STAR Kids Managed Care Advisory Committee

Background and Purpose

The STAR Kids Managed Care Advisory Committee, created by Senate Bill 7 of the 83rd Texas Legislature (Regular Session), advises HHSC on the establishment and implementation of the STAR Kids Medicaid managed care program. The STAR Kids Medicaid managed care program is legislatively mandated to provide services for children with disabilities who have Medicaid coverage to improve coordination and customization of care, access to care, health outcomes, cost containment and quality of care. The STAR Kids model must require a health home, care management, and provide comprehensive coordination of acute care and long-term service benefits.


Catherine Carlton, Chair
MHMR of Tarrant County
Family Member
Arlington, TX

Terri Carriker, Vice Chair
Family Member
Austin, TX

Rahel Berhane, M.D.
Ascension Seton Medical Center
Physician Provider
Austin, TX

Josh Britten
BritKare Home Medical
Durable Medical Equipment and Services Representative
Amarillo, TX

Rosalba Calleros
Texas Parent to Parent
Family Member
Austin, TX

Iris Gutierrez 
Driscoll Health Plan
MCO Representative
Corpus Christi TX

Tara Hopkins
Managed Care Organization Representative, Dental
Austin, TX

Alice Martinez
Clarity Child Guidance Center
San Antonio, TX

Glen Medellin, M.D.
University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio
San Antonio, TX

Ricardo Mosquera
University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston
Houston, TX

Katherine Ostermaier, M.D.
Texas Children’s Health Plan
Managed Care Organization Representative
Houston, TX

Jose Pereida
United States House of Representatives
Robstown, TX

Blake Smith
Steps2Strides Therapy Center
Therapy Provider
Denison, TX

Elizabeth Tucker 
Every Child, Inc.
Advocate for children with special healthcare needs
Austin, TX

Shawnett Viani
REACH of Plano
Denton, TX

Belinda West
Thrive Skilled Pediatric Care
Private Duty/Pediatric Nursing Provider,
Dallas Tx

Beanca Williams
Volunteers of America Texas
Home and Community-Based Provider
Stafford, TX

Meeting Dates

  • January 12, 2022
  • March 2, 2022
  • June 15, 2022
  • September 21, 2022
  • December 6, 2022


Information related to the Medically Dependent Children Program (MDCP)


More Information

Advisory Committee Coordinator                                                    
Michelle Thomas