Council on Sex Offender Treatment

Since 1983, CSOT has been recognized by the State of Texas as the experts in the treatment and management of sex offenders. CSOT sets forth the standards of practice for the sex offender treatment providers in the State.

The civil commitment of sexually violent predators function of the Council on Sex Offender Treatment has transferred to a new agency, the Texas Civil Commitment Office effective 9/1/11. For all questions regarding civil commitment, please call the new TCCO phone number at (512) 873-8112, or visit their website at For questions regarding the Council on Sex Offender Treatment, please call (512) 834-4530.

Questions regarding the licensing and regulation of sex offender treatment providers and the de-registration application process should still be directed to the Council on Sex Offender Treatment at its current contact numbers found on this webpage. Phone calls are now directed to a queue and are answered in order of receipt by Professional Licensing and Certification Unit customer service staff who are cross-trained to assist with multiple licensing programs.


Council Members

  • Aaron Paul Pierce, PhD, LPC, LSOTP-S, Chairperson
  • Terri L. Bauer, LCSW, LSOTP-S
  • Charissa Dvorak, public member
  • Louis Gonzales, III, public member
  • Ezio Leite, LPC-S, LMFT, LSOTP-S
  • Emily Orozco-Crousen, MEd, LPC, LSOTP
  • James Taylor, LMFT, LCDC, public member

Interagency Advisory Committee Members

  • Judy Switzer
  • Jennie Barr, Ph.D.
  • Jacquelyn Shair, MBA, MS, LPC, NCC, LSOTP, CART
  • David Walenta
  • Christopher Dickinson
  • Ana Aguirre
  • Carrie Lopez
  • Vacant
  • Vacant


Council Meeting

Official meeting agendas are posted on the Secretary of State’s Open Meetings web page.


Biennial Reports


Contact Us

Sign up for email updates.

By Mail
Council on Sex Offender Treatment
Mail Code 1982
P.O. Box 149347
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Main Number: 512-834-4530
Fax: 512-834-6677
Email address: