7.2 Eligibility Requirements for Medical Interpreter Certification

7.2.1 Qualifications and Requirements for Medical Interpreter Certification

  1. Provide proof of holding one of the following prerequisite certificates:
    • A valid BEI Level III, IV, V, Advanced, or Master certificate
    • A valid Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) Comprehensive Skills Certificate (CSC), Certificate of Interpretation (CI) and Certificate of Transliteration (CT)
    • A valid National Association of the Deaf-Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (NAD-RID) National Interpreter Certification (NIC) Advanced, or NIC Master
  2. Meet the following qualifications and requirements:
    • Be at least 18 years old
    • Have earned a high school diploma or its equivalent
    • Not have a criminal conviction that could qualify as grounds for denial, probation, suspension, or revocation of a BEI certificate, or other disciplinary action against any holder of a BEI certificate
    • Provide written proof to DARS DHHS that the applicant has completed DARS DHHS-approved courses of instruction in medical interpretation, with at least 80 credit hours
    • Submit the appropriate application
    • Pay any required fees
    • Pass the Medical Interpreter Performance Test