Residential Care

What is RC?

Residential Care provides a 24-hour living arrangement in a licensed facility that provides:

  • Personal care
  • Home management
  • Escort
  • Social and recreational activities
  • Transportation
  • 24-hour supervision
  • Supervision of/assistance with or direct administration of medication

Provider Communications

Click here for news, information letters (ILs) & provider letters (PLs).

Don’t Miss Out on Emails from HHS

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission contracts with a company called Granicus to provide email updates, called GovDelivery. In accordance with your contract, and contracting rules at 40 Texas Administrative Code §49.302(g), you must subscribe to receive HHSC email updates, using this GovDelivery signup, and select Information Letters, Provider Alerts and the contract program type(s).

When you sign up for email updates, you are giving your information to both HHSC and to Granicus. When HHSC has your information, it is subject to the HHSC privacy policy. When Granicus has your information, it is subject to the Granicus GovDelivery privacy policy.

Contact Program Staff

For questions about:

How to Become a Provider

Residential Care providers must be licensed as an assisted living facility and have a contract with the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

Statutes & Rules

State

Federal

Other Rules and Statutes

Communications

Information & Provider Letters

Case-sensitive. Use commas to separate multiple entries.
Note: These files are in PDF format unless otherwise noted.
Number Title/Notes Date Published
IL 2012-83 Changes to the Medicaid Eligibility Service Authorization Verification (MESAV) Effective November 2, 2012
IL 2011-162 2011 Cost Report and Cost Report Training Requirements
IL 2011-68 Reminder Regarding Protecting Confidential Information
IL 2010-88 Hospice Managed Care
IL 2010-04 Changes to Contract Bed Amendment Processes
IL 2009-180 Changes to rules regarding Attendant Compensation Reports and reinvestment of recouped funds
IL 2009-123 Reimbursement Rates Effective August 1, 2009
IL 2009-118 Reimbursement Rates Effective September 1, 2009
IL 2009-94 Reminder: 12-Month Claims Payment Rule
IL 2009-36 TV Converter Box Program Update