Hospital Payment Advisory Committee

The Hospital Payment Advisory Committee functions as a sub-committee of the Medical Care Advisory Committee. It advises MCAC and the Health and Human Services Commission about hospital reimbursement methodologies for inpatient hospital prospective payment and on adjustments for disproportionate share hospitals. The committee advises to ensure reasonable, adequate, and equitable payments to hospital providers and to address the essential role of rural hospitals.

Rural Hospital Advisory Committee

The Rural Hospital Advisory Committee (RHAC) is a newly-formed subcommittee of HPAC mandated by Senate Bill 1621, 86th Legislature, Regular Session, 2019, to advise HHSC of issues relating specifically to rural hospitals.


Steve Hand, HPAC Chair
Memorial Hermann Health System

Diana J. Strupp
Tenet Health Systems

Frank L. Beaman (RHAC member)
Faith Community Health System

John Henderson (RHAC member)
Texas Organization of Rural and Community Hospitals (TORCH)
Round Rock

Julie Holly
Seton Healthcare

Stephen W. Kimmel
Cook Children's Healthcare System
Fort Worth

Rebecca McCain, MHA (RHAC Chair)
Electra Hospital District

Michael L. Nunez
University Medical Center of El Paso
El Paso

Daniel Olvera
Steward Health Care System

Jerry Pickett (RHAC member)
Bosque County District Hospital

Todd Scroggins (RHAC member)
Wise Health Systems

Committee and Subcommittee Meeting Dates

  • February 1, 2024
  • May 7, 2024
  • August 1, 2024
  • November 7, 2024

For More Information

Email Basundhara Raychaudhuri.