HUB Certification Program

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA) administers and maintains the state's HUB Certification Program. The HHS HUB Program only recognizes currently certified HUBs listed in the CPA Centralized Master Bidders List (CMBL) or in the HUB Directory.

What qualifies as a HUB?

A HUB is a for-profit business legally recognized by the State of Texas and that is at least 51-percent owned by one or more of the following groups:

  • Black Americans
  • Hispanic Americans
  • Asian Pacific Americans
  • Native Americans
  • American women
  • Service-Disabled Veterans (at least 20% service disabled)

In addition, the business needs to meet the following:

HUB Recertification

Prior to the expiration of a vendor’s HUB certification, the Texas Comptroller of Public Account will send out a notification requesting additional information to evaluate whether the business still meets the HUB eligibility criteria. Contact usfor more information on HUB Recertification.

Additional Requirements for Pursuing HUB Certification:

HUB Certification is available for an eligible business once the entity obtains an Employer Identification Number (EIN) and is registered with the Texas Secretary of State.  All Texas business must register their business with the Texas Secretary of State.

Visit the Texas Secretary of State's website for more information on how to start a business in the State of Texas.