3300, Abuse and Neglect Reporting

Revision 22-2; Effective April 1, 2022

HHSC contractors must obey state laws governing the reporting of suspected abuse and neglect of children, adults with disabilities, or individuals 65 years of age or older. The Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 48, requires that suspected abuse, neglect or exploitation of an elderly person, a person with a disability or an individual receiving services from certain home and community-based providers be reported. Contractors must have an agency policy regarding abuse and neglect.

Reporting an Abuse Emergency

To report an emergency that involves the abuse or neglect of children, adults with disabilities, people 65 years of age or older, or an individual receiving services from certain home and community-based providers, call the Texas Abuse Hotline at 800-252-5400. For cases that pose an imminent threat or danger to the individual, call 9-1-1 or any local or state law enforcement agency. 

Reporting a Suspicion of Abuse

For situations that do not require immediate investigation and to report suspicions of abuse, neglect and exploitation of children, adults with disabilities, people 65 years of age or older, or an individual receiving services from certain home and community-based providers, use the Department of Family and Protective Services Texas Abuse Hotline.

3310 Child Abuse Reporting, Compliance and Monitoring

Revision 22-2; Effective April 1, 2022

Contractors and providers must develop policies and procedures that follow the reporting guidelines and requirements in Texas Family Code, Chapter 261. Contractors must develop an internal policy to determine:

  • How child abuse reporting requirements will be implemented throughout their agency;
  • How staff will be trained; and
  • How internal monitoring will be done to ensure timely reporting.

During quality assurance (QA) monitoring, compliance with the following criteria will be evaluated:

  • The contractor's process must ensure that the staff is reporting abuse as required by Texas Family Code, Chapter 261. To verify compliance, QA monitors examine the contractor’s process to assess whether the contractor:
    • Has an internal policy which details how the contractor will determine, document, report and track instances of abuse, sexual and non-sexual, for all individuals under the age of 18 in compliance with the Texas Family Code, Chapter 261;
    • Follows its own internal policy; and
    • Documents staff training on child abuse reporting requirements and procedures.
  • The contractor’s internal policy must clearly describe the reporting process for child abuse.

Resources for child abuse reporting policy development are found at the Texas Abuse Hotline.

3320 Human Trafficking

Revision 22-2; Effective April 1, 2022

HHSC requires that contractors obey state laws governing the reporting of abuse and neglect. Additionally, as part of the requirement that contractors obey all applicable federal laws, family planning contractors must follow the federal anti-trafficking laws, including the Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000 (22 USC §7101, et seq.).

Contractors must have a written policy on human trafficking which includes the provision of annual staff training.

Resources for Human Trafficking Policy Development  

3330 Domestic and Intimate Partner Violence

Revision 22-2; Effective April 1, 2022

Intimate partner violence (IPV) describes physical, sexual, or psychological harm by a current or former partner or spouse. This type of violence can occur among heterosexual or same-sex couples. IPV can exist regardless of the presence of sexual intimacy.

Contractors must have a written policy related to assessment and prevention of domestic and intimate partner violence, including the provision of annual staff training.