
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 
233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 
Chicago, Illinois 60601 

Financial Management Group 

Ms. Stephanie Stephens 
State Medicaid/CHIP Director 
Health and Human Services Commission 
Mail Code: H100 
Post Office Box 13247 
Austin, Texas 78711 

RE:  Texas TN 21-0044 

Dear Ms. Stephens: 

We have reviewed the proposed Texas State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B, TX#21-
0044, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on December 
21, 2021.  The proposed amendment updates the Ambulatory Surgical Centers fee schedule. 

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of October 1, 2021.  We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new 
state plan page. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Monica Neiman at: 
Monica.Neiman@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 
Director 
Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 

January 18, 2022



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES OMB NO. 0938-0193 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:

21-0044

2. STATE:

TEXAS 

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO:  REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
 CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES
 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE:

October 1, 2021

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Circle One):

 NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN  AMENDMENT 

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment) 

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:

Social Security Act §1902(a)(30); 42 CFR §447.201(b).

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
* Figures in the thousands

a. FFY 2022    $2*
b. FFY 2023    $2*
c. FFY 2024 $2*

SEE ATTACHMENT

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR
ATTACHMENT:

 Attachment 4.19-B 
 Page 7 (g) 

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):

Attachment 4.19-B 
  Page 7 (g) (TN 21-0037) 

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

 The proposed amendment updates the Ambulatory Surgical Centers fee schedule. 

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One):

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Sent to Governor’s Office this date. 

Comments, if any, will be forwarded upon receipt.

COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED

NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL: 16. RETURN TO:

Stephanie Stephens 
State Medicaid Director 
Post Office Box 13247, MC: H-100 
Austin, Texas 78711 

13. TYPED NAME:

Stephanie Stephens

14. TITLE:

State Medicaid Director

15. DATE SUBMITTED:

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY 
17. DATE RECEIVED:
             

18. DATE APPROVED:
      

PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED 
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:
             
 

20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL:

21. TYPED NAME:
             
 

22. TITLE:
      

23. REMARKS:

FORM CMS – 179 (07-92) 

December 21, 2021

October 1, 2021

Todd McMillion

January 18, 2021

Director, Division of Reimbursement Review



State of Texas 

Attachment 4.19-B 

Page 7 (g) 

16. Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs) (Continued)

(f) Example 2:
1. Billed charges = $75.00
2. Medicaid published fee = $80.00
3. Lesser of billed charges or Medicaid published fee = $75.00, which

becomes the allowed amount.
4. Since the billed charges are not greater than the Medicaid fee plus the 5.2

percent high-volume provider payment add-on (i.e., $80.00 + $4.16=
$84.16), no high-volume provider payment add-on is applied, resulting in
the actual payment to the provider of $75.00.

(g) Example 3:
1. Billed charges = $82.00
2. Medicaid published fee = $80.00
3. Lesser of billed charges or Medicaid published fee = $80.00, which

becomes the allowed amount.
4. Since the billed charges are not greater than the Medicaid fee plus the 5.2

percent high-volume provider payment add-on (i.e., $80.00 + $4.16 =
$84.16), only part of the high-volume provider payment add-on is applied
(i.e., up to the billed charges) resulting in the actual payment to the provider
of $82.00.

(h) Medicaid payments for ASC services do not exceed Medicare payments for these
same ASC services.

(i) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees effective October 1, 2021, and is
effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule  posted on the
agency’s website on November 17, 2021.

(j) All fee schedules are available through the agency’s website as outlined on
attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

TN: 21-0044                Approval Date:  

Superseded TN: 21-0037    Effective Date: 10/01/2021 

January 18, 2022
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