ECI Advisory Committee

The Early Childhood Intervention Advisory Committee, which is required by Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, advises the Texas Health and Human Services Commission Division for Early Childhood Intervention Services on development and implementation of policies that constitute the statewide ECI system. The governor appoints the committee members.

The federal law establishing the system of early intervention programs for infants and toddlers with developmental delays or disabilities is Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. In Texas, the Part C program is Early Childhood Intervention. ECI is a division of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

Each state that operates a Part C program must include as a part of its program an advisory council. Part C of the IDEA calls that council the Interagency Coordinating Council. The HHSC/ECI ICC is the ECI Advisory Committee. The function of the Advisory Committee is to advise and assist HHSC/ECI in its operation of the statewide system of providing ECI services to eligible children and families in Texas. The multidisciplinary and multi-constituency representation on the Advisory Committee contributes to making it an important part of the ECI system. It is ECI’s major source of stakeholder input.


Chasey Sanchez, Ph.D., Chair
Program Representative
Texas City

Catherine Carlton, Chair-Elect
Program Representative

Pattie Rosenlund
Program Representative

Stephanie Perry
Parent Representative

Ryan David Van Ramshorst, M.D.
HHSC Medicaid/CHIP Representative
San Antonio

Terrie Breeden
Texas Education Agency Representative

Patricia Kay Reedy

Stephanie Shine, Ph.D.
Head Start Representative

Lizzeth Saldana
Parent Representative
San Antonio

Sarah Abrahams
Department of Family Protective Services (DFPS) Representative

Hannah Holmes English
Parent Representative

Cynthia (Cal) Azenneth Lopez
Texas Education for Homeless Children and Youth (TEHCY) Representative

Cynthia (Cindy) Dawn Lee
Public Provider Representative

Guillermo Lopez
Program Representative

Kristina Borenstein Otterstrom
Parent Representative

Rachel Cerkovnik Bowden
Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) Representative

Allison Pearce Wilson
Texas Workforce Commission Representative

Stephanie Klick
State Legislative Representative
Fort Worth


The Committee is required to meet quarterly. The following dates have been set for fiscal year 2024:

  • Nov. 15, 2023
  • Jan. 18, 2024
  • April 24, 2024
  • August 13, 2024

Most meetings are held in Austin.

For More Information

Contact us at