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Early Deregistration Step-By-Step Guide

The Council on Sex Offender Treatment (CSOT) may only consider Texas
convictions for early deregistration under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
(CCP) Chapter 62.1 No out-of-state court or federal court convictions or
adjudications are eligible for early deregistration, even if the person lives in
Texas. Early deregistration is only available for a person who was convicted by
a Texas court with one reportable conviction or adjudication as defined under
CCP Chapter 62.001(5)(A)-(L).?

IF APPLICANTS HAVE A CONVICTION IN A TEXAS COURT, THEN
PROCEED TO STEP ONE.

Step One

Applicants seeking early termination of their obligation to register under
CCP Chapter 62! must confirm they have only one reportable conviction or
adjudication for a sexual offense as defined under CCP Chapter
62.001(5)(A)-(L).? If an applicant has more than one reportable conviction
or adjudication for a sexual offense, then STOP. The applicant is ineligible

to apply.

e Example: If an applicant has two or more separate reportable
convictions or adjudications, the person is ineligible for early
deregistration.

e Example: If an applicant’s order of conviction or deferred
adjudication order recites two or more separate counts for
reportable convictions or adjudications, the person is ineligible for
early deregistration.

CSOT may only consider a conviction or deferred adjudication issued by a
Texas court.

1 URL: statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CR/htm/CR.62.htm

2 URL:
statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CR/htm/CR.62.htm#:~:text=(5)%20%20%22Reportable%?20
conviction,o0f%20that%20code.
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A deferred adjudication order is treated the same as a conviction pursuant
to the federal Adam Walsh Act.3

IF APPLICANTS HAVE ONLY ONE REPORTABLE TEXAS CONVICTION OR
ADJUDICATION, THEN PROCEED TO STEP TWO.

Step Two

The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) provides the Texas Length of
Duty to Register Compared to the Minimum Required Registration Period Under
Federal Law (34 USC Section 20911)% list for applicants to reference. This DPS
list compares reportable convictions and adjudications under Texas Penal
Code Chapter 62, Subchapter I° to the minimum registration requirements
under Texas and federal law.

On the DPS list, locate the specific Texas Penal Code citation relating to the
applicant’s reportable conviction or adjudication. The minimum registration
period for the applicant’s reportable conviction must EXCEED the minimum
registration period under the federal law to move on to Step Three.

The reportable conviction or adjudication must also meet any other criteria

required on the DPS list, such as the victim’s age at the time of the offense,
the difference in age between the victim and the offender, or a specific fact
pattern where required.

Step Three

If an applicant meets the requirements above, the applicant must submit Form
3246, Eligibility Determination Application for Early Termination of a Person’s
Obligation to Register® (linked under the “Deregistration” heading on the CSOT
Deregistration webpage”’), the required fee, and copies of the following
documents:

e Order of conviction or order deferring adjudication

e Charging instrument (indictment or information)

3 URL: justice.gov/archive/olp/pdf/adam walsh act.pdf

4 URL: publicsite.dps.texas.gov/SexOffenderRegistry/sor-public/SORNA. pdf

5 URL: statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CR/htm/CR.62.htm#1I

6 URL: hhs.texas.gov/regulations/forms/3000-3999/form-3246-eligibility-determination-
application-early-termination-a-persons-obligation-register

7 URL: hhs.texas.gov/business/licensing-credentialing-requlation/professional-licensing-
certification-compliance/council-sex-offender-treatment/deregistration
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e Additional documentation only for certain offenses:

o Official documentation such as a court document, an offense

report, or probable cause affidavit, indicating the victim’s age in
years at the time of the offense, only if the conviction was for
either of the following offenses:

= Texas Penal Code Section 21.02, Continuous Sexual Abuse of
Young Child or Disabled Individual;® or

= Texas Penal Code Section 21.11(a)(1), Indecency with a
Child by Contact.?

Official documentation, such as a court document, an offense
report, or a probable cause affidavit, indicating the offender
was not more than four years older than the victim, only if
the conviction was for Texas Penal Code Section 22.011, Sexual
Assault!® and the offense involved consensual sexual conduct and
the offender was not more than four years older than the victim.

e Current, certified criminal history background checks conducted by both
DPS and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).

o

Access the DPS instructions here: Texas Department of Public
Safety Fingerprinting Services.!!

Access the FBI instructions here: Federal Bureau of Investigation
Identity History Summary Checks. 2

e Cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $50.00 made payable
to: “"Texas Council on Sex Offender Treatment.”

o

The required fee is for the administrative review of an applicant’s
file and request for early termination of the applicant’s obligation
to register as a sex offender in Texas.

e A copy of the order discharging the applicant from community

8 URL: statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.21.htm#21.02

9 URL:
statutes.capitol.texas.gov/docs/PE/htm/PE.21.htm#:~:text=Sec.%2021.11.%20%20INDECEN

CY,sexual%20contact%3B

10 YRL: statutes.capitol.texas.qov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.22.htm#22.011

11 URL: dps.texas.gov/section/crime-records/fingerprinting-services

12 yRL: fbi.gov/how-we-can-help-you/more-fbi-services-and-information/identity-history-

summary-checks
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supervision, if the applicant was discharged from community supervision
(probation or parole).

Mail Completed Documentation with Required Fee to:

CSOT, P.O. Box 149347
Mail Code 1982
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

The Council on Sex Offender Treatment will review this documentation. If
CSOT determines the applicant eligible to proceed with the early deregistration
process, CSOT will provide the applicant information on how to obtain a
deregistration evaluation, at the applicant’s expense, from a Council-approved
deregistration specialist.

Revised October 19, 2023



	Step One
	Step Two
	Step Three



