1000, LIDDA Overview

Revision 19-4; Effective September 9, 2019

House Bill 3 of the 59th Legislature (1965) created the structure now known as the local intellectual and developmental disability authority (LIDDA). In the 1960s, the state moved to provide mental health and intellectual disability services in the community rather than in institutions. Community centers were created to provide community-based services and address the needs of persons returning to their communities from state supported living centers (SSLCs), Medicaid-certified nursing facilities and state hospitals. Each center has a designated local service area comprised of one or more Texas counties.

The LIDDA was developed as a means for the state to delegate its authority and responsibilities related to planning, policy development, coordination, resource allocation, resource development, and oversight of community intellectual and developmental disability (IDD) services throughout the state. The state is required to contract with the designated LIDDAs and provides funding for the delegated functions and for required community-based services to be provided in each service area.

In the Texas Health and Safety Code, Title 7, Subtitle A, Chapter 533A, §533A.0355, and in Texas Administrative Code, Title 40, Part 1, Chapter 2, Subchapter G, §2.305 (LIDDA’s Role and Responsibilities), each LIDDA serves as the single point of access to certain publicly funded services and supports for the residents within the LIDDA's local service area. A LIDDA's responsibilities include:

  • providing information about IDD services and supports;
  • ensuring a person’s access into IDD services and supports by:
    • conducting intake and eligibility activities for persons seeking services and supports; and
    • enrolling or admitting an eligible person into IDD services and supports, including the following Medicaid programs:
      • Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with an Intellectual Disability or Related Conditions (ICF/IID), which includes SSLCs;
      • Home and Community-based Services (HCS);
      • Texas Home Living (TxHmL); and
      • Non-Waiver Community First Choice (CFC);
  • conducting interest list management functions for HCS and TxHmL;
  • performing safety net functions;
  • ensuring the provision and oversight of general revenue services by:
    • developing and managing a network of general revenue services providers; and
    • establishing processes to monitor the performance of general revenue services providers;
  • providing service coordination;
  • conducting utilization management for general revenue services;
  • planning for the local service area and ensuring involvement by a local advisory committee and other stakeholders;
  • conducting permanency planning for certain persons under 22 years of age;
  • conducting Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) evaluations;
  • protecting the health, safety and rights of a person; and
  • for institutional residents:
    • presenting community living options to SSLC residents; and
    • providing a continuity of services for persons who are leaving an SSLC;
  • for nursing facility (NF) residents, ensuring the provision of:
    • specialized services;
    • habilitation coordination; and
    • community living options (CLOs).