Governor’s EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) Joint Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Committee & EMS Education Committee Meeting Agenda

April 14, 2022 - 9:00 am

Global Medical Response, Realm 4400 Hwy 121, Suite 700, Star of Life Rooms A & B
Lewisville, TX
United States

This meeting will be conducted live and virtually through Microsoft Teams.

To access the online meeting, click on the link below and register.
Registration must be completed no later than 5:00 P.M., April 12, 2022.

Eddie Martin, LP, Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Committee Chair
Judge Mike DeLoach, Ryan Matthews, LP, Dudley Wait, LP, Council Liaisons
Joseph Schmider, DSHS

Macara Trusty, LP, Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Education Chair
Lucille Maes, LP, Taylor Ratcliff, MD, Council Liaisons
Mattie Mendoza, Joseph Schmider, DSHS

Call to Order/Roll Call – Committee Chairs

Reading of the Governor’s EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) Vision and Mission Statements – Committee Members

GETAC Vision:
A unified, comprehensive, and effective Emergency Healthcare System.

GETAC Mission:
To promote, develop, and advance an accountable, patient-centered Trauma and Emergency Healthcare System.

Eddie Martin & Macara Trusty, Chairs

Discussion and possible action on the following items – Committee Members

  1. High School Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Program Guidelines – Macara Trusty, EMS Education Committee Chair
  2. Initiatives, programs, and potential research that might improve EMS Education in Texas (Performance Improvement Objective: not identified, Strategy: not identified) – Macara Trusty, Chair
    1. Graduate Paramedic Concept (EMS Medical Direction: Objective: 3, Strategy: not identified)
    2. Bridge courses: Emergency Care Attendant (ECA) to Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), EMT to Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT), AEMT to Paramedic
    3. Distance Learning Initial Education Programs and Continuing Education

General Public Comment (Comment time may be limited at Chair’s discretion.)

Summary of action items for May committee meeting– Committee Members

Adjournment – Committee Chairs

Public Comment: The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) welcomes public comments pertaining to topics related to Emergency Health Care. Members of the public are encouraged to participate in this process by providing written public comment to DSHS by emailing no later than 5:00 P.M., April 12, 2022. Please include your name and either the organization you are representing or that you are speaking as a private citizen. Written comments are limited to three minutes and will be read during the meeting for consideration by the Council. The request must contain your name, the name of the organization you represent or that you are speaking as a private citizen, and your direct phone number.

Public comment is limited to three minutes. Speakers must state their name, affiliation, and on whose behalf they are speaking. Public members who are using handouts are asked to provide an electronic copy in accessible pdf format that will be distributed by DSHS staff to Council members, state staff, and for public distribution. Handouts are limited to two pages of documentation (paper size: 8.5” by 11”, one side only). Handouts must be emailed to DSHS no later than 5:00 P.M., April 12, 2022, and include the name of the person who will be commenting.

Note: These procedures may be revised at the discretion of DSHS.

Contact: Questions regarding agenda items, content, or meeting arrangements should be directed to Jorie Klein, DSHS, 512-535-8538, or

People with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Crystal Beard at 737-270-0202 or at least 72 hours before the meeting so appropriate arrangements can be made.