137,000 women will benefit from 12-months postpartum coverage in 
fiscal 2025. 

“This is a fantastic step forward to support healthy moms and babies," said Diana Forester, director of 
health policy at advocacy group Texans Care for Children. “Disagreements between elected officials 
get a lot of attention, but this is an example of how our state legislators really can come together to 
improve access to health care for Texas families." 

Many starts and stops 

This is not the first time Texas tried to extend coverage for postpartum people. Two years ago, the 
state had submitted a plan to extend coverage to six months, but that was not approved by CMS in 
the hopes that Texas lawmakers would seek a 12-month extension during the 2023 legislative 
session. Twelve months has become standard among almost all the states. As of this month, 47 
states and Washington, D.C., either have 12 months or plan to have 12 months of coverage. Only 
Idaho, Iowa, Arkansas and Wisconsin do not. 

The news that the extended coverage was going to be put in place was celebrated on Wednesday. 
"I'm almost amazed that it is actually happening," said Regina Rogoff, CEO of People's Community 

https://www.lubbockonline.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
https://www.lubbockonline.com/story/news/healthcare/2024/01/22/medicaid-texas-approved-12-months-postpartum-care-pregnant-moms/72261199007/
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Clinic, a federally qualified health center, which provides care for many people with lower income 
levels. 

"It's a recognition that the postpartum period is longer than we've recognized in the past," Rogoff 
said. 

Why is this important? 

Pregnancy is a major life change, Rogoff said. Complications such as increases in blood pressure, 
heart conditions and postpartum depression can be life-threatening and can occur after the initial 60 
days that was previously covered by Medicaid in Texas. 

"The months following pregnancy are critical for monitoring women for potentially dangerous health 
conditions that they are more susceptible to after giving birth," said Dr. Kathleen V. Butler, chief 
medical officer and chief quality office for Lone Star Circle of Care, a federally qualified health center 

Maternal deaths after pregnancy have been rising across the United States, Based on 2018-2021 
numbers, health care advocacy group KFF found that Texas ranked 14 for the highest number of 
maternal deaths per 1,000 live births. 

"We expect that the extension of Medicaid will help improve the health of women in the postpartum 
period," Butler said. " In doing so, Texas may improve its maternal mortality rate." 

While People's Community Clinic and Lone Star Circle of Care help anyone with or without insurance, 
this is especially good if a mother has complications and needs to be hospitalized or seek specialized 
care. 

This coverage extension "is good for moms and babies. That's a win-win," Rogoff said. 

How will the new coverage work? 

This new law will affect future postpartum people as well as current new mothers. Anyone who has 
given birth but whose Medicaid coverage ended can reenroll if they are still within the 12-month 
period. 

The state says coverage will be automatically reinstated for individuals who are not current Medicaid 
or CHIP recipients, but who were enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP in Texas while pregnant and are still 
within their 12-month postpartum period, as long as they are still Texas residents. Their coverage will 
be reinstated for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 

Women who are enrolled in Healthy Texas Women program, another state health care program, and 
are still within their 12-month postpartum period will be transitioned back to full-coverage Medicaid or 
CHIP for the remainder of their 12-month postpartum period. 

Texas has recently experience problems maintaining and even reenrolling people in Medicaid and 
CHIP during the post-pandemic Medicaid unwinding process that began last year. 
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Texans Care for Children's Forester said, "Now that the plan has been approved, we encourage state 
officials to move quickly to ensure that Texas moms who were recently pregnant and lost Medicaid 
coverage are able to re-enroll as soon as possible.” 

Clinics like People's also will be working on helping new moms who lost coverage get reenrolled in 
Medicaid. 

How to apply for Medicaid or CHIP in Texas? 

To apply for Medicaid or CHIP or to find out about your status, call 211 and choose Option 2 or visit 
YourTexasBenefits.com. 

Governor Abbott Declares January Human Trafficking Month 

Texas declares January Human Trafficking Prevention Month 
Kelsey Thompson 
KXAN-TV 
January 3, 2024 
 
Gov. Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission announced Wednesday that 
January would be recognized as Human Trafficking Prevention Month within the state. 
 
Several state-run programs and initiatives are available as a means to educate and support human 
trafficking prevention efforts, including: 
 
HHSC’s Human Trafficking Resource Center: Helps assist with and fund efforts centered on ending 
human trafficking statewide. Those who’ve experienced human trafficking can utilize the center to 
access necessary resources, while the center also offers human trafficking prevention training 
opportunities for health care providers. 
“Stop Human Trafficking” specialty license plate: The license plate series was launched in 2023 as a 
means of raising awareness surrounding human trafficking and to remind residents to support 
suspicious activity to the Texas Department of Public Safety via the iWatchTexas community reporting 
system. Sales from the license plates benefit the Stop Human Trafficking donation account, a funding 
source to help cover housing assessment, treatment services, shelter and support for youth survivors 
Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force: HHSC aids in the task force, which is made up of 
more than 50 organizations that work to help identify trafficking victims and assist in traffickers being 
investigated and prosecuted. 
 
“Each year, Texas dedicates the month of January to raise awareness about human trafficking and 
honor the hard work of so many people and organizations striving to end this scourge,” Abbott said in 
a release Wednesday. “As Governor, Texas has bolstered resources for survivors of human trafficking 
and we have increased penalties for offenders to ensure they are punished to the fullest extent of the 

https://www.kxan.com/news/texas/texas-declares-january-human-trafficking-prevention-month/#:%7E:text=AUSTIN%20(KXAN)%20%E2%80%94%20Gov.,Prevention%20Month%20within%20the%20state.
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law. While we have made great progress in our fight against human trafficking, we must still come 
together to educate and help prevent others from falling victim to this horrific crime. This month, and 
every month, I encourage all Texans to educate themselves about the dangers and signs of human 
trafficking and how to support survivors.” 
 
Those who think they might have witnessed a trafficking incident can contact the National Human 
Trafficking Hotline by calling 1 (888) 373-7888 or via text at 233733. An online chat option is also 
available. 

Abbott recognizes January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention Month 
Odessa American 
January 3, 2024 
 
Governor Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) on Wednesday 
encouraged Texans to educate themselves and their loved ones about the dangers of human 
trafficking and how to combat this heinous crime plaguing Texas and the nation. The Governor 
proclaimed January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention Month in Texas. 
 
“Each year, Texas dedicates the month of January to raise awareness about human trafficking and 
honor the hard work of so many people and organizations striving to end this scourge,” said Governor 
Abbott in a news release. “As Governor, Texas has bolstered resources for survivors of human 
trafficking and we have increased penalties for offenders to ensure they are punished to the fullest 
extent of the law. While we have made great progress in our fight against human trafficking, we must 
still come together to educate and help prevent others from falling victim to this horrific crime. This 
month, and every month, I encourage all Texans to educate themselves about the dangers and signs 
of human trafficking and how to support survivors.” 
 
“Preventing and properly addressing human trafficking is a challenging task, and it takes all of us to 
address it,” said HHSC Family and Youth Services and Supports Associate Commissioner Crystal 
Starkey, in the release. 
 
Texans can familiarize themselves with the following services and programs dedicated to fighting 
human trafficking: 
 
Human Trafficking Resource Center 
 
HHSC’s Human Trafficking Resource Center (HTRC) promotes, assists, and funds efforts that stop 
human trafficking in Texas. The HTRC connects those who have experienced human trafficking to 
needed resources and reviews and approves human trafficking prevention training for healthcare 
providers. 
 

https://www.oaoa.com/local-news/abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
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The HTRC also offers training for providers and others who may play a role in helping survivors of 
human trafficking. Among those is HEART, or “Hearing, Evaluating, Activating, Resourcing and 
Training.” This free, trauma-informed course is for licensed healthcare practitioners or others who 
want to learn ways to prevent or identify human trafficking in healthcare and social services settings, 
including front desk staff and others who interact closely with patients. 
 
Learn more about HEART and other approved human trafficking trainings here. 
 
