HHSC Adopts Rule Amendments Regarding NATCEPs

Effective March 17, HHSC adopted amendments to Title 26 of the Texas Administrative Code, Ch. 556, concerning Nurse Aides and Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Programs (NATCEP). The amendments revise:

  • The definition of the classroom portion of nurse aide training to include HHSC’s computer-based training (CBT).
  • The definition of a facility used as a NATCEP training site to include hospice inpatient units licensed under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142.
  • Rule language to include that NATCEPs must accept 60 hours of classroom training through HHSC’s CBT for nurse aide candidates seeking to qualify for the Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) exam.
  • Language regarding credentials for NATCEP directors and instructors, making the credential requirements more consistent with federal requirements.
  • Procedures relating to withdrawal of a NATCEP approval, and clarifies that HHSC immediately withdraws approval of a facility-based NATCEP when the facility is assessed a civil money penalty of $5,000 or more.

Email questions to LTCRpolicy@hhs.texas.gov.