@B TEXAS Minimum Standards

W5 Health and Human

R e Revision Notice

Date: April 25, 2021
Effective Date: April 25, 2021

To: All Holders of Chapter 747, Minimum Standards
for Child-Care Homes

From: Jean Shaw, HHSC Associate Commissioner for
Child Care Regulation

Subject: New Requirements for Liability Insurance, Safe
Sleeping, and Notification of Certain Incidents and
Deficiencies for Child-Care Homes

The amendments and new rules are necessary to implement the portions of Senate
Bill (S.B.) 568, 86th Legislature, Regular Session, 2019, that amended Chapter 42,
Human Resources Code (HRC), to require HHSC Child Care Regulation (CCR) to
establish minimum standards for safe sleeping, expand liability insurance

requirements, and alter reporting requirements for certain incidents and
deficiencies.

The changes are effective April 25, 2021.
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New Requirements for Liability Insurance, Safe Sleeping,
and Notification of Certain Incidents and Deficiencies for
Child-Care Homes

Administration and Communication, Liability Insurance

§747.207. What are my responsibilities as the primary caregiver?

§747.209. What are the liability insurance requirements?

§747.211. What are acceptable reasons not to have liability insurance?
§747.213. When must I notify parents that I do not carry liability insurance?

Amended §747.207:

At (4), clarifies that a child-care home must make reports of abuse,
neglect, or exploitation directly to the Texas Department of Family and
Protective Services;

At (8), adds a requirement for a child-care home to comply with liability
insurance rules outlined in this division of the subchapter;

Updates a citation, as well as grammar and language throughout the rule;
and

Removes language from the Helpful Information box after the rule that
excluded homes from liability insurance requirements.

New §747.209:

At (1), requires a child-care home to carry liability insurance in the
amount of $300,000 for each occurrence of negligence that covers injury
to a child, unless there is an acceptable reason not to have the insurance;
and

At (2), requires a child-care home to provide proof of insurance coverage
to CCR annually.

New §747.211:

At (a), lists the acceptable reasons a child-care home may not carry
liability insurance; and

At (b), requires a child-care home to provide written notification to CCR
by the anniversary date of the permit issuance if the home cannot carry
or stops carrying liability insurance due to a reason listed in (a).

2

Texas Health and Human Services e hhs.texas.gov



MS - Child-Care Homes - April 2021

New §747.213:

Outlines the requirements for notifying parents in writing that a child-care
home does not carry liability insurance, including:
o At (a), prior to a child’s admission;
o At (b), by May 25, 2021 if the home received its permit prior to
April 25, 2021 and cannot obtain the insurance by that date; and
o At (c), within 14 days of liability coverage ending, if the child-care
home previously carried the insurance and stops carrying it;
At (d), provides information regarding a CCR form a child-care home may
use for parental notifications regarding liability insurance coverage; and
Adds a Helpful Information box after the rule with examples of different
ways to notify parents in writing regarding liability insurance.

Administration and Communication, Required Notifications

§747.303. What other situations require notification to Licensing?
§747.305. What emergency or medical situations must I notify parents about?
§747.307. What are the notification requirements when Licensing finds my child-

care home deficient in a standard related to safe sleeping or the abuse,
neglect, or exploitation of a child?

§747.309. How must I notify parents of a safe sleeping deficiency or an abuse,

neglect, or exploitation deficiency?

Amended §747.303:

At (a)(2), adds a requirement for a child-care home to notify CCR if a child in
care sustains an injury that requires hospitalization;

At (a)(3), adds a requirement for a child-care home to notify CCR if a child in
care shows signs and symptoms of an illness that requires hospitalization;
Updates grammar; and

Adds information to the Helpful Information box after the rule to clarify that

(a)(3) applies only to situations where a child-care home sends a child to the
hospital for an illness.