“Stop Human Trafficking” Specialty License Plate 
 
Texans can help fight human trafficking by purchasing a “Stop Human Trafficking” specialty license 
plate. Launched in 2023, these license plates raise awareness about human trafficking, support 
survivors, and remind Texans to report suspicious activity to the Texas Department of Public Safety 
through the iWatchTexas community reporting system. 
 
Proceeds from sales of the plates benefit the Stop Human Trafficking donation account, which pays for 
a housing assessment, treatment services, shelter, and support for youth survivors of human 
trafficking. 
 
Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force 
 
HHSC also participates in the Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force, a collaborative of more 
than 50 organizations that educates the public, identifies victims of human trafficking, and ensures 
traffickers are investigated and prosecuted. The task force also develops legislative recommendations 
to enhance the state’s efforts in combating human trafficking. 
 
Anyone who believes they have witnessed human trafficking should contact the National Human 
Trafficking Hotline at 1-888-373-7888 (TTY: 711). You can also text “233733” to the hotline or go to 
the Hotline Web Chat. 
 
Learn more about HHSC’s efforts to combat human trafficking here. 

Governor Abbott Recognizes January 2024 As Human Trafficking Prevention 
Month 
Brownwood News 
January 4, 2024 
 
Governor Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) today 
encouraged Texans to educate themselves and their loved ones about the dangers of human 

https://www.brownwoodnews.com/2024/01/04/governor-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
https://www.brownwoodnews.com/2024/01/04/governor-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
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trafficking and how to combat this heinous crime plaguing Texas and the nation. The Governor 
proclaimed January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention Month in Texas. 
 
“Each year, Texas dedicates the month of January to raise awareness about human trafficking and 
honor the hard work of so many people and organizations striving to end this scourge,” said Governor 
Abbott. “As Governor, Texas has bolstered resources for survivors of human trafficking and we have 
increased penalties for offenders to ensure they are punished to the fullest extent of the law. While 
we have made great progress in our fight against human trafficking, we must still come together to 
educate and help prevent others from falling victim to this horrific crime. This month, and every 
month, I encourage all Texans to educate themselves about the dangers and signs of human 
trafficking and how to support survivors.” 
 
“Preventing and properly addressing human trafficking is a challenging task, and it takes all of us to 
address it,” said HHSC Family and Youth Services and Supports Associate Commissioner Crystal 
Starkey. 
 
Texans can familiarize themselves with the following services and programs dedicated to fighting 
human trafficking: 
 
Human Trafficking Resource Center 
 
HHSC’s Human Trafficking Resource Center (HTRC) promotes, assists, and funds efforts that stop 
human trafficking in Texas. The HTRC connects those who have experienced human trafficking to 
needed resources and reviews and approves human trafficking prevention training for healthcare 
providers. 
 
The HTRC also offers training for providers and others who may play a role in helping survivors of 
human trafficking. Among those is HEART, or “Hearing, Evaluating, Activating, Resourcing and 
Training.” This free, trauma-informed course is for licensed healthcare practitioners or others who 
want to learn ways to prevent or identify human trafficking in healthcare and social services settings, 
including front desk staff and others who interact closely with patients. 
 
“Stop Human Trafficking” Specialty License Plate 
 
Texans can help fight human trafficking by purchasing a “Stop Human Trafficking” specialty license 
plate. Launched in 2023, these license plates raise awareness about human trafficking, support 
survivors, and remind Texans to report suspicious activity to the Texas Department of Public Safety 
through the iWatchTexas community reporting system. 
 



  

 
 
 
 

   49 

Proceeds from sales of the plates benefit the Stop Human Trafficking donation account, which pays for 
a housing assessment, treatment services, shelter, and support for youth survivors of human 
trafficking. 
 
HHSC also participates in the Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force, a collaborative of more 
than 50 organizations that educates the public, identifies victims of human trafficking, and ensures 
traffickers are investigated and prosecuted. The task force also develops legislative recommendations 
to enhance the state’s efforts in combating human trafficking. 
 
Anyone who believes they have witnessed human trafficking should contact the National Human 
Trafficking Hotline at 1-888-373-7888 (TTY: 711). You can also text “233733” to the hotline or go to 
the Hotline Web Chat. 
 
Learn more about HHSC’s efforts to combat human trafficking here. 
 

Governor Abbott recognizes January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention 
month 
MyParisTexas.com 
January 4, 2024 
 
Governor Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) today 
encouraged Texans to educate themselves and their loved ones about the dangers of human 
trafficking and how to combat this heinous crime plaguing Texas and the nation. 
 
The Governor proclaimed January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention Month in Texas. 
 
“Each year, Texas dedicates the month of January to raise awareness about human trafficking and 
honor the hard work of so many people and organizations striving to end this scourge,” said Governor 
Abbott. “As Governor, Texas has bolstered resources for survivors of human trafficking and we have 
increased penalties for offenders to ensure they are punished to the fullest extent of the law. While 
we have made great progress in our fight against human trafficking, we must still come together to 
educate and help prevent others from falling victim to this horrific crime. This month, and every 
month, I encourage all Texans to educate themselves about the dangers and signs of human 
trafficking and how to support survivors.” 
 
“Preventing and properly addressing human trafficking is a challenging task, and it takes all of us to 
address it,” said HHSC Family and Youth Services and Supports Associate Commissioner Crystal 
Starkey. 
 

https://myparistexas.com/governor-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
https://myparistexas.com/governor-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
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Texans can familiarize themselves with the following services and programs dedicated to fighting 
human trafficking: 
 
HHSC’s Human Trafficking Resource Center (HTRC) promotes, assists, and funds efforts that stop 
human trafficking in Texas. The HTRC connects those who have experienced human trafficking to 
needed resources and reviews and approves human trafficking prevention training for healthcare 
providers. 
 
The HTRC also offers training for providers and others who may play a role in helping survivors of 
human trafficking. Among those is HEART, or “Hearing, Evaluating, Activating, Resourcing and 
Training.” This free, trauma-informed course is for licensed healthcare practitioners or others who 
want to learn ways to prevent or identify human trafficking in healthcare and social services settings, 
including front desk staff and others who interact closely with patients. 
 
Learn more about HEART and other approved human trafficking trainings here. 
 
Texans can help fight human trafficking by purchasing a “Stop Human Trafficking” specialty license 
plate. Launched in 2023, these license plates raise awareness about human trafficking, support 
survivors, and remind Texans to report suspicious activity to the Texas Department of Public Safety 
through the iWatchTexas community reporting system. 
 
Proceeds from sales of the plates benefit the Stop Human Trafficking donation account, which pays for 
a housing assessment, treatment services, shelter, and support for youth survivors of human 
trafficking. 
 
HHSC also participates in the Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force, a collaborative of more 
than 50 organizations that educates the public, identifies victims of human trafficking, and ensures 
traffickers are investigated and prosecuted. The task force also develops legislative recommendations 
to enhance the state’s efforts in combating human trafficking. 
 
Anyone who believes they have witnessed human trafficking should contact the National Human 
Trafficking Hotline at 1-888-373-7888 (TTY: 711). You can also text “233733” to the hotline or go to 
the Hotline Web Chat. 
 
Learn more about HHSC’s efforts to combat human trafficking here. 
 

January is Human Trafficking Prevention Month in Texas 
Yantis Green 
San Angelo Live 
January 4, 2024 

https://sanangelolive.com/news/crime/2024-01-04/january-human-trafficking-prevention-month-texas
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Governor Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) urged Texans 
Wednesday to acquaint themselves and their families with the perils of human trafficking and 
methods to combat this abhorrent crime that afflicts Texas and the nation. Governor Abbott 
proclaimed January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention Month in Texas. 
 
"Annually, Texas designates January to heighten awareness regarding human trafficking and 
acknowledge the dedicated efforts of numerous individuals and organizations striving to eradicate this 
blight," stated Governor Abbott. "In my capacity as Governor, Texas has augmented resources for 
survivors of human trafficking and heightened penalties for perpetrators to ensure maximum legal 
repercussions. Despite commendable strides in our battle against human trafficking, concerted efforts 
are imperative to educate and prevent others from succumbing to this abominable crime. This month, 
and every month, I encourage all Texans to familiarize themselves with the dangers and indicators of 
human trafficking and extend support to survivors." 
 
