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Child Sexual Abuse Reporting
Purpose

To report suspected cases of child sexual abuse to the Department of Family
and Protective Services (DFPS) and ensure compliance with state law.

Authority
Article II of the General Appropriations Act and Texas Family Code
Policy

Local Agencies must comply with the provisions of state law related to
reporting suspected child sexual abuse of minors, including those minors
who are preghant or postpartum (postpartum includes breastfeeding
women).

Definitions

Professional — For WIC reporting purposes, all staff, including volunteers,
who interact with clients are considered professionals and must report within
48 hours. The 48 hours reporting requirements begins during a certification
when “yes” is selected for any of the affirmative defense questions.

Procedures

I. Local Agency (LA) staff who interact with clients must report minors
who are pregnhant or postpartum (postpartum includes breastfeeding
women). LA staff are considered professionals and must report within
48 hours (see definition).

II. Staff must enter all required information (e.g., Name, DOB, Participant
Category, Gender) when creating a record in the MIS. The MIS will
automatically send an underage report to DFPS for minors under 14
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years of age. Reports will be sent in real time once the record with the
DOB and category is created and saved in the system. Family
Demographics questions one and two will be auto populated with the
information entered when saving a record.

The MIS will prompt staff with an alert message to complete affirmative
defense questions for minors 14 to under 17 years of age. The
system will require staff to complete the affirmative defense form before
the certification can be completed.

A. If'Yes' to either question 1 or 2 is selected, then a report will
automatically be sent to DFPS when the record is saved. Staff MUST
then ask the corresponding follow-up question(s) 1a and/or 2a.

B. Questions 3 and 4 are optional to ask but must be answered if
known. If ‘Yes’ to either question 3 or 4 is selected, a report will
automatically be emailed to DFPS when the record is saved.

C. Question 5 provides additional details to investigators about the
incident being reported and must be answered if known. The details
entered will be displayed in the Family Demographics section of the
report.

The system will require staff to complete the affirmative defense
questions before the certification can be completed. Affirmative
defense questions and the Child Sexual Abuse Reporting Flowchart
(for minors 14 to under 17 years of age are outlined in Guidelines
section below.

All staff interacting with clients are considered professional staff and
must receive child abuse training. New staff must receive this training
prior to performing job duties and/or having client interactions. Training
must be documented and available for review during Quality Assurance
monitoring visits. Link to the training chart:

Combined TR chart (texas.gov)
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Guidelines

Additional types of abuse are listed at:
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.261.htm

Reports of other forms of abuse can be made at the Texas Abuse Hotline
Website: https://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx

The affirmative defense form questions are as follows:

1.

Child’s partner is more than three years older than the child. (required)
la. Child’s caregiver was aware of relationship and failed to make a
reasonable effort to prevent it.

. The act involved force or duress. (required)

2a. The perpetrator was a relative, household member or caregiver.

. Child’s partner is a registered sex offender OR convicted or adjudicated

for a sexual offense. (optional)

. Child’s caregiver allowed the child to engage in a sexual relationship

for personal compensation. (optional)

. Please provide any additional details regarding the incident being

reported. This includes, but not limited to:
1. the name, age, and relationship of alleged abuser (if applicable).
2. the address or some other way to locate alleged abuser (if
applicable).
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Child Sexual Abuse Reporting in TXIN

Required Question

Q1 Q2
Child’s partner is more than The act involved
three years older than the child. force or duress.

Q1ais required when Q1 = YES Q2ais required when Q2 = YES

Qla
Child’s caregiver was
aware of relationship and

Q2a
The perpetrator was a

relative, household member
failed to make a reasonable or caregiver.
effort to prevent it. 1 I \
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Optional Question

Response

Qs Q4
Child’s partner is a Child’s caregiver allowed
registered sex offender OR the child to engageina

convicted or adjudicated for sexual relationship for
a sexual offense. personal compensation.

Please provide any additional details regarding the incident being reported.

This includes, but is not limited to:
(1) the name, age, and relationship of alleged abuser (if applicable)

(2) the address or some other way to locate alleged abuser (if applicable)

¥

Family Demographics
1. Child’s address or some other way to locate
(name of school, or directions to home if rural or P.O. box)
2. Name, address and phone number of parent or caregiver
(or directions to home if rural or P.O. box)
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