Governor’s EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) Disaster Preparedness and Response Committee Meeting Agenda

May 24, 2022 - 9:00 am

Holiday Inn Austin Midtown, Hill Country Rooms A and B
6000 Middle Fiskville Road, Austin, TX
United States

This meeting will be conducted live and virtually through Microsoft Teams.

To access the online meeting, click on the link below and register.
Registration must be completed no later than 5:00 P.M., May 19, 2022.

Eric Epley, NREMT-P, Chair
Mike Clements, Brian Eastridge, MD, Sharon Malone, MD, Council Liaisons
Jorie Klein, RN, Joseph Schmider, DSHS

Call to Order/Roll Call – Eric Epley, NREMT-P, Chair

Reading of the GETAC Vision and Mission Statements – Eric Epley, Chair

GETAC Vision:
A unified, comprehensive, and effective Emergency Healthcare System.

GETAC Mission:
To promote, develop, and advance an accountable, patient-centered Trauma and Emergency Healthcare System.

Review and approval of February 9, 2022 meeting minutes – Eric Epley, Chair

GETAC Chair comments – Alan Tyroch, MD, GETAC Chair

EMS-Trauma Systems Update – Jorie Klein, MSN, MHA, BSN, RN, EMS-Trauma Systems Director; Joseph Schmider, State EMS Director

Discussion and possible action on the following items – Committee Members

  1. Emergency Medical Task Force (EMTF) Updates – Sara Jensen
  2. Conflict of Interest Discussion - DSHS
  3. COVID-19 Response, discussion of best practices, concerns, etc. – Eric Epley, Chair
  4. Statewide EMS/Emergency Medical Task Force (EMTF) wristband project – Christine Reeves, Heart of Texas Regional Advisory Council (HOTRAC)
  5. Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) Supply Chain Resiliency Discussion – Eric Epley, Chair and Chief Nim Kidd, TDEM
  6. Review the GETAC Strategic Plan for the Texas Emergency Healthcare System and determine if any additions, deletions, or corrections are in order – Committee Members
  7. Initiatives, programs, and potential research that might improve disaster preparedness and response in Texas – Eric Epley, Chair

General Public Comment (Comment time may be limited at Chair’s discretion.)

Summary of action items for GETAC meeting report – Committee Members

Announcements – Eric Epley, Chair

Review and list agenda items for next meeting – Eric Epley, Chair

Next meeting date – Eric Epley, Chair

Adjournment – Eric Epley, Chair

Public Comment: The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) welcomes public comments pertaining to topics related to Emergency Health Care. Members of the public are encouraged to participate in this process by providing written public comment to DSHS by emailing no later than 5:00 P.M., May 19, 2022. Please include your name and either the organization you are representing or that you are speaking as a private citizen. Written comments are limited to three minutes and will be read during the meeting for consideration by the Council. The request must contain your name, the name of the organization you represent or that you are speaking as a private citizen, and your direct phone number.

Public comment is limited to three minutes. Speakers must state their name, affiliation, and on whose behalf they are speaking. Public members who are using handouts are asked to provide an electronic copy in accessible pdf format that will be distributed by DSHS staff to Council members, state staff, and for public distribution. Handouts are limited to two pages of documentation (paper size: 8.5” by 11”, one side only). Handouts must be emailed to DSHS no later than 5:00 P.M., May 19, 2022, and include the name of the person who will be commenting.

Note: These procedures may be revised at the discretion of DSHS.

Contact: Questions regarding agenda items, content, or meeting arrangements should be directed to Jorie Klein, DSHS, 512-535-8538, or

People with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Crystal Beard at 737-270-0202 or at least 72 hours before the meeting so appropriate arrangements can be made.