Crystal Starkey, HHSC Family and Youth Services and Supports Associate Commissioner, remarked, 
"Preventing and effectively addressing human trafficking is a formidable task that necessitates 
collective action." 
 
Texans can acquaint themselves with the following services and initiatives dedicated to combating 
human trafficking: 
 
HHSC's Human Trafficking Resource Center (HTRC) champions, aids, and funds endeavors aimed at 
curbing human trafficking in Texas. The HTRC connects trafficking survivors with essential resources, 
sanctions and endorses human trafficking prevention training for healthcare providers. 
 
The HTRC additionally provides training for healthcare professionals and other relevant individuals on 
recognizing and preventing human trafficking in healthcare and social services settings, encompassing 
front desk staff and those closely interacting with patients. One such program is HEART, or “Hearing, 
Evaluating, Activating, Resourcing and Training,” a free, trauma-informed course tailored for licensed 
healthcare practitioners and others seeking insights into preventing or identifying human trafficking. 
 
More information on HEART and other approved human trafficking trainings can be found here. 
 
Texans can contribute to the fight against human trafficking by acquiring a “Stop Human Trafficking” 
specialty license plate. Introduced in 2023, these plates raise awareness, provide aid to survivors, 
and prompt Texans to report suspicious activities to the Texas Department of Public Safety via the 
iWatchTexas community reporting system. 
 
Proceeds from the plate sales bolster the Stop Human Trafficking donation account, financing housing 
assessments, treatment services, shelter, and support for young trafficking survivors. 
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HHSC actively engages in the Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force, a coalition comprising 
over 50 organizations dedicated to public education, victim identification, and ensuring the 
investigation and prosecution of traffickers. The task force also formulates legislative proposals to 
enhance the state's anti-trafficking efforts. 
 
Individuals suspecting instances of human trafficking are encouraged to contact the National Human 
Trafficking Hotline at 1-888-373-7888 (TTY: 711), text “233733” to the hotline, or engage in the 
Hotline Web Chat. 
 
Additional insights into HHSC's initiatives against human trafficking can be found here. 
 

Human Trafficking Prevention Month; last year approximately 80 survivors 
were helped in Abilene 
Karina Hollingsworth 
KXTX-TV Abilene 
January 4, 2024 
 
January is Human Trafficking Prevention Month, and a common misconception about human 
trafficking is that it does not happen in the United States. According to a study by World Population 
Review the United States is ranked as one of the worst countries globally for human trafficking with 
199,000 incidents occurring each year. 
 
Another misconception is that human trafficking only happens in big cities. According to Stephanie 
Rocha the executive director of Beyond Trafficking it’s happening right in our backyard. 
 
“Last year we helped approximately 80 victims,” Rocha said. We are actually assisting one today that 
is being lured into trafficking. This week alone I’ve had three new people.” 
 
Rocha says most people are not kidnapped by strangers. Many times, victims are preyed on by 
someone they know. 
 
“A lot of times people think trafficking looks like the movie Taken,” Rocha said. “Here in Abilene that’s 
not exactly what we see. More than likely it’s a family member.” 
 
Sgt. Marc Couch says local law enforcement is always on the lookout for human trafficking victims. 
 

https://ktxs.com/news/local/human-trafficking-prevention-month-last-year-approximately-80-survivors-were-helped-in-abilene
https://ktxs.com/news/local/human-trafficking-prevention-month-last-year-approximately-80-survivors-were-helped-in-abilene
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“We’re looking for things like a child in a traffic stop that doesn’t make eye contact with you, and 
that’s trying to hide.” Sgt. Couch said. “Most times children are really excited to see officers and they 
are curious.” 
 
Mary McDowell was only sixteen years old when she met her trafficker in an AOL chatroom. McDowell 
said her trafficker promised her happiness and marriage. But in March of 2005 things took a turn for 
the worse. 
 
“We left Texas, and I don’t know exactly what drug he used but he made me go to sleep,” McDowell 
recalled. “When I got to Louisiana, I stopped in a town called Alexandria. We ended up at this motel 
and I was there for 5 days. I don’t know how many men were coming and going. I was raped multiple 
times. I was tied down to a bed. I had no control over my body.” 
 
After 5 long days McDowell heard a knock on the door. 
 
“I was found by the police and immediately taken to the police station,” McDowell said. “Instead of 
getting medical help I was taken to juvenile detention.” 
 
If you or anyone you know are human trafficking victims, please contact Beyond Trafficking at 325-
864-5418. 
 

Gov. Abbott Recognizes January 2024 As Human Trafficking Prevention 
Month 
Athens Daily Review 
January 9, 2024 
 
Gov. Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) encourage Texans 
to educate themselves and their loved ones about the dangers of human trafficking and how to 
combat this heinous crime plaguing Texas and the nation. The Governor proclaimed January 2024 as 
Human Trafficking Prevention Month in Texas. 
 
"Each year, Texas dedicates the month of January to raise awareness about human trafficking and 
honor the hard work of so many people and organizations striving to end this scourge," said Gov. 
Abbott. "As Governor, Texas has bolstered resources for survivors of human trafficking and we have 
increased penalties for offenders to ensure they are punished to the fullest extent of the law.” 
 
“While we have made great progress in our fight against human trafficking, we must still come 
together to educate and help prevent others from falling victim to this horrific crime. This month, and 

https://www.athensreview.com/news/gov-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/article_bd8fda42-af5a-11ee-8bbb-531aed1eb60b.html
https://www.athensreview.com/news/gov-abbott-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/article_bd8fda42-af5a-11ee-8bbb-531aed1eb60b.html
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every month, I encourage all Texans to educate themselves about the dangers and signs of human 
trafficking and how to support survivors." 
 
“Preventing and properly addressing human trafficking is a challenging task, and it takes all of us to 
address it,” said HHSC Family and Youth Services and Supports Associate Commissioner Crystal 
Starkey. 
 
HHSC's Human Trafficking Resource Center (HTRC) promotes, assists, and funds efforts that stop 
human trafficking in Texas. The HTRC connects those who have experienced human trafficking to 
needed resources and reviews and approves human trafficking prevention training for healthcare 
providers. 
 
The HTRC also offers training for providers and others who may play a role in helping survivors of 
human trafficking. Among those is HEART, or “Hearing, Evaluating, Activating, Resourcing and 
Training.” This free, trauma-informed course is for licensed healthcare practitioners or others who 
want to learn ways to prevent or identify human trafficking in healthcare and social services settings, 
including front desk staff and others who interact closely with patients. 
 
Texans can help fight human trafficking by purchasing a “Stop Human Trafficking” specialty license 
plate. Launched in 2023, these license plates raise awareness about human trafficking, support 
survivors, and remind Texans to report suspicious activity to the Texas Department of Public Safety 
through the iWatchTexas community reporting system. 
 
Proceeds from sales of the plates benefit the Stop Human Trafficking donation account, which pays for 
a housing assessment, treatment services, shelter, and support for youth survivors of human 
trafficking. 
 
HHSC also participates in the Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force, a collaborative of more 
than 50 organizations that educates the public, identifies victims of human trafficking, and ensures 
traffickers are investigated and prosecuted. The task force also develops legislative recommendations 
to enhance the state’s efforts in combating human trafficking. 
 
Anyone who believes they have witnessed human trafficking should contact the National Human 
Trafficking Hotline at 1-888-373-7888 (TTY: 711). You can also text “233733” to the hotline or go to 
the Hotline Web Chat. 
 

Gov. Recognizes January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention Month 
Texas Border Business 
January 4, 2024 
 

https://texasborderbusiness.com/gov-recognizes-january-2024-as-human-trafficking-prevention-month/
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Governor Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) today 
encouraged Texans to educate themselves and their loved ones about the dangers of human 
trafficking and how to combat this heinous crime plaguing Texas and the nation. The Governor 
proclaimed January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention Month in Texas. 
 
“Each year, Texas dedicates the month of January to raise awareness about human trafficking and 
honor the hard work of so many people and organizations striving to end this scourge,” said Governor 
Abbott. “As Governor, Texas has bolstered resources for survivors of human trafficking and we have 
increased penalties for offenders to ensure they are punished to the fullest extent of the law. While 
we have made great progress in our fight against human trafficking, we must still come together to 
educate and help prevent others from falling victim to this horrific crime. This month, and every 
month, I encourage all Texans to educate themselves about the dangers and signs of human 
trafficking and how to support survivors.” 
 
