
 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

January 27, 2022 
 
Stephanie Stephens 
State Medicaid Director 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Mail Code: H100 
Post Office Box 13247 
Austin, TX 78711 
 
Re: TX SPA 21-0002 
 
Dear Ms. Stephens: 
 
We have reviewed the proposed Texas State Plan Amendment (SPA) TX 21-0002, which was 
submitted to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) on September 3, 2021.  
The purpose of this SPA is to amend the Other Practitioners’ Services pages of the state plan 
to clarify that, to the extent required by EPSDT, a licensed behavior analyst (LBA) operating 
within the LBA’s state scope of practice and licensure requirements may provide applied 
behavior analysis (ABA) evaluation and treatment services to children under 21 who have a 
diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). 
  
Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of February 1, 2022.  We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the 
new state plan pages.   
 
If you have any additional or need further assistance, please contact Ford Blunt of my staff at 
(214) 767-6381 or by email at Ford.Blunt@cms.hhs.gov.   
  

Sincerely, 
 

 
James G. Scott 
Division of Program Operations 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES OMB NO. 0938-0193 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:

21-0002
2. STATE:

TEXAS
3. PROGRA M IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL

SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICA RE AND MEDICA ID SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIV E DATE:

February 1, 2022
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Circle One):

NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN  AMENDMENT 

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment) 
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULA TION CITATION:

SSA 1905(a)(6); 42 CFR 440.60

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:

a. FFY 2022 $ 394*
b. FFY 2023 $ 1,476*
c. FFY 2024 $ 2,879*

*Figures in whole thousands

SEE ATTACHMENT 

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR 
ATTACHMENT:

See Attachment to Blocks 8 & 9 

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):

See Attachment to Blocks 8 & 9 

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:
HHSC is amending the Other Practitioners’ Services pages of the state plan to clarify that, to the extent required by 
EPSDT, a licensed behavior analyst (LBA) operating within the LBA’s state scope of practice and licensure requirements 
may provide applied behavior analysis (ABA) evaluation and treatment services to children under 21 who have a 
diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). 
11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One):

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT   OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Sent to Governor’s Office this date. 
Comments, if  any, w ill be forw arded upon receipt. 

COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

NO REPLY RECEIV ED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL
12. SIGNASTtUeRpEhaOnFiSeTATEDAigiGtalEl y NsigCneYd bOy FFICIAL:

Stephanie Stephens 

Stephens Date: 2022.01.07 11:54:33 -06'00' 

16. RETURN TO:

Stephanie Stephens 
State Medicaid Director
Post Office Box 13247, MC: H-100
Austin, Texas 78711

13. TYPED NAME:

Stephanie Stephens 

14. TITLE:

State Medicaid Director

15. DATE SUBMITTED:

January 7, 2022

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY 
17. DATE RECEIV ED: 18. DATE APPROVED:

PLAN APPROV ED – ONE COPY ATTACHED 
19. EFFECTIV E DATE OF APPROV ED MATERIAL: 20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL:

21. TYPED NAME: 22. TITLE:

23. REMARKS:

FORM CMS – 179 (07-92) 

James G. Scott

February 1, 2022

Director, Division of Program Operations

January 7, 2022

This is a revised CMS-179.  The original 179 was submitted on 9/3/21. 

January 27, 2022



Attachment to Blocks 8 & 9 of CMS Form 179 

Transmittal Number 21-0002 

Number of the Number of the Superseded 
Plan Section or Attachment Plan Section or Attachment 

Appendix 1 to Attachement 3.1-A 
Page 13i New Page 
Page 13i.1 New Page 

Appendix 1 to Attachement 3.1-B 
Page 13i New Page 
Page 13i.1 New Page 

Attachement 4.19-B 
Page 1a.3 1a.3 TN (21-0022) 



State ofTexas

Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A 

Page 13i 

6.d. Other Practitioners’ Services

(12) Licensed Behavior Analysts

a. To the extent required by EPSDT, a licensed behavior analyst (LBA) operating within the LBA’s state
scope of practice and licensure requirements may provide applied behavior analysis (ABA) evaluation
and treatment services to children under 21 who have a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD)
when the services are delivered in accordance with state licensure requirements.

LBAs must provide direct supervision to licensed assistant behavior analysts (LaBAs) and behavior
technicians (BTs), if LaBAs or BTs are utilized to deliver covered ABA services. LBAs shall assume
professional responsibility for and ensure the quality of ABA services rendered by the LaBAs and
BTs under the LBA’s direct supervision. The supervision of an LaBA and BT is within state scope of
practice for the LBA.  The supervision of a BT by an LaBA who is supervised by an LBA is within
state scope of practice for the LBA and LaBA.

b. Provider Qualifications

1. LBAs must:
a. Be licensed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR);
b. Have a current certification of Board-Certified Behavior Analyst-Doctoral (BCBA-D) or

Board-Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA) by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board
(BACB) or other certification as required by TDLR;

c. Have no active, disqualifying sanctions or disciplinary actions; and
d. Have a completed criminal background check according to the State's requirements.

2. LaBAs must:
a. Be licensed by the TDLR;
b. Have a current certification of Board-Certified assistant Behavior Analyst (BCaBA) by

the BACB or other certification as required by TDLR;
c. Have no active, disqualifying sanctions or disciplinary actions;
d. Have a completed criminal background check according to the State's requirements;
e. Work under the direct supervision of an LBA; and
f. Have the supervisory relationship documented in writing.

TN:    21-0002 
Supersedes TN: new page 

Approval Date: 01/27/2022
Effective Date: 02/01/2022 



State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1A 

Page 13i.1 

3. BTs must:
a. Be 18 years old or older;
b. Be currently registered by the BACB or another national body that is accredited by the

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) or National Commission for Certifying
Agencies (NCCA) and that certifies BTs specializing in ABA or autism spectrum disorder;

c. Have a high school diploma or national equivalent;
d. Have a completed criminal background check that meets the certifying body’s requirements;
e. Work under the direct supervision of an LBA or an LaBA, who is supervised by an LBA; and
f. Have the supervisory relationship documented in writing.

TN:    21-0002     
Supersedes TN: new page 

Approval Date: 01/27/2022
 Effective Date: 02/01/2022



State ofTexas

Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B 

Page 13i 

6.d. Other Practitioners’ Services

(12) Licensed Behavior Analysts

a. To the extent required by EPSDT, a licensed behavior analyst (LBA) operating within the LBA’s state
scope of practice and licensure requirements may provide applied behavior analysis (ABA) evaluation
and treatment services to children under 21 who have a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD)
when the services are delivered in accordance with state licensure requirements.

LBAs must provide direct supervision to licensed assistant behavior analysts (LaBAs) and behavior
technicians (BTs), if LaBAs or BTs are utilized to deliver covered ABA services.  LBAs shall assume
professional responsibility for and ensure the quality of ABA services rendered by the LaBAs and
BTs under the LBA’s direct supervision. The supervision of an LaBA and BT is within state scope of
practice for the LBA.  The supervision of a BT by an LaBA who is supervised by an LBA is within
state scope of practice for the LBA and LaBA.

b. Provider Qualifications

1. LBAs must:
a. Be licensed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR);
b. Have a current certification of Board-Certified Behavior Analyst-Doctoral (BCBA-D) or

Board-Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA) by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board
(BACB) or other certification as required by TDLR;

c. Have no active, disqualifying sanctions or disciplinary actions; and
d. Have a completed criminal background check according to the State's requirements.

2. LaBAs must:
a. Be licensed by the TDLR;
b. Have a current certification of Board-Certified assistant Behavior Analyst (BCaBA) by

the BACB or other certification as required by TDLR;
c. Have no active, disqualifying sanctions or disciplinary actions;
d. Have a completed criminal background check according to the State's requirements;
e. Work under the direct supervision of an LBA; and
f. Have the supervisory relationship documented in writing.

TN:    21-0002       
Supersedes TN: new page 

Approval Date: 01/27/2022  
Effective Date: 02/01/2022 



State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B 

Page 13i.1 

3. BTs must:
a. Be 18 years old or older;
b. Be currently registered by the BACB or another national body that is accredited by the

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) or National Commission for Certifying
Agencies (NCCA) and that certifies BTs specializing in ABA or autism spectrum disorder;

c. Have a high school diploma or national equivalent;
d. Have a completed criminal background check that meets the certifying body’s requirements;
e. Work under the direct supervision of an LBA or an LaBA, who is supervised by an LBA; and
f. Have the supervisory relationship documented in writing.

TN:    21-0002     
Supersedes TN: new page 

Approval Date: 01/27/2022  
Effective Date: 02/01/2022



State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B

Page 1a.3

1. Physicians and Other Practitioners (continued)

(f) When a procedure code is nationally discontinued, a replacement procedure code
is nationally assigned for the discontinued procedure code, and Medicaid
implements the replacement procedure code, a state plan amendment will not be
submitted since the fee for the service has not changed.

(g) To ensure access to care and prompt provider reimbursement, when a new national
procedure code is assigned to a physician-administered drug or biological product, a
preliminary reimbursement rate will be established by the Texas Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC) based on the published Medicare reimbursement
rate; or the average wholesale price (AWP) in the absence of a Medicare
reimbursement rate for the procedure code or the comparable code. In accordance
with 42 CFR §447.205(b)(1), a public notice and state plan amendment will not be
submitted for this preliminary reimbursement rate. This will allow the new procedure
code to be payable as the reimbursement process is completed with a public notice
published and a state plan amendment submitted.

(h) All fee schedules are available through the agency’s website, as outlined on
Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

(i) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees for services provided by
physicians and other practitioners affiliated with tuberculosis clinics or employed by
tuberculosis clinics, effective July 1, 2018, and this fee schedule was posted on the
agency’s website on July 6, 2018.

(j) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees for therapy assistants.
Effective September 1, 2019, the reimbursement for therapy assistants will equal
80 percent of the payment to a therapist.

(k) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees to include peer specialists
effective January 1, 2019, and this fee schedule was posted on the agency’s
website on January 7, 2019.

(l) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees to include licensed
behavior analysts and licensed assistant behavioral analsyts effective February 1,
2022, and this fee schedule will be posted on the agency’s website on or prior to
February 15, 2022. The reimbursement for licensed assistant behavioral analsyts
will equal 80 percent of the payment to a licensed behavior analyst.

(m) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees for physicians and other
practitioners effective February 1, 2022. This fee schedule will be posted on the
Agency’s website on or prior to February 15, 2022.

TN:    21-0002 
Supersedes TN: 21-0022 

Approval Date: 01/27/2022  
Effective Date: 02/01/2022 


		2022-01-27T16:58:05-0600
	James G. Scott -S


		2022-01-27T17:00:08-0600
	James G. Scott -S




