Texas Medical Disclosure Panel

Sign up to receive email updates about important changes. This feature will serve as a tool to increase communication with license holders regarding new information added to the website.

Sign Up

The TMDP was established by the 65th Legislature in 1977. The panel is appointed by the Commissioner of Health and is comprised of nine members; three members licensed to practice law in Texas and six members licensed to practice medicine in Texas.

The purpose of the TMDP is to determine which risks and hazards related to medical care and surgical procedures must be disclosed by health care providers or physicians to their patients or persons authorized to consent for their patients, and to establish the general form and substance of such disclosure.

The panel identifies and makes a thorough examination of all medical treatments and surgical procedures in which physicians and health care providers may be involved in order to determine which of those treatments and procedures do and do not require disclosure of the risks and hazards to the patients or persons authorized to consent for the patients.

Staff Responsibility

The Advisory Committee Coordination Office is responsible for supporting the TMDP. The panel meets at the call of the Chairman or on petition of at least three members of the panel, usually three to four times annually.


Dr. Noah Appel, M.D. (Chair)
Physician (Dallas)

Dr. Nathan Scott Deal, M.D. 
Physician (Bellaire)

Ms. Nneka Egbuniwe, J.D.
Lawyer (Plano)

Dr. Sandra Esquivel, M.D. 
Physician (Weslaco)

Ms. Joanne Hopkins, J.D. (Vice-Chair)
Lawyer (Austin)

Mr. Wilbert Hughes, J.D.
Lawyer (Harlingen)

Dr. William C. Pederson, M.D.
Physician (Houston)

Dr. Jeremie Perry, M.D.
Physician (Abilene)

Laws and Rules

Texas Laws

Rules and Regulations

Contact Information

Kayla Cates - Brown
Phone: 512-438-2889