“Preventing and properly addressing human trafficking is a challenging task, and it takes all of us to 
address it,” said HHSC Family and Youth Services and Supports Associate Commissioner Crystal 
Starkey. 
 
Texans can familiarize themselves with the following services and programs dedicated to fighting 
human trafficking: 
 
Human Trafficking Resource Center 
 
HHSC’s Human Trafficking Resource Center (HTRC) promotes, assists, and funds efforts that stop 
human trafficking in Texas. The HTRC connects those who have experienced human trafficking to 
needed resources and reviews and approves human trafficking prevention training for healthcare 
providers. 
 
The HTRC also offers training for providers and others who may play a role in helping survivors of 
human trafficking. Among those is HEART, or “Hearing, Evaluating, Activating, Resourcing and 
Training.” This free, trauma-informed course is for licensed healthcare practitioners or others who 
want to learn ways to prevent or identify human trafficking in healthcare and social services settings, 
including front desk staff and others who interact closely with patients. 
 
Learn more about HEART and other approved human trafficking trainings here. 
 
“Stop Human Trafficking” Specialty License Plate 
 
Texans can help fight human trafficking by purchasing a “Stop Human Trafficking” specialty license 
plate. Launched in 2023, these license plates raise awareness about human trafficking, support 
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survivors, and remind Texans to report suspicious activity to the Texas Department of Public Safety 
through the iWatchTexas community reporting system. 
 
Proceeds from sales of the plates benefit the Stop Human Trafficking donation account, which pays for 
a housing assessment, treatment services, shelter, and support for youth survivors of human 
trafficking. 
 
Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force 
 
HHSC also participates in the Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force, a collaborative of more 
than 50 organizations that educates the public, identifies victims of human trafficking, and ensures 
traffickers are investigated and prosecuted. The task force also develops legislative recommendations 
to enhance the state’s efforts in combating human trafficking. 
 
Anyone who believes they have witnessed human trafficking should contact the National Human 
Trafficking Hotline at 1-888-373-7888 (TTY: 711). You can also text “233733” to the hotline or go to 
the Hotline Web Chat. 
 
 
Gov. Abbott Recognizes January 2024 As Human Trafficking Prevention 
Month 
CNHI News 
January 9, 2024 
 
Gov. Greg Abbott and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) encourage Texans 
to educate themselves and their loved ones about the dangers of human trafficking and how to 
combat this heinous crime plaguing Texas and the nation. The Governor proclaimed January 2024 as 
Human Trafficking Prevention Month in Texas. 
 
"Each year, Texas dedicates the month of January to raise awareness about human trafficking and 
honor the hard work of so many people and organizations striving to end this scourge," said Gov. 
Abbott. "As Governor, Texas has bolstered resources for survivors of human trafficking and we have 
increased penalties for offenders to ensure they are punished to the fullest extent of the law.” 
 
“While we have made great progress in our fight against human trafficking, we must still come 
together to educate and help prevent others from falling victim to this horrific crime. This month, and 
every month, I encourage all Texans to educate themselves about the dangers and signs of human 
trafficking and how to support survivors." 
 

https://www.cnhinews.com/texas/news/article_303424c3-b3c4-5891-96ee-263be0a9430a.html
https://www.cnhinews.com/texas/news/article_303424c3-b3c4-5891-96ee-263be0a9430a.html
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“Preventing and properly addressing human trafficking is a challenging task, and it takes all of us to 
address it,” said HHSC Family and Youth Services and Supports Associate Commissioner Crystal 
Starkey. 
 
HHSC's Human Trafficking Resource Center (HTRC) promotes, assists, and funds efforts that stop 
human trafficking in Texas. The HTRC connects those who have experienced human trafficking to 
needed resources and reviews and approves human trafficking prevention training for healthcare 
providers. 
 
The HTRC also offers training for providers and others who may play a role in helping survivors of 
human trafficking. Among those is HEART, or “Hearing, Evaluating, Activating, Resourcing and 
Training.” This free, trauma-informed course is for licensed healthcare practitioners or others who 
want to learn ways to prevent or identify human trafficking in healthcare and social services settings, 
including front desk staff and others who interact closely with patients. 
 
Texans can help fight human trafficking by purchasing a “Stop Human Trafficking” specialty license 
plate. Launched in 2023, these license plates raise awareness about human trafficking, support 
survivors, and remind Texans to report suspicious activity to the Texas Department of Public Safety 
through the iWatchTexas community reporting system. 
 
Proceeds from sales of the plates benefit the Stop Human Trafficking donation account, which pays for 
a housing assessment, treatment services, shelter, and support for youth survivors of human 
trafficking. 
 
HHSC also participates in the Texas Human Trafficking Prevention Task Force, a collaborative of more 
than 50 organizations that educates the public, identifies victims of human trafficking, and ensures 
traffickers are investigated and prosecuted. The task force also develops legislative recommendations 
to enhance the state’s efforts in combating human trafficking. 
 
Anyone who believes they have witnessed human trafficking should contact the National Human 
Trafficking Hotline at 1-888-373-7888 (TTY: 711). You can also text “233733” to the hotline or go to 
the Hotline Web Chat. 
 

HHSC Encourages Cervical Cancer Screenings 

Encouraging Cancer Screenings During Cervical Health Awareness Month 
Mega Doctor News (MDN) 
January 8, 2024 
 

https://megadoctornews.com/encouraging-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/
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As part of National Cervical Health Awareness Month this January, the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission is encouraging women to get screened for cervical cancer. 
 
“Routine cervical cancer screening is the most effective way to detect cervical cancer early,” said Faith 
Sandberg-Rodriguez, associate commissioner of Family Clinical Services at HHSC. “However, many 
potentially eligible Texas women may not know about services in their area or experience other 
barriers to accessing care. HHSC helps low-income women access timely cervical cancer screening 
and diagnostic services.” 
 
Cervical cancer is the third-leading cancer diagnosis for women ages 20-39 and fifth-leading for 
women ages 40-49. According to the Texas Cancer Registry, an estimated 1,489 Texas women were 
diagnosed with cervical cancer. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommend 
cervical cancer screenings for women ages 21–65. 
 
The HHSC Breast and Cervical Cancer Services (BCCS) program provides low-cost and free women’s 
health services for uninsured and underinsured Texas women who meet eligibility requirements. 
Services include cervical and breast cancer screenings, clinical breast examinations, mammograms 
and breast biopsies. 
 
BCCS helps fund clinics across the state that provide these lifesaving screening and diagnostic 
services. In fiscal year 2022, BCCS served 30,422 women, including 5,717 women who received 
cervical cancer screenings. 
 
The BCCS program is partly funded through the CDC. The National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early 
Detection Program awards funding to states for early detection of cervical and breast cancers. For 
fiscal year 2024, the federal program awarded BCCS more than $8.3 million. The Texas Legislature 
appropriated an additional $3.4 million in state funding. 
 
To find BCCS providers or learn more about women’s health services, visit the Healthy Texas Women 
website or call 2-1-1. For more information on how breast and cervical cancer services are provided 
to Texas women, view “Breast and Cervical Cancer Services: 2023 Statewide Look.” 
 
About National Cervical Health Awareness Month 
 
National Cervical Health Awareness Month is observed in January in the U.S. Efforts throughout the 
month raise awareness about cervical cancer and provide education about prevention, screening and 
treatments. More information about cervical cancer is posted on the CDC website. 

