The Facility Licensing Group is responsible for developing rules that establish minimum standards for special hospital licensing procedures; fees; operational requirements; inspection and investigation procedures; construction; fire prevention and safety requirements; license denial, probation, suspension and revocation.
For consideration of a special hospital license, an establishment must meet the following:
- Offer services, facilities, and beds for use for more than 24 hours for two or more unrelated individuals who are regularly admitted, treated, and discharged and who require services more intensive than room, board, personal services, and general nursing care.
- Provide clinical laboratory facilities, diagnostic x-ray facilities, treatment facilities, or other definitive medical treatment.
- Provide a medical staff in regular attendance.
- Maintain records of the clinical work performed for each patient.
- Not provide surgical services.
Find or Verify a Licensee
- View the accessible version of the Directory of General and Special Hospitals (Excel)
- View the Directory of General and Special Hospitals (PDF)
- Verify a facility license by searching the Online Licensing System
Hospitals may be accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care Organizations or the American Osteopathic Association.
Applying for an Initial Special Hospital License
The application process for special hospital licensing involves:
- Health Facility Licensing Group staff who review the application and required documents for deficiencies. Refer to the application form for fee amount, mailing address and instructions.
- Health Facility Compliance Group staff who are responsible for conducting a pre-survey conference and surveying the facility for compliance with the provisions on Health and Safety Code, Chapter 241 and TAC Chapter 133. Refer to the application form for timelines.
- Architectural Review Group staff who are responsible for approving final construction documents, plans and specifications, as well as, conducting inspections. Click here for more information on the architectural review process.
Supporting Forms and Documents
$39 per bed for licensing application fee. Refer to architectural forms for appropriate plan review and inspection fees. Application fees are not refundable.
Hospitals may be certified to participate in the federal Medicare Program. The Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services directs state health agencies or other appropriate agencies to determine if health care entities meet federal standards. This helping function is termed "provider certification."
Health Facility Compliance Group staff is responsible for certifying hospitals. For more information on the certification process, refer to the hospital laws and rules webpage or contact your zone office (PDF).
Laws and Rules
Senate Bill 1137 Hospital Price Transparency Information
DSHS Center for Health Statistics - hospital and health-related data for Texas
Program Contact Information
Mailing Address for Applications with Fees:
HHSC AR Mail Code 1470
P.O. Box 149055
Austin, Texas 78714-9055
Texas Health and Human Services
Regulatory Services Division, Enforcement Unit
P.O. Box 149347
Austin, Texas 78714-9347