A-1940, SNAP ABAWD Work Requirements

Revision 20-3; Effective July 1, 2020

SNAP

The work requirement policy

  • applies the month after a person turns 18; and
  • does not apply in the month a person turns 50.

To meet the SNAP ABAWD work requirement, a person must be working or participating in a specified work program an average of at least 20 hours per week in a month. A person may use a combination of work and participation in a work program to meet this requirement.

A non-exempt person’s 36-month period begins with the first countable month the person works less than an average of 20 hours per week and receives SNAP benefits in Texas or any other state. This is also the first of the three months of time-limited benefits.

Exception: A month in which benefits are prorated is not a countable month.

ABAWDs in Texas are assigned to participate in Workfare through SNAP E&T. Upon notification from the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) that the ABAWD is participating in SNAP E&T, stop counting ABAWD Federal Time Limit (FTL) months effective the same month the person started participating. Remove any ABAWD FTL months already counted in TIERS for the first month of participation and future months. Do not count a benefit month as one of the three initial ABAWD FTL months if the ABAWD participates in SNAP E&T.

If removal of ABAWD months results in the first countable month of the 36-month period being removed, the 36-month period must be adjusted.  Start the new 36-month period with the first month in which the ABAWD does not meet the work requirements. If all countable ABAWD FTL months are removed, the 36-month period must also be removed.

Note: The initial three months of time-limited benefits do not have to be consecutive.

Related Policy

Meeting the Work Requirement Through a Work Program, A-1941.2
Exemptions, A-1942

A—1941 Definition of Work

Revision 19-3; Effective July 1, 2019

SNAP

Work may be:

  • work in exchange for money (employment or self-employment);
  • work in exchange for goods or services (in-kind work); or
  • unpaid work with a business, government entity, or non-profit organization (volunteer labor).

Notes:

  • Consider employment paid by vendor payment as regular employment.
  • Consider work performed under the National and Community Services Act or Domestic Volunteer Service Act, such as AmeriCorps VISTA, as work to meet the work requirement.

A—1941.1 Meeting the Work Requirement Through Self-Employment

Revision 24-1; Effective Jan. 1, 2024

SNAP

Consider a person as meeting the ABAWD work requirement if their self-employment earnings are more than or equal to the federal minimum wage multiplied by 20 hours per week.

If the gross self-employment earnings do not equal at least 20 hours per week multiplied by the federal minimum wage, the person must verify that they are working an average of 20 hours a week using the same verification procedures used for Employment and Training (E&T) exemptions.

Related Policy

Exemptions, A-1942
Verification Sources, A-1970

A—1941.2 Meeting the Work Requirement Through a Work Program

Revision 23-4; Effective Oct. 1, 2023

SNAP

A person may participate in one of the following work programs at least 20 hours per week to meet the work requirement:

  • Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA);
  • Trade Adjustment Assistance Act Program;
  • SNAP E&T Program. Note: E&T Workfare also meets this work requirement even if it is less than 20 hours per week; or
  • an employment and training program for veterans operated by the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) or the U.S. Department of Veteran’s Affairs (VA).

Related Policy

Verification Requirements, A-1970

A—1942 Exemptions

Revision 23-4; Effective Oct. 1, 2023

SNAP

A person is exempt from the SNAP ABAWD work requirement if they:

  • are pregnant;
  • are a member of a SNAP EDG where a household member on the SNAP EDG is under 18;
  • are exempt from E&T registration;
  • live in a waiver area;
  • live in a SNAP non-E&T county; 
  • meet the criteria as being physically or mentally unfit to work;
  • are a veteran;
  • are homeless; or
  • are 24 or younger who was in foster care on their 18th birthday.  

A person is physically or mentally unfit to work if they:

  • have an obvious disability;
  • receive temporary or permanent disability payments from a private or government source, including VA disability payments, regardless of disability rating; or
  • provide a Form H1836-A, Medical Release/Physician’s Statement, stating the person is unable to work at least 20 hours per week.

A person is a veteran if they have served in the United States armed forces such as Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, Space Force, Coast Guard and National Guard. This includes a person who served in a reserve component of the armed forces and who was discharged or released, regardless of the conditions of their discharge or release.

A person is exempt from the SNAP ABAWD work requirement as homeless when their household has no regular nighttime residence, or their primary nighttime residence is a: 

  • supervised shelter that provides temporary living quarters such as a welfare hotel or congregate shelter;
  • place not intended for regular sleeping quarters such as a hallway, bus station or lobby;
  • halfway house or similar institution which provides temporary residence for people intended to be institutionalized; or
  • temporary accommodation in another person’s residence for 90 days or less. After 90 days in the same person’s residence, the household is no longer considered homeless.

A person is exempt from the SNAP ABAWD work requirement if they are 24 or younger and were in foster care under the responsibility of any state, district, territory, or Indian Tribal Organization on the date they turn 18.

Note: Each household member must be exempt from the SNAP ABAWD work requirement for the household to meet the streamlined reporting criteria.

Related Policy 

SNAP Work Requirement Exemptions, A-1822.1 
Streamlined Reporting Households, A-2350
SNAP ABAWD Work Requirement Waiver Counties, C-330
SNAP Non-Employment and Training Counties, C-341