Texas Health Commission Urges Women To Prioritize Cervical Cancer 
Screenings During National Awareness Month 
Irving Weekly 

https://www.irvingweekly.com/s/6875/Texas-Health-Commission-Urges-Women-to-Prioritize-Cervical-Cancer-Screenings-During-National-Awareness-Month.php#:%7E:text=Health%20News-,Texas%20Health%20Commission%20Urges%20Women%20to%20Prioritize,Screenings%20During%20National%20Awareness%20Month&text=In%20observance%20of%20National%20Cervical,to%20undergo%20cervical%20cancer%20screenings.
https://www.irvingweekly.com/s/6875/Texas-Health-Commission-Urges-Women-to-Prioritize-Cervical-Cancer-Screenings-During-National-Awareness-Month.php#:%7E:text=Health%20News-,Texas%20Health%20Commission%20Urges%20Women%20to%20Prioritize,Screenings%20During%20National%20Awareness%20Month&text=In%20observance%20of%20National%20Cervical,to%20undergo%20cervical%20cancer%20screenings.
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January 8, 2024 

In observance of National Cervical Health Awareness Month this January, the Texas Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC) is urging women to undergo cervical cancer screenings. 

Faith Sandberg-Rodriguez, associate commissioner of Family Clinical Services at HHSC, emphasized 
the importance of routine screenings, stating, “Routine cervical cancer screening is the most effective 
way to detect cervical cancer early.” Sandberg-Rodriguez highlighted that some eligible Texas women 
might be unaware of available services or face barriers to accessing care, and HHSC aims to assist 
low-income women in obtaining timely cervical cancer screening and diagnostic services. 

Cervical cancer ranks as the third-leading cancer diagnosis for women aged 20-39 and the fifth-
leading for those aged 40-49. According to the Texas Cancer Registry, approximately 1,489 Texas 
women were diagnosed with cervical cancer. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 
recommends cervical cancer screenings for women aged 21–65. 

The HHSC Breast and Cervical Cancer Services (BCCS) program offers low-cost and free women’s 
health services for uninsured and underinsured Texas women who meet eligibility requirements. 
Services include cervical and breast cancer screenings, clinical breast examinations, mammograms, 
and breast biopsies. 

BCCS supports clinics statewide that provide these crucial screening and diagnostic services. In the 
fiscal year 2022, BCCS served 30,422 women, including 5,717 who received cervical cancer 
screenings. 

Partly funded through the CDC, the BCCS program receives support from the National Breast and 
Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program, which allocated over $8.3 million for fiscal year 2024. The 
Texas Legislature also contributed an additional $3.4 million in state funding. 

To locate BCCS providers or gather more information on women’s health services, individuals can visit 
the Healthy Texas Women website or call 2-1-1. Further details on how breast and cervical cancer 
services are provided to Texas women can be found in the "Breast and Cervical Cancer Services: 
2023 Statewide Look" document. 

HHSC encourages cancer screenings during Cervical Health Awareness 
Month 
Victoria Reyes 
KAMR-TV 
January 8, 2024 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission is encouraging women during the month of 
January to get screened for cervical cancer as part of National Cervical Health Awareness Month. 

https://www.myhighplains.com/life-health/health/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/
https://www.myhighplains.com/life-health/health/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/
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According to the HHSC, the HHSC Breast and Cervical Cancer Services program provides low-cost and 
free women’s health services for uninsured and underinsured Texas women who meet eligibility 
requirements. Services include cervical and breast cancer screenings, clinical breast examinations, 
mammograms, and breast biopsies. 

The HHSC said cervical cancer is the third-leading cancer diagnosis for women ages 20-39 and fifth-
leading for women ages 40-49. 

“According to the Texas Cancer Registry, an estimated 1,489 Texas women were diagnosed with 
cervical cancer. The Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends cervical cancer 
screenings for women ages 21-65,” said the HHSC. 

The HHSC also said that the BCCS program helps fund clinics across the state that provide these 
lifesaving screening and diagnostic services. In fiscal year 2022, BCCS served 30,422 women, 
including 5,717 women who received cervical cancer screenings. 

“Routine cervical cancer screening is the most effective way to detect cervical cancer early,” said Faith 
Sandberg-Rodriguez, associate commissioner of Family Clinical Services at HHSC. “However, many 
potentially eligible Texas women may not know about services in their area or experience other 
barriers to accessing care. HHSC helps low-income women access timely cervical cancer screening 
and diagnostic services.” 

HHSC encourages cancer screenings during Cervical Health Awareness 
Month 
Jacksonville Progress 
January 16, 2024 
 
As part of National Cervical Health Awareness Month this January, the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission is encouraging women to get screened for cervical cancer. 
 
“Routine cervical cancer screening is the most effective way to detect cervical cancer early,” said Faith 
Sandberg-Rodriguez, associate commissioner of Family Clinical Services at HHSC. “However, many 
potentially eligible Texas women may not know about services in their area or experience other 
barriers to accessing care. HHSC helps low-income women access timely cervical cancer screening 
and diagnostic services.” 
 
Cervical cancer is the third-leading cancer diagnosis for women ages 20-39 and fifth-leading for 
women ages 40-49. According to the Texas Cancer Registry, an estimated 1,489 Texas women were 
diagnosed with cervical cancer in 2023. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommend 
cervical cancer screenings for women ages 21–65. 
 

https://www.jacksonvilleprogress.com/news/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/article_c431e510-b343-11ee-9ff4-83ddedc1a3be.html
https://www.jacksonvilleprogress.com/news/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/article_c431e510-b343-11ee-9ff4-83ddedc1a3be.html
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The HHSC Breast and Cervical Cancer Services program provides low-cost and free women’s health 
services for uninsured and underinsured Texas women who meet eligibility requirements. Services 
include cervical and breast cancer screenings, clinical breast examinations, mammograms and breast 
biopsies. 
 
BCCS helps fund clinics across the state that provide these lifesaving screening and diagnostic 
services. In fiscal year 2022, BCCS served 30,422 women, including 5,717 women who received 
cervical cancer screenings. 
 
The BCCS program is partly funded through the CDC. The National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early 
Detection Program awards funding to states for early detection of cervical and breast cancers. For 
fiscal year 2024, the federal program awarded BCCS more than $8.3 million. The Texas Legislature 
appropriated an additional $3.4 million in state funding. 
 
To find BCCS providers or learn more about women’s health services, visit the Healthy Texas Women 
website or call 2-1-1. For more information on how breast and cervical cancer services are provided 
to Texas women, view “Breast and Cervical Cancer Services: 2023 Statewide Look.” 
 

HHSC encourages cancer screenings during Cervical Health Awareness 
Month 
Cleburne Times-Review 
January 16, 2024 
 
As part of National Cervical Health Awareness Month this January, the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission is encouraging women to get screened for cervical cancer. 
 
“Routine cervical cancer screening is the most effective way to detect cervical cancer early,” said Faith 
Sandberg-Rodriguez, associate commissioner of Family Clinical Services at HHSC. “However, many 
potentially eligible Texas women may not know about services in their area or experience other 
barriers to accessing care. HHSC helps low-income women access timely cervical cancer screening 
and diagnostic services.” 
 
Cervical cancer is the third-leading cancer diagnosis for women ages 20-39 and fifth-leading for 
women ages 40-49. According to the Texas Cancer Registry, an estimated 1,489 Texas women were 
diagnosed with cervical cancer in 2023. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommend 
cervical cancer screenings for women ages 21–65. 
 
The HHSC Breast and Cervical Cancer Services program provides low-cost and free women’s health 
services for uninsured and underinsured Texas women who meet eligibility requirements. Services 

https://www.cleburnetimesreview.com/texas/news/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/article_4b496869-c8f1-50fe-854f-364ba58cf18b.html
https://www.cleburnetimesreview.com/texas/news/hhsc-encourages-cancer-screenings-during-cervical-health-awareness-month/article_4b496869-c8f1-50fe-854f-364ba58cf18b.html
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include cervical and breast cancer screenings, clinical breast examinations, mammograms and breast 
biopsies. 
 
BCCS helps fund clinics across the state that provide these lifesaving screening and diagnostic 
services. In fiscal year 2022, BCCS served 30,422 women, including 5,717 women who received 
cervical cancer screenings. 
 
The BCCS program is partly funded through the CDC. The National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early 
Detection Program awards funding to states for early detection of cervical and breast cancers. For 
fiscal year 2024, the federal program awarded BCCS more than $8.3 million. The Texas Legislature 
appropriated an additional $3.4 million in state funding. 
 
To find BCCS providers or learn more about women’s health services, visit the Healthy Texas Women 
website or call 2-1-1. For more information on how breast and cervical cancer services are provided 
to Texas women, view “Breast and Cervical Cancer Services: 2023 Statewide Look.” 

HHSC encourages cancer screenings during Cervical Health Awareness 
Month 
CNHI News 
January 16, 2024 
 
As part of National Cervical Health Awareness Month this January, the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission is encouraging women to get screened for cervical cancer. 
 
“Routine cervical cancer screening is the most effective way to detect cervical cancer early,” said Faith 
Sandberg-Rodriguez, associate commissioner of Family Clinical Services at HHSC. “However, many 
potentially eligible Texas women may not know about services in their area or experience other 
barriers to accessing care. HHSC helps low-income women access timely cervical cancer screening 
and diagnostic services.” 
 
Cervical cancer is the third-leading cancer diagnosis for women ages 20-39 and fifth-leading for 
women ages 40-49. According to the Texas Cancer Registry, an estimated 1,489 Texas women were 
diagnosed with cervical cancer in 2023. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommend 
cervical cancer screenings for women ages 21–65. 
 
The HHSC Breast and Cervical Cancer Services program provides low-cost and free women’s health 
services for uninsured and underinsured Texas women who meet eligibility requirements. Services 
include cervical and breast cancer screenings, clinical breast examinations, mammograms and breast 
biopsies. 
 

https://www.cnhinews.com/texas/news/article_781434f9-d33e-5dde-b77e-6bc8cfbca964.html
https://www.cnhinews.com/texas/news/article_781434f9-d33e-5dde-b77e-6bc8cfbca964.html
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BCCS helps fund clinics across the state that provide these lifesaving screening and diagnostic 
services. In fiscal year 2022, BCCS served 30,422 women, including 5,717 women who received 
cervical cancer screenings. 
 
The BCCS program is partly funded through the CDC. The National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early 
Detection Program awards funding to states for early detection of cervical and breast cancers. For 
fiscal year 2024, the federal program awarded BCCS more than $8.3 million. The Texas Legislature 
appropriated an additional $3.4 million in state funding. 
 
To find BCCS providers or learn more about women’s health services, visit the Healthy Texas Women 
website or call 2-1-1. For more information on how breast and cervical cancer services are provided 
to Texas women, view “Breast and Cervical Cancer Services: 2023 Statewide Look.” 
 
 
January | Cervical Health Awareness Month 
Dallas Express 
January 12, 2024 
 
January is Cervical Health Awareness Month and health authorities are spreading the word to 
encourage women to get screened for cervical cancer. 
 
A news release from the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) urged Texans to 
educate themselves on this common form of cancer impacting women from about the age of 20. An 
estimated 464 Texas women died from cervical cancer in 2023 while roughly 1,489 more were 
diagnosed with this largely preventable disease. 
 
The human papillomavirus infection is the cause of nearly every case of cervical cancer, according to 
the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. This is a prevalent virus spread through sexual 
contact with an infected person, yet women — preferably under age 26 — can be vaccinated against 
it. 
 
Otherwise, it is possible to reduce one’s risk of cervical cancer through not smoking, practicing safe 
sex by using condoms, and maintaining a healthy weight, since being obese has been associated with 
higher odds of not being screened for this disease. 
 
Overall, obesity — a rampant public health issue in the U.S., where nearly 42% of Americans are 
obese — has been shown to increase one’s risk of developing several cancers, as reported by The 
Dallas Express. 
 

https://dallasexpress.com/health/january-cervical-health-awareness-month/
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The early detection of cervical cancer is critical to have a more favorable outcome. Yet since 
symptoms — which include bleeding or unusual discharge — typically do not manifest themselves 
until the cancer is already well advanced, gynecological checks for cancerous cells are important. 
 
“Routine cervical cancer screening is the most effective way to detect cervical cancer early,” said Faith 
Sandberg-Rodriguez, HHSC’s associate commissioner of Family Clinical Services. 
 
“However, many potentially eligible Texas women may not know about services in their area or 
experience other barriers to accessing care. HHSC helps low-income women access timely cervical 
cancer screening and diagnostic services.” 
 
HHSC’s Breast and Cervical Cancer Services program, which is funded by both the state and the CDC, 
helps eligible Texas women receive low-cost and free women’s health services, including cervical 
cancer screenings, in clinics across the state. 
 

El Paso SSLC Cuts Ribbon on New Sports Complex 
 
El Paso SSLC opens $550,000 sports complex for residents with special 
needs 
Drew Pittock 
KDBC-TV 
January 18, 2024 
 
The El Paso State Supported Living Center (El Paso SSLC) unveiled its new sports complex Thursday, 
where the center's community of differently-abled residents can shoot hoops, score goals and hit 
home runs. 
 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission hosted a ribbon cutting Thursday, to celebrate a 
new sports complex at El Paso SSLC. 
 
The $550,000 sports complex features a basketball court -- which doubles as a soccer pitch -- as well 
as a baseball field adjacent to the court, allowing El Paso SSLC residents to "meaningfully engage with 
each other and build comradery," SSLC said in a statement. 
 
El Paso SSLC, home to almost 100 residents, provides campus-based direct services and support to 
people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. 
 
Residents receive 24/7 residential services in a structured environment. 
 

https://cbs4local.com/newsletter-daily/gallery/el-paso-sslc-opens-550000-sports-complex-for-residents-with-special-needs-state-supported-living-center-marathon-petroleum-corporation-el-paso-chihuahuas-chico-the-chihuahua-texas-health-and-human-services-commission?photo=10
https://cbs4local.com/newsletter-daily/gallery/el-paso-sslc-opens-550000-sports-complex-for-residents-with-special-needs-state-supported-living-center-marathon-petroleum-corporation-el-paso-chihuahuas-chico-the-chihuahua-texas-health-and-human-services-commission?photo=10
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Services include personalized behavioral treatment, primary and specialty health care, psychiatric 
services, dental care, skills training, day habilitation and employment services, as well as customized 
adaptive aids such as seating and positioning devices. 
 
The ribbon-cutting ceremony was attended by representatives of the Marathon Petroleum 
Corporation, which donated a $46,000 grant for new sports equipment, uniforms and apparel for the 
organization's residents and employees. 
 
Meanwhile, the El Paso SSLC Police Department participated in a baseball game with residents, and 
Chico the Chihuahua threw out the first pitch. 
 
HHSC celebrates new sports complex at EP State Supported Living Center 
Luisa Barrios 
KTSM-TV El Paso  
January 18, 2024 
 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) hosted a ribbon-cutting ceremony 
Thursday, Jan. 18, to celebrate the completion of a new sports complex at the El Paso State 
Supported Living Center (SSLC). 
 
The $550,000 complex features a basketball court where residents can also play soccer, and a 
baseball field adjacent to the court, according to a press release sent by HHSC. 
 
The sports complex supports a growing activity at El Paso SSLC, as nearly one-third of its residents 
play baseball on the Desert Yankees team in the Miracle League of El Paso, according to the press 
release. 
 
Additionally, the Marathon Community Investments Program awarded a $46,000 grant for new sports 
equipment, uniforms and apparel. 
 
“Sports can help foster a sense of teamwork, accomplishment and community for our residents, plus 
they’re just a great excuse to get outside and have some fun,” said Scott Schalchlin, deputy executive 
commissioner of the HHSC Health and Specialty Care System. “Thanks to the support of lawmakers 
and the El Paso community, the residents of El Paso State Supported Living Center will get a chance 
to play in modern facilities that will help foster their love of the game. Go Desert Yankees!” 
 
“We couldn’t be more excited for our new multisport complex opening at the El Paso State Supported 
Living Center,” said Laura Moore, director of El Paso SSLC. “This is a beautiful complex that will help 
engage, unite and boost the morale of our residents and staff. We’re eager to get out there and enjoy 
some basketball, baseball, soccer and many other activities because of it.” 

https://www.ktsm.com/news/hhsc-celebrates-new-sports-complex-at-ep-state-supported-living-center/
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El Paso SSLC opens $550,000 sports complex for residents with special 
needs 
Drew Pittock 
KFOX-TV 
January 18, 2024 
 
The El Paso State Supported Living Center (El Paso SSLC) unveiled its new sports complex Thursday, 
where the center's community of differently-abled residents can shoot hoops, score goals and hit 
home runs. 
 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission hosted a ribbon cutting Thursday, to celebrate a 
new sports complex at El Paso SSLC. 
 
