Value-Based Payment and Quality Improvement Advisory Committee

The Value-Based Payment and Quality Improvement Advisory Committee (Quality Committee) provides a forum to promote public-private, multi-stakeholder collaboration in support of quality improvement and value-based payment initiatives for Medicaid, other publicly funded health services and the wider health care system. It was established in accordance with Texas Government Code §531.012.

For more information on Health and Human Services Value-Based Payment Initiative, visit the Value Based Care page

The Quality Committee studies and makes recommendations regarding:

  • Value-based payment and quality improvement initiatives to promote better care, better outcomes and lower costs for publicly funded health care services.
  • Core metrics and a data analytics framework to support value-based purchasing and quality improvement in Medicaid/CHIP.
  • HHSC and managed care organization incentive and disincentive programs based on value.
  • The strategic direction for Medicaid/CHIP value-based programs.

The Quality Committee also pursues other deliverables consistent with its purpose to improve quality and efficiency in state health care services, as requested by the HHSC executive commissioner or adopted into its work plan or bylaws.
By December 1 of each even-numbered year, the committee submits a written report to the executive commissioner and Texas Legislature that:

  • Describes current trends and identifies best practices in health care for value-based payment and quality improvement
  • Provides recommendations consistent with the purposes of the Quality Committee

Bylaws: Value-Based Payment Quality Improvement Advisory Committee (PDF)

Upcoming Meetings:

  • May 23, 2023
  • August 10, 2023
  • November 14, 2023

The above dates are tentative. 


Dana Danaher, Austin

Frank Dominguez, El Paso

Rachel Hammon, New Braunfels

Carol Huber, Chair, San Antonio

Janet Hurley, Whitehouse

Andy Keller, PhD, Dallas

Kathy Lee, Gatesville

Karen Love, Fort Worth

Melissa Matlock, Canyon

Benjamin McNabb, Pharm. D., Eastland

Binita Patel, MD, Houston

Rachana Patwa, Missouri City

Mary Dale Peterson, MD, Corpus Christi

Alejandro Posada, Houston

Joseph Ramon III, R.Ph., McAllen

Dr. Shao-Chee Sim, Missouri City

Michael Stanley, MD, Dallas

Roberto Villarreal, Seguin

David Weden, Buda

Ex Officio Representatives

Lisa C. Kirsch, Vice-Chair, Austin

Dr. Mike Ragain, Lubbock

Shayna Spurlin, College Station

For Additional Information

Please email Jimmy Blanton or call 512-380-4372.