ECI Advisory Committee

The Early Childhood Intervention Advisory Committee, which is required by Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, advises the Texas Health and Human Services Commission Division for Early Childhood Intervention Services on development and implementation of policies that constitute the statewide ECI system. The governor appoints the committee members.

The federal law establishing the system of early intervention programs for infants and toddlers with developmental delays or disabilities is Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. In Texas, the Part C program is Early Childhood Intervention. ECI is a division of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

Each state that operates a Part C program must include as a part of its program an advisory council. Part C of the IDEA calls that council the Interagency Coordinating Council. The HHSC/ECI ICC is the ECI Advisory Committee. The function of the Advisory Committee is to advise and assist HHSC/ECI in its operation of the statewide system of providing ECI services to eligible children and families in Texas. The multidisciplinary and multi-constituency representation on the Advisory Committee contributes to making it an important part of the ECI system. It is ECI’s major source of stakeholder input.


Pattie Rosenlund, Program Director, Chair
Program Representative

Barbara Knighton, Chair-Elect
Parent Representative

Ryan David Van Ramshorst, M.D.
HHSC Medicaid/CHIP Representative
San Antonio

Christina Renee Sherrod, M.D.
Physician Representative

Terrie Breeden
Texas Education Agency Representative

Patricia Kay Reedy

Diana Ruiz, D.N.P.
Personnel Preparation Representative

Stephanie Shine, Ph.D.
Head Start Representative

Catherine Carlton
Program Representative

Lizzeth Saldana
Parent Representative
San Antonio

Melissa Griffiths
Parent Representative
Trophy Club

Jeremy Triplett
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Representative

Elizabeth (Betsy) Barry Zulfer
Parent Representative
Round Rock

Sarah Abrahams
Department of Family Protective Services (DFPS) Representative

Hannah Holmes English
Parent Representative

Cynthia (Cal) Azenneth Lopez
Texas Education for Homeless Children and Youth (TEHCY) Representative

Cynthia (Cindy) Dawn Lee
Public Provider Representative

Guillermo Lopez
Program Representative

Chasey Reed-Boston, Ph.D.
Program Representative
Texas City

Laura Warren
Advocate Representative

Kristina Borenstein Otterstrom
Parent Representative

Rachel Cerkovnik Bowden
Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) Representative

Allison Pearce Wilson
Texas Workforce Commission Representative

Stephanie Klