Appendix XIII, State Cutoff Dates

10-2021

Managed care organization (MCO) enrollment changes become effective based on the date the MCO change is requested and processed in relation to state cutoff. Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) uses state cutoff charts to determine the enrollment effective date for the member’s MCO change. The state cutoff date is not always on the same day every month, but it typically occurs mid-month.

MCO changes processed on or before the state cutoff date for a given calendar month become effective the first day of the following calendar month. MCO changes processed after the state cutoff date for a given calendar month become effective the first day of the second calendar month following the month in which a plan change was processed. 

Examples:

Cutoff Date – November 17

  • The member requests an MCO change on November 1. The enrollment effective date for the receiving MCO is December 1.
  • The member requests an MCO change on November 18. The enrollment effective date for the receiving MCO is January 1.

Use the following chart to help determine the member’s MCO enrollment effective date.

2021 Cutoff Dates

Month and Year HHSC Cutoff
January 2021 Thursday 01/14/2021
February 2021 Thursday 02/11/2021
March 2021 Thursday 03/18/2021
April 2021 Thursday 04/15/2021
May 2021 Thursday 05/13/2021
June 2021 Thursday 06/17/2021
July 2021 Thursday 07/15/2021
August 2021 Wednesday 08/18/2021
September 2021 Wednesday 09/15/2021
October 2021 Thursday 10/14/2021
November 2021 Wednesday 11/17/2021
December 2021 Wednesday 12/15/2021

2022 Cutoff Dates

Month and Year HHSC Cutoff
January 2022 Tuesday 01/18/2022
February 2022 Tuesday 02/15/2022
March 2022 Thursday 03/17/2022
April 2022 Thursday 04/14/2022
May 2022 Tuesday 05/17/2022
June 2022 Thursday 06/16/2022
July 2022 Thursday 07/14/2022
August 2022 Thursday 08/18/2022
September 2022 Thursday 09/15/2022
October 2022 Tuesday 10/18/2022
November 2022 Tuesday 11/15/2022
December 2022 Thursday 12/15/2022

Also Appears In:

  • STAR Kids Program Support Unit Operational Procedures Handbook
  • STAR+PLUS Program Support Unit Operational Procedures Handbook

Appears in

  • STAR Kids Handbook
  • STAR Kids Program Support Unit Operational Procedures Handbook
  • STAR+PLUS Program Support Unit Operational Procedures Handbook