Amended §747.305:

At (a), adds a requirement for a child-care home to notify the parent
immediately if there is an allegation that the child has been abused,
neglected, or exploited;

At (b)(1), updates the parental notification requirement regarding injuries to
require a child-care home to notify the parent if the child is injured and
requires medical treatment or hospitalization;

At (b)(2), adds a requirement for a child-care home to notify a parent if a
child shows signs or symptoms of an illness that requires hospitalization;
Removes the requirement for a child-care home to notify the parent if a child
has a sign or symptom of an illness that would exclude the child from care, as
this requirement is included elsewhere in the Minimum Standards;
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e At (c) and (d), updates the parental notification requirements regarding
communicable diseases and lice outbreaks or infestations to require a child-
care home to provide the notification in writing;

e Updates language and grammar throughout the rule; and

e Adds information to the Helpful Information box after the rule to clarify the
term “immediately” in (@) and adds references to additional rules with
requirements for responding to injuries and illnesses.

New §747.307:
e At (a), requires a child-care home to notify the parent of each child attending
the child-care home when CCR determines the home has a deficiency in:
o A safe sleeping standard; or
o The standard related to the abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a child;
and
e At (b), outlines the specific safe sleeping standards that require notification.

New §747.309:

e Outlines how a child-care home is required to notify parents of a deficiency in
safe sleeping or in the standard related to the abuse, neglect, or exploitation
of a child in care as required by §747.307. The notification must be:

o In writing and within five days after the child-care home receives
notification of the deficiency;

o Provided to the parents of each child attending the child-care home at
the time of the notification from CCR;

o Via Form 2970, Notification of Safe Sleeping Deficiency, for a deficiency
for a safe sleeping standard; and

o Via Form 7266, Notification of Abuse/Neglect/Exploitation Deficiency,
for a deficiency for the standard related to the abuse, neglect, or
exploitation of a child.

Record Keeping

§747.701. What written records must I keep of accidents and incidents that occur at
my child-care home?
§747.801. What records must I keep at my child-care home?

Amended §747.701:

e Updates the types of accidents and incidents for which a child-care home
must keep written records using the Licensing Incident/IlIness Report Form
7239 or a similar form, to include:

o Child injuries sustained in while in care that require medical treatment
or hospitalization;

o Child illnesses while in care that require hospitalization; and

o Incidents of a child in care or employee contracting certain
communicable diseases;

e Updates the rule title, grammar, and renumbers the rule to reflect the added
requirements; and
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e Adds information to the Helpful Information box after the rule to clarify how
the Licensing Illness/Incident Report form serves as a means to communicate
serious incidents and illnesses with parents and adds a reference to the rule
regarding parental notification of emergency and medical situations.

Amended §747.801:

e At (14), adds a requirement for a child-care home to maintain proof that the
home has liability insurance coverage, if applicable, or has notified parents in
writing that the home does not carry liability insurance;

e At (15), adds a requirement for a child-care home to maintain proof of written
notification to parents of deficiencies in safe sleeping and abuse, neglect, or
exploitation;

e Updates citations, the name of the agency, and language throughout the rule;
and

e Adds information to the Helpful Information box after the rule with examples
of different ways to maintain proof of written parental notification for
deficiencies.

Health Practices

§747.3405. How must caregivers respond when a child becomes ill?
§747.3407. How must caregivers respond when a child is injured and requires
immediate treatment by a health-care professional?

Amended §747.3405:

e At (a), clarifies how a child-care home must respond when a child in care
becomes ill but does not require immediate treatment by a health-care
professional or hospitalization; and

e At (b), adds requirements regarding how a child-care home must respond
when a child becomes ill while in care and requires immediate treatment by a
healthcare professional or hospitalization, to include:

o Contacting emergency medical services;
Giving the child first aid or CPR as needed;
Contacting the child’s parent;
Contacting the child’s physician or other health-care professional; and
Ensuring supervision of other children in the group; and
e Updates the rule title.

O O O O

Amended §747.3407:
e Removes previous requirements involving illnesses, as those requirements are
now included in §747.3405;
e Replaces the word “attention” with “treatment” as it applies to a health-care
professional that is addressing injuries sustained in care; and
e Updates the rule title.
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You may view the adopted rules and highlighted versions of the adopted rules at
Minimum Standards | Texas Health and Human Services. CCR is updating the
minimum standards publications and will notify you when the updates are complete.

If you have questions, please contact your CCR inspector or send an email to
HHSC Minimum Standards Comments.
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