If you want to become a 24-hour residential child care provider, please follow these steps. Questions can be directed to your local Child Care Regulation office.
Step 1 - Attend a 24-Hour Residential Pre-Application Class
Sign up for a Pre-Application Class to learn more about the application process and what it takes to become a 24-Hour Residential Child Care provider.
Step 2 - Become Familiar with Required Materials and Helpful Resources
You will receive an information packet during your pre-application class. The information packet includes the:
- Supplemental forms to complete the application process
- Contact information for local Child Care Regulation (CCR) staff.
Please review the following information to learn more about some of the things you need to consider when applying to become a child care provider.
Residential child care includes the care, custody, supervision, assessment, training, education, or treatment of an unrelated child or children (17 years old or younger) for 24 hours a day in a place other than the child’s own home.
Certain persons at child-care operations are required to complete a background check, which may include a Central Registry (child abuse and neglect registry), FBI and a sex offender registry check. Background checks must be completed before a person provides direct care or has direct access to children in care and on a recurring basis thereafter. If a person has a history of abuse or neglect or has a criminal history, then the person may be prohibited from being at a child-care operation.
CCR develops rules for child care in Texas. Each set of minimum standards is based on a particular chapter of the Texas Administrative Code and the corresponding child-care operation permit type. Minimum standards are designed to reduce risk for children by providing basic requirements to protect the health, safety, and well-being of children in out-of-home care.
Insurance coverage is an important protection for your business. CCR requires applicants for a licensed child-care operation to obtain proof of coverage before CCR issues a permit. See the Texas Administrative Code to learn more.
Your complete application packet includes the application form, application fee, and other supplemental forms and documents. For example, a Plan of Operation, including policies and procedures, is a document that is a key part of the application for some licensed operations. It requires your time and attention. It is your written plan showing how you plan to comply with minimum standards. For example, it needs to include information about who is responsible for ensuring minimum standards are met at all times, the physical facility, activities, child to caregiver ratios, safety, and sanitation.
If planning to operate a General Residential Operation that will provide treatment services to children with emotional disorders, the following resource is available to help you develop your educational plan – Educational Best Practices for General Residential Operations (PDF).
After you submit a completed application, CCR staff will conduct an inspection to ensure you and your operation comply with the applicable law and minimum standards. CCR staff periodically inspects your operation to make sure it continues to meet minimum standards. After you operation demonstrates compliance with minimum standards, CCR staff will issue you an initial or full license.
CCR staff will assist you every time you need it. We will support you at your pre-application class, at every inspection, over the phone, and on-line. We encourage you to use the forms and documents created for you. Visit the on-line Technical Assistance Library.
CCR is required to charge fees for processing applications, issuing permits, and conducting background checks. CCR also collects an annual fee that is due each year on the anniversary date of the issuance of your license. The money from fees is deposited in the state’s general revenue fund.
Information about your operation and its compliance history will be available on our public web site at www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Care/Search_Texas_Child_Care/default.asp. It is available to anyone.
Zoning, Building Codes and other Legal Requirements
In some areas, you may need to meet zoning, building code, home owner association, and other requirements concerning the location and construction of a child-care operation. These are not CCR requirements, but you may have to meet them before local authorities will perform fire and sanitation inspections.
The Frequently Asked Questions page will help you find general topics and specific information on many topics. It helps providers and applicants review policies and learn about recent changes too.
Step 3 - Submit an Application
Complete the application form and send it along with other required forms/documentation to your local Child Care Regulation office.
- Form 2960, Application for a License to Operate a Residential Child Care Facility
- Form 2819, Licensing Governing Body/Administrator or Executive Director Designation
- Form 2760, Controlling Person – Child Care Licensing
- Form 2985, Affidavit for Applicants for Employment with a Licensed Operation or Registered Child-Care Home
- Form 2971, Child Care Licensing Request for Background Check
Step 4 - Create an Account
Complete Online Registration to create your provider account once CCR has accepted your application and has provided you an operation number.