The $550,000 sports complex features a basketball court -- which doubles as a soccer pitch -- as well 
as a baseball field adjacent to the court, allowing El Paso SSLC residents to "meaningfully engage with 
each other and build comradery," SSLC said in a statement. 
 
El Paso SSLC, home to almost 100 residents, provides campus-based direct services and support to 
people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. 
 
Residents receive 24/7 residential services in a structured environment. 
 
Services include personalized behavioral treatment, primary and specialty health care, psychiatric 
services, dental care, skills training, day habilitation and employment services, as well as customized 
adaptive aids such as seating and positioning devices. 
 
The ribbon-cutting ceremony was attended by representatives of the Marathon Petroleum 
Corporation, which donated a $46,000 grant for new sports equipment, uniforms and apparel for the 
organization's residents and employees. 
 
Meanwhile, the El Paso SSLC Police Department participated in a baseball game with residents, and 
Chico the Chihuahua threw out the first pitch. 
 
 
A short story of hope 
Avery Escamilla-Wendell 
The Prospector Daily 
January 30, 2024 
 

https://kfoxtv.com/news/local/el-paso-sslc-opens-550000-sports-complex-for-residents-with-special-needs-state-supported-living-center-marathon-petroleum-corporation-el-paso-chihuahuas-chico-the-chihuahua-texas-health-and-human-services-commission
https://kfoxtv.com/news/local/el-paso-sslc-opens-550000-sports-complex-for-residents-with-special-needs-state-supported-living-center-marathon-petroleum-corporation-el-paso-chihuahuas-chico-the-chihuahua-texas-health-and-human-services-commission
https://www.theprospectordaily.com/2024/01/30/a-short-story-of-hope/
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Laughter, smiles and fun echoed through the El Paso State Supported Living Center (EPSSLC) as the 
facility officially opened its new sports complex. After 49 years, a once dirt patch finally turned into an 
outdoor complex, which includes a basketball court, baseball field, soccer goal and other equipment 
for residents to enjoy.    
 
Laura Morre, the facility director for the EPSSLC, shares the history behind the facility.   
 
“We were established in 1973, however, we got out first individual receiving services in 1974, which 
means this is our 50th anniversary this year,” Moore said.   
 
The living center provides 24/7 care, housing, food and opportunities for adults with intellectual 
disabilities.   
 
“The State supported living center is what’s referred to as an intermediate care facility and what we 
do is we provide 24/7 care for adults with intellectual disabilities,” Moore said. “A lot of out individuals 
here, they either have high medical needs in addition to the intellectual disability or they have 
behavioral needs in addition to the intellectual disability.”   
 
At the living center, families can be at peace because they know support is provided to 100 
individuals for 24 hours a day. A medical clinic, psychiatry department, dental department and 
vocational services are many of the services provided for residents on campus. Many of the residents 
work in vocational services on campus to earn money or even out in the community. The goal of the 
facility is to prepare residents to live out in the community.   
 
“About five years ago, the previous administration had requested to have something built and it was 
determined that a sports complex would be the most ideal,” Moore said. “That way it kind of brings all 
the individuals out, keeps them engaged; we also are part of the Miracle League here which is a 
baseball league that our individuals participate with folks in the community, and so it just made sense 
that we would have sports.”   
 
On Jan. 18, the official ribbon cutting brought out Chico from the Chihuahuas after the new 
partnership between the EPSSLC and the baseball team and resident, Carol, had the opportunity to 
sing “Take me out to the ball game” at the ceremony.   
 
“Yeah, I was singing over here, singing notes,” Carol said.   
 
Moore hopes to bring out the El Paso community to play sports alongside the residents someday. It’s 
an opportunity that would leave lasting memories for the residents. Moore also plans to purchase a 
volleyball net for residents who want to play.   
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“What I’m hoping to get out of this is you students to become a part of our family here and maybe 
volunteer to come out and play volleyball with our individuals, if you want to play baseball, come play 
baseball,” Moore said.   
 
Having a new sports complex brings new hopes and happiness for residents living on site.   
 
“We’re excited to be able to give that to them because they’re going to be our superstars,” Moore 
said. “They’re going to be our champions and we get the opportunity to be proud for them.”  
 
At the opening ceremony, the El Paso Police Department visited and played against the residents. 
Moore stated that many of the residents who live on-site have had a previous history with law 
enforcement. However, Moore says EPPD visiting and playing sports with the residents may have 
helped residents perceive law enforcement in a much more peaceful way and changing the overall 
narrative.   
 
With residents’ past and obstacles, they have faced throughout their lives, residents remain hopeful 
for a better future.   Moore invites and encourages the community to come out and play their favorite 
sport with residents at the EPSSLC sports complex at 6700 Delta Drive. For more information contact 
the living center at 915-782-6300.   
 

DSHS Launches New Virus Dashboard 
 
Texas DSHS launches new respiratory virus dashboard 
Morgan McGrath 
KVUE-TV 
January 22, 2024 
 
Coughing, sneezing and sore throats are all the more common during the winter months.  
 
As cold and flu season reaches its peak, the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) has 
created a way to track influenza – more commonly known as the flu – COVID-19 and RSV all in one 
place.   
 
The new online dashboard can be found on the Texas DSHS website. Those interested can track 
hospitalizations, visits to the emergency room and even deaths related to the "big three" respiratory 
viruses.  
 
"Those data points demonstrate the diseases' most severe effects on people, communities and the 
health care system," DSHS Commissioner Jennifer Shuford, MD, MPH, said.  "The dashboard provides 
a near real-time look at conditions so people can make informed decisions on precautions for 

https://www.kvue.com/article/news/health/texas-dshs-dashboard-flu-covid-rsv/269-da436e54-466b-4414-b916-d35a4c2649ea
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themselves and their families and health care professionals can make recommendations to their 
patients."  
 
The DSHS is also publishing a weekly respiratory virus surveillance report, which combines separate 
reports on the flu, COVID-19 and RSV. The reports also show counties where different types of flu 
have been found, proportions of COVID-19 variants present across the state and more. View the most 
recent report, produced on Jan. 19. 
 
Texas DSHS launches new respiratory virus dashboard 
Zachary Yates 
KCEN-TV 
January 22, 2024 
 
The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) has launched the Texas Respiratory Illness 
Interactive Dashboard, which follows trends in illnesses such as influenza, COVID-19 and RSV.  
 
This dashboard is accessible to the public through the DSHS's Texas Health Data site and it will show 
data such as emergency room visits, hospitalizations and deaths in relation to respiratory illnesses.  
 
DSHS Commissioner Jennifer Shuford stated, “Those data points demonstrate the diseases’ most 
severe effects on people, communities and the health care system. The dashboard provides a near 
real-time look at conditions, so people can make informed decisions on precautions for themselves 
and their families, and health care professionals can make recommendations to their patients.” 
 
In-depth reports will come out weekly as the DSHS monitors these respiratory viruses. These reports 
will show counties where various types of the flu and COVID-19 have been reported.  
 
To learn more information about this dashboard, visit here. 
 
Texas Launches New Respiratory Virus Dashboard 
Focus Daily News 
January 22, 2024 
 
The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) today announced it had launched new data 
tools to empower people to keep tabs on respiratory viruses in Texas. 
 
In Texas, respiratory virus season runs from October to May and usually peaks in the winter. 
However, these viruses create health risks at any time of year. 
 

https://www.kcentv.com/article/news/local/texas/texas-department-of-state-health-services-respiratory-illness-dashboard/500-7b3164f2-af85-48b5-8793-895a9ea870f7
https://www.focusdailynews.com/texas-launches-new-respiratory-virus-dashboard/
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Launched on January 22, 2024, the respiratory virus dashboard accessible through DSHS's Texas 
Health Data site shows trends in illnesses from influenza, COVID-19, and Respiratory syncytial virus 
(RSV), the respiratory viruses most likely to cause serious disease at this time of year. 
 
