Texas law allows for individuals on the Sex Offender Registry who meet certain conditions to petition to have their names removed from the list through a process known as “deregistration.” Please note not all individuals may apply for deregistration. For eligibility criteria and detailed instructions, refer to the Deregistration Step-by-Step Guide (PDF) and Form 3246, Initial Eligibility Checklist for Early Termination of Certain Persons’ Obligation to Register.
There is a $50 fee for submitting the application to be removed from the registry.
Tiering of Sexual Offenses
For information on the tiering of sexual offenses, please refer to the "Texas Offenses Tiered Under the Federal Adam Walsh Act" (PDF) document published on the Texas Department of Public Safety's website. Refer to step two on the Deregistration Step-by-Step Guide (PDF) for more information.
List of Deregistration Specialists
CSOT provides a roster of deregistration specialists for informational purposes only. Do not use this roster to verify the current status of a license. If you need to verify a license, please use our live online search or email CSOT.
Email CSOT@hhs.texas.gov for a printed copy of the roster. Each roster is $8.00.
- Deregistration Evaluation Specialist Criteria (PDF)
- Deregistration Evaluation Methodology and Report Format (PDF)