Peace of mind is important for families choosing child care. When children are well cared for and their families can pursue work or school, families thrive and communities prosper. Texas Health and Human Services recognizes the critical decision that parents face and regards a child’s well-being with the utmost importance. HHS has programs in place to ensure the health, safety and well-being of children in out-of-home care.
Child Care Regulation is a statewide program that regulates child care operations and child-placing agencies by inspecting and investigating these operations, making sure they meet the standards Texas has set. The reports of every inspection are available online so parents can make informed child care decisions.
There are two Child Care Regulation programs.
Child Day Care
The Child Day Care program issues permits and monitors center-based and in-home operations caring for children 13 years of age or younger for less than 24 hours a day while parents or guardians are at work or school.
24-hour Residential Child Care
The 24-hour Residential Child Care program issues permits and monitors operations and child-placing agencies providing around-the-clock care for children 17 years of age or younger whose parents or guardians are temporarily or permanently unable to care for them.
How does Child Care Regulation regulate child care facilities?
Child Care Regulation inspects licensed and registered operations to evaluate the minimum standards, rule and law. When CCR observes a violation, it issues a deficiency, notifies the operation in writing and posts the deficiency on the operation’s public online record.
In addition to routine monitoring inspections, Child Care Regulation investigates reports and complaints of possible violations of minimum standards, rule or law including operations that might be providing child care without a permit. These operations are called unregulated or illegal operations. CCR’s goal is to reduce risk to children by helping educate the public and potential providers on the benefits of regulation.
To report suspected child abuse or neglect, or someone providing child care without a permit, visit the Texas Abuse Hotline website.
Technical Assistance and Training
Child Care Licensing offers technical assistance to child care operations and parents during pre-application orientation sessions, inspections, investigations and community outreach activities. Areas of frequent technical assistance include:
- Meeting minimum standards. Learn more about Minimum Standards.
- Safe sleep environments for children.
- Child guidance and discipline.
- Transportation and water safety.
- Child health and safety.
Visit the Technical Assistance Library.