D-8500, Qualified Aliens, Retroactive Coverage and SSI

Revision 17-4; Effective December 1, 2017

To determine the alien status for retroactive coverage, use the policy in the following:

  • Section D-8310, Qualified Aliens Subject to a Seven-Year Limited Period
  • Section D-8320, Qualified Aliens Not Subject to a Waiting Period or Limited Period
  • Section D-8330, Qualified Aliens with a Five-Year Waiting Period

Note: Before denying SSI, the Social Security Administration (SSA) will test the person for an extension beyond the seven-year limited period. Qualified aliens who were lawfully residing in the U.S. on Aug. 22, 1996 and who are blind or disabled may continue to be eligible for SSI beyond the seventh year, assuming all other factors of eligibility are met, regardless of:

  • the alien's age;
  • whether onset of blindness or disability occurred before, on or after Aug. 22, 1996; or
  • when the SSI application was filed.

If a denied SSI recipient applies for an MEPD program, determine the reason for the SSI denial. If the SSI denial was based on alien status (for example, expiration of the seven-year limited period) to be eligible for an MEPD program, the qualified alien must:

  • become a naturalized citizen;
  • meet citizenship status; or
  • meet an LPR condition in Section D-8320.

Note:  Individuals denied SSI whose alien classification is lawfully residing in the U.S. on Aug. 22, 1996 and are blind or have a disability, are not eligible for continued Medicaid or a Medicare Savings Program.