Form 3246 is used to determine a person's eligibility for early termination of their obligation to register as a sex offender under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 62.
Contact the Council on Sex Offender Treatment (CSOT) at 512-438-5446 or firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions.
Information regarding early deregistration, including contact information for the CSOT, is located on the Texas Health and Human Services website at https://www.hhs.texas.gov/doing-business-hhs/licensing-credentialing-regulation/professional-licensing-certification-unit/council-sex-offender-treatment.
When to Prepare
An applicant for early deregistration must submit Form 3246, fees, and other documents to CSOT as required by Texas Administrative Code Title 22 (22 TAC), Chapter 810, Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Subchapter L, Early Termination for Certain Person’s Obligation to Register.
An applicant must submit the following to CSOT:
- A completed Form 3246;
- Order of conviction or order deferring Adjudication;
- Charging instrument (indictment, information, etc.);
- Official documentation, such as an offense report or probable cause affidavit, showing the date of birth or the exact age of the victim at the time of the offense if conviction was for any of the following:
- Fingerprint-based criminal history background checks conducted by both the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation; and
- Cashier’s check, money order, or personal check in the amount of $50 made payable to “The Council on Sex Offender Treatment.”
Important Items to Note:
- Refer to the Texas Department of Public Safety and Federal Bureau of Investigation websites for information on obtaining the required fingerprint-based background checks.
- Texas Department of Public Safety: https://www.dps.texas.gov/administration/crime_records/pages/applicantfingerprintservices.htm
- Federal Bureau of Investigation: https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
- The required $50 fee is for the administrative review of an applicant’s file and request to early terminate the applicant's obligation to register as a sex offender in Texas.
- Do not include any letters of support or recommendation, as CSOT cannot consider them.
- Failure to provide any of the required information will prevent the review of an applicant's deregistration application.
Mailing Address for Applications with Fees:
HHS CSOT, Mail Code 1982
P.O. Box 149347
Austin, Texas 78714-9347