Updated each Friday, this innovative dashboard's data includes emergency room visits, 
hospitalizations, and deaths. 
 
"Those data points demonstrate the diseases' most severe effects on people, communities, and the 
health care system," said DSHS Commissioner Jennifer Shuford, MD, MPH, in a press release. 
 
"The dashboard provides a near real-time look at conditions so that people can make informed 
decisions on precautions for themselves and their families, and health care professionals can make 
recommendations to their patients." 
 
DSHS is also publishing a new weekly respiratory virus surveillance report, combining separate 
reports on influenza, COVID-19, and RSV. 
 
The report contains more in-depth data on the three diseases, including, but not limited to, 
information on the burden of influenza-like illness (ILI), counties where different types of flu have 
been found, and the proportions of COVID-19 variants present in Texas. 
 
As of January 19, 2024, compared to the previous week, the updated surveillance report confirmed 
the following: 
 
The percentage of specimens testing positive for influenza reported by hospital laboratories has 
increased. 
 
The percentage of patient visits due to ILI has decreased. 
 
No influenza-associated pediatric deaths were reported. 
 
Ten influenza-associated institutional outbreaks were reported in long-term care facilities. 
 
Furthermore, the Walgreens Flu Index® only listed Tyler-Longview and El Paso, Texas, in its top ten 
cities reporting influenza medication dispensing. 
 
Getting immunized against respiratory viruses is a good way for people to protect themselves against 
the severe disease, hospitalization, and death they can cause, wrote DSHS. 
 
According to recent U.S. CDC data, the national percentage of the population reporting receipt of 
COVID-19, influenza, and RSV vaccines remains low for children and adults. 



  

 
 
 
 

   71 

 
The percent of the population reporting receipt of the updated 2023-24 COVID-19 vaccine is 11% for 
children and 21.5% for adults 18+, including 40.9% among adults age 65+. 
 
The percent of the population reporting receipt of a flu vaccine is 47.5%, and influenza vaccination 
coverage among pregnant women as of December 2023 is about 3% points lower compared to the 
end of December 2022 (36% Vs. 39%), 
 
The percentage of adults aged 60+ who report receiving an RSV vaccine is 21.1%. 
 
As of January 22, 2024, various respiratory vaccines remain available at most pharmacies in Texas. 
 
Texas launches new respiratory illness dashboard 
Carter Diggs 
KVIA-TV 
January 22, 2024 
 
The Texas Department of State Health Services launched a new respiratory virus dashboard to let 
people keep tabs on respiratory viruses in Texas. The dashboard, accessible through DSHS’s Texas 
Health Data site, shows trends in illnesses from influenza, COVID-19 and RSV. Data includes 
emergency room visits, hospitalizations and deaths. 
 
“Those data points demonstrate the diseases’ most severe effects on people, communities  and the 
health care system,” DSHS Commissioner Jennifer Shuford said. “The dashboard provides a near real-
time look at conditions, so people can make informed decisions on precautions for themselves and 
their families, and health care professionals can make recommendations to their patients.” 
 
DSHS is also publishing a new weekly respiratory virus surveillance report, combining separate 
reports on influenza, COVID-19 and RSV. The report contains more in-depth data on the three 
diseases including information on the burden of influenza-like illness, counties where different types 
of flu have been found, and the proportions of COVID-19 variants present in Texas. 
 
Texas Publishes 'Big Three' Respiratory Virus Trends and Insights 
Robert Carlson, MD 
Precision Vaccinations 
January 22, 2024 
 
The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) today announced it had launched new data 
tools to empower people to keep tabs on respiratory viruses in Texas. 
 

https://kvia.com/health/2024/01/22/texas-launches-new-respiratory-illness-dashboard/
https://www.precisionvaccinations.com/texas-publishes-big-three-respiratory-virus-trends-and-insights-2024-01-22
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In Texas, respiratory virus season runs from October to May and usually peaks in the winter. 
However, these viruses create health risks at any time of year. 
 
Launched on January 22, 2024, the respiratory virus dashboard accessible through DSHS's Texas 
Health Data site shows trends in illnesses from influenza, COVID-19, and Respiratory syncytial virus 
(RSV), the respiratory viruses most likely to cause serious disease at this time of year. 
 
Updated each Friday, this innovative dashboard's data includes emergency room visits, 
hospitalizations, and deaths. 
 
"Those data points demonstrate the diseases' most severe effects on people, communities, and the 
health care system," said DSHS Commissioner Jennifer Shuford, MD, MPH, in a press release. 
 
"The dashboard provides a near real-time look at conditions so that people can make informed 
decisions on precautions for themselves and their families, and health care professionals can make 
recommendations to their patients." 
 
DSHS is also publishing a new weekly respiratory virus surveillance report, combining separate 
reports on influenza, COVID-19, and RSV. 
 
The report contains more in-depth data on the three diseases, including, but not limited to, 
information on the burden of influenza-like illness (ILI), counties where different types of flu have 
been found, and the proportions of COVID-19 variants present in Texas. 
 
As of January 19, 2024, compared to the previous week, the updated surveillance report confirmed 
the following: 
 
The percentage of specimens testing positive for influenza reported by hospital laboratories has 
increased. 
 
The percentage of patient visits due to ILI has decreased. 
 
No influenza-associated pediatric deaths were reported. 
 
Ten influenza-associated institutional outbreaks were reported in long-term care facilities. 
 
Furthermore, the Walgreens Flu Index® only listed Tyler-Longview and El Paso, Texas, in its top ten 
cities reporting influenza medication dispensing. 
 
Getting immunized against respiratory viruses is a good way for people to protect themselves against 
the severe disease, hospitalization, and death they can cause, wrote DSHS. 
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According to recent U.S. CDC data, the national percentage of the population reporting receipt of 
COVID-19, influenza, and RSV vaccines remains low for children and adults. 
 
The percent of the population reporting receipt of the updated 2023-24 COVID-19 vaccine is 11% for 
children and 21.5% for adults 18+, including 40.9% among adults age 65+. 
 
The percent of the population reporting receipt of a flu vaccine is 47.5%, and influenza vaccination 
coverage among pregnant women as of December 2023 is about 3% points lower compared to the 
end of December 2022 (36% Vs. 39%), 
 
The percentage of adults aged 60+ who report receiving an RSV vaccine is 21.1%. 
 
As of January 22, 2024, various respiratory vaccines remain available at most pharmacies in Texas. 
 
Texas launches dashboard to track the ‘big three’ respiratory viruses 
Idolina Peralez 
CW-39 Houston 
January 30, 2024 
 
The Texas Department of State Health Services has launched new data tools to let people keep tabs 
on respiratory viruses in Texas. 
 
The dashboard shows trends in illnesses from influenza, COVID-19 and RSV, or the “big three” 
respiratory viruses most likely to cause serious disease at this time of year. Data includes emergency 
room visits, hospitalizations, and deaths. 
 
“Those data points demonstrate the diseases’ most severe effects on people, communities  and the 
health care system,” said DSHS Commissioner Jennifer Shuford, MD, MPH. “The dashboard provides a 
near real-time look at conditions, so people can make informed decisions on precautions for 
themselves and their families, and health care professionals can make recommendations to their 
patients.” 
 
DSHS is also publishing a new weekly respiratory virus surveillance report, combining separate 
reports on influenza, COVID-19 and RSV. The report contains more in-depth data on the three 
diseases including information on the burden of influenza-like illness, counties where different types 
of flu have been found, and the proportions of COVID-19 variants present in Texas. 
 
Respiratory virus season runs from October to May and usually peaks in the winter. However, there is 
a risk of infection at any time of year as the viruses circulate year round. 
 

https://cw39.com/news/health/texas-launches-dashboard-to-track-the-big-three-respiratory-viruses/
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DSHS says the best protection is getting immunized against respiratory viruses to help prevent severe 
disease, hospitalization and death they can cause.  
 
Additional actions to stop the spread of these viruses are: 
 
Washing hands frequently with soap and water, 
Covering coughs and sneezes, 
Staying home when sick. 
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