Critical Incident Management System (CIMS™)

Introducing the Critical Incident Management System (CIMS™)

The Critical Incident Management System (CIMS™) is a reporting tool for providers to report critical incidents that replaces previous reporting systems. Critical incidents include abuse, neglect, or exploitation (ANE) allegations and non-ANE allegations like incidents involving law enforcement, emergency room visits or medication errors. Providers for the following programs will be required to use CIMS™:

  • Deaf Blind with Multiple Disabilities (DBMD) 
  • Home and Community-based Services (HCS) 
  • Texas Home Living (TxHmL) 
  • Community Living Assistance and Support Services (CLASS)
  • Medically Dependent Children Program (MDCP)
  • STAR Kids MDCP / STAR Health MDCP
  • STAR+PLUS Home and Community Based Services (HCBS)
  • LIDDA General Revenue (GR) services

Providers are still required to report ANE allegations to the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) per current reporting guidelines.

How CIMS™ Data Will Be Collected and Used

CIMS™ will comply with guidance issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS):