Choosing Child Care
Assistance with Cost of Child Care
Although the Child Care Licensing division of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission regulates the child care industry, CCL does not have any programs to assist with the cost of child care.
The Child Care Management Services program of the Texas Workforce Commission helps eligible parents with the cost of child care. The requirements to be eligible for this assistance vary in different regions of the state. To learn more, visit the Texas Workforce Commission website at Texas Workforce Commission website.
To find what child care operations in your area accept CCMS, visit our Texas Child Care Search website and click the box marked "Accepts Child-Care Subsidies."
Depending on where you live in Texas, there might be other programs to assist with child care costs. You can find out more by calling 2-1-1. Information is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week and can be provided in almost any language. You can visit the website at www.211texas.org.
Child Safety Resources
Below are resources with information on how to keep children safe in a variety of situations.
- Car Safety: Keeping Kids Safe – Information about awareness of children in and around vehicles.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Parent Portal – Information to help a parent raise healthy children and provide a safe home and community.
- Department of State Health Services, Product Safety Division – Information about the hazards of items children come in contact with.
- Infant Safe Sleep – Information about safe sleeping practices for infants.
- Texas Department of Family and Protective Services – Additional tools, tips and resources on child safety.
- Texas Department of Public Safety - Child Passenger Safety and Seat Belt Use – Information on how to properly secure your child in vehicles.
- Water Safety for Kids – Information about water safety for children, at home and outdoors.
Infant and Toddler Care Online Training for Parents and Families
Have you ever wondered what makes an infant coo or a toddler tick? Child Care Licensing invites you to a series of web-based training courses designed with you in mind.
These online training courses are quick, low-cost and an easy way to learn about your infant or toddler. They cover topics such as:
- The benefits of developing healthy eating habits at a young age.
- How to reduce the risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS).
- The importance of good communication with your child care provider.
- Tips on how to understand and deal with difficult behavior in your toddler.
Classes are one to two hours long, available online and are free.
These courses were created and developed by the Texas Agrilife Extension Service (part of the Texas A&M System) in cooperation with Child Care Licensing. They were made possible by funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.
Little Texans Big Futures
Little Texans Big Futures helps parents learn about infant, toddler and 3-year-old development.
Child Care Regulation Statistics
For more information on statewide and annual statistics in child care, including the annual data book, serious injuries and child safety data, visit the Child Care Regulation Statistics webpage.