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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 
233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 
Chicago, Illinois 60601 

Financial Management Group 

October 3, 2023 

Emily Zalkovsky, Director 
State Medicaid/CHIP Director 
Health and Human Services Commission 
Mail Code: H100 
Post Office Box 13247 
Austin, Texas 78711 

RE: Texas TN 23-0037 

Dear Director Zalkovsky, 

We have reviewed the proposed Texas State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B, 
TX#23-0037, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on 
September 25, 2023. The proposed amendment updates the fee schedule for Durable Medical 
Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) and Hearing Aids and Audiometric 
Evaluations. 

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of September 1, 2023. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the 
new state plan page. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Monica Neiman at: 
Monica.Neiman@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 
Director 
Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 

mailto:Monica.Neiman@cms.hhs.gov




 
 
 

    
     

  

 

  
  

  

    

 
 

  
  

  

 
 

 

   

 

   
    

State of Texas 
Attachment 4.19-B 

Page 3a 

8. Home Health Services (continued) 

(b) Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) 

(1) If the item of DMEPOS is covered by Medicare, the Medicaid fee will be equal 
to or a percentage of the Medicare fee schedule specific to Texas that is 
available at the time of the fee review unless there is documentation that the 
Medicare fee is insufficient for the items covered under the procedure code and 
required by the Medicaid population. 

(2) For items of DMEPOS not paid at the Medicare fee, the provider will either be 
reimbursed a fee determined by HHSC or through manual pricing. The fee 
determined by HHSC will be based on cost information from providers, 
manufacturers, surveys of the Medicaid fees for other states, survey 
information from national fee analyzers, or other relevant fee-related 
information. 

(3) Manual pricing is reasonable when one procedure code covers a broad range 
of items with a broad range of costs since a single fee may not be a reasonable 
fee for all items covered under the procedure code, resulting in access-to-care 
issues. Examples include 1) procedure codes with a description of “not 
otherwise covered,” “unclassified,” or “other miscellaneous,” and 2) procedure 
codes covering customized items. If manual pricing is used, the provider is 
reimbursed either the documented Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price 
(MSRP) less 18 percent or the documented Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 
less 10.5 percent, whichever is applicable. If one of these is not available, the 
provider's documented invoice cost is used as the basis for manual pricing. 
AWP pricing is used primarily for nutritional products and DMEPOS items sold 
in pharmacies. 

(4) The Medicaid fees for oxygen equipment, oxygen, and oxygen-related supplies 
will not exceed the Medicare fee for the same procedure code. 

(5) All fee schedules are available through the agency’s website as outlined in 
Attachment 4.19-B, page 1. 

(6) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees for durable medical 
equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies effective September 1, 2023, 
and will be posted on the agency’s website by September 15, 2023. 

TN: __23-0037____ Approval Date: ____________October 3, 2023 

Supersedes TN: __23-0008____ Effective Date: September 1, 2023 



 
 

  

         
    

 

 
 

  

 
 

 
 

 

  
  

  

State of Texas 
Attachment 4.19-B 

Page 3b 

9. Hearing Aids and Audiometric Evaluations 

(a) Providers of professional hearing and audiometric evaluation services are 
reimbursed based on the lesser of the provider's billed charges or fees 
determined by HHSC in accordance with Item 1 of this attachment, 
relating to the reimbursement methodology for physicians and certain 
other practitioners. 

(b) Providers of hearing aids are reimbursed the lesser of the provider's billed 
charges or fees determined by HHSC, which are based on a review of 
data available to HHSC, such as cost information from providers or 
manufacturers, surveys of the Medicaid fees for other states, survey 
information from national fee analyzers, or other relevant fee-related 
information. 

(c) All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as outlined in 
Attachment 4.19-B, page 1. 

(d) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees for hearing aids and 
audiometric evaluation services effective September 1, 2023, and this fee 
schedule will be posted on the agency’s website by September 15, 2023. 

TN: _23-0037 Approval Date: ____________October 3, 2023 

Supersedes TN: _23-0008___ Effective Date: September 1, 2023 




