Form 3246 is used to determine a person's eligibility for early termination of their obligation to register as a sex offender under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 62 (statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CR/htm/CR.62.htm).
When to Prepare
An applicant for early deregistration must submit Form 3246, fees and other documents to CSOT as required by Texas Administrative Code Title 22 (22 TAC), Chapter 810, Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Subchapter L, Early Termination for Certain Person’s Obligation to Register (texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=22&pt=36&ch=810&sch=L&rl=Y).
Information regarding early deregistration, including contact information for the Council on Sex Offender Treatment, is located on the CSOT website (texashhs.org/csot).
CSOT must approve all required application materials received before CSOT will make a determination regarding the applicant.
An applicant must submit the following to CSOT:
- A completed Form 3246
- Order of conviction or order deferring adjudication
- Charging instrument (indictment or information)
- Additional documentation only for certain offenses:
If your conviction was for either:
- Texas Penal Code Section 21.02, Continuous Sexual Abuse of Young Child or Disabled Individual (statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.21.htm#21.02); or
- Texas Penal Code Section 21.11(a)(1), Indecency with a Child by Contact (statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.21.htm#21.11)
then submit official documentation, such as a court document, an offense report, or a probable cause affidavit, indicating the age of the victim in years at the time of the offense.
If your conviction was for:
- Texas Penal Code Section 22.011, Sexual Assault (statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.22.htm) and the offense involved consensual sexual conduct and the offender was not more than four years older than the victim;
then submit official documentation, such as a court document, an offense report, or a probable cause affidavit, indicating the offender was not more than four years older than the victim.
- Certified fingerprint-based criminal history background checks conducted by both the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation
- Cashier’s check, money order or personal check in the amount of $50 made payable to “The Council on Sex Offender Treatment”
Important Items to Note:
- Current, certified criminal history background checks conducted by both the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation are required. Click on the respective link and follow the directions provided by each governmental agency:
- Texas Department of Public Safety Fingerprinting Services (dps.texas.gov/section/crime-records/fingerprinting-services).
- Federal Bureau of Investigation Identity History Summary Checks (fbi.gov/how-we-can-help-you/more-fbi-services-and-information/identity-history-summary-checks).
- The required $50 fee is for the administrative review of an applicant’s file and request to early terminate the applicant's obligation to register as a sex offender in Texas.
- Do not include any letters of support or recommendation, as CSOT cannot consider them in determining eligibility for early deregistration.
- Failure to provide any of the required information will prevent the review of an applicant's deregistration application.
Mailing Address for Applications with Fees:
CSOT, Mail Code 1982
P.O. Box 149347
Austin, Texas 78714-9347