## **KEEPING CHILDREN SAFE**

#### **Report Abuse and Neglect**

Texas law requires a person having reasonable cause to believe that a child's physical or mental health or welfare has been adversely affected by abuse or neglect by any person to immediately make a report to the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or law enforcement.

Call **800-252-5400** to make confidential reports. Failure to report suspected abuse or neglect is a crime.

Employers are prohibited from retaliating against caregivers who make reports in good faith.

#### **Protect Children**

- Never shake a baby.
- Shaken baby syndrome is the result of violently shaking a young child. Injuries can include brain swelling and damage, subdural hemorrhaging, reduced cognitive function and death.

#### **Sudden Infant Death Syndrome**

- SIDS is the unexplained death of a sleeping baby.
- Always place infants to sleep on their backs in a bare crib or play yard with a firm surface.
- Do not place soft bedding, including blankets and stuffed toys, inside the crib of an infant under 12 months.

### **Keep Children Healthy**

- Wash your hands and children's hands often.
- Immunize children.
- Keep ill children at home.
- Learn pediatric CPR and first aid.
- Make sure children drink plenty of water.
- Discuss special needs with caregivers.
- Learn more about childhood diabetes, which impairs a body's ability to regulate blood sugar levels, and other medical conditions, from your child's healthcare provider.

#### **Water Safety**

- Always maintain active supervision and stay within reach of children in the water.
- Secure water areas with fences, alarms or other means to ensure children don't access the areas unsupervised.
- Have an emergency plan and ensure caregivers are trained in pediatric CPR.
- Don't assume children will use good judgment around the water and make safe choices.
- Require each child who is unable to swim, or at risk of injury or death when swimming, to wear a properly fitted and fastened U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket before entering and while in a swimming pool.

## **Transportation Safety**

- Use car seats and booster seats according to Texas law. All children under 8-years-old who are 4'9" or shorter must be in an appropriate child safety seat system installed according to manufacturer's instructions.
- Before closing car doors, make sure that arms, fingers, legs and toes are all inside to avoid accidental injury.
- Children should not be left in a car unattended for any period. Have a system in place to ensure all children have safely exited the car.
- Keep car doors locked and the keys out of children's reach.
- Educate adults and children about car and transportation safety, especially about getting in and out of a vehicle, loading and unloading curbside.
- Maintain active supervision when children are around cars.
- More information can be found at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/media-andcommunications-office/child-passenger-safetyinformation

## **Unsafe Children's Products**

Visit the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission website at cpsc.gov to see recalls of unsafe children's products.

Sign up for email updates at cpsc.gov/newsroom/subscribe.



# Texas Health and Human Services Commission Child Care Regulation Department

\* Texas Family Code, Title 5. The Parent-Child Relationship and the Suit Affecting the Parent-Child Relationship, Subtitle E. Protection of the Child, Chapter 261. Investigation of Report of Child Abuse or Neglect, Subchapter B. Report of Abuse or Neglect; Immunities

December 2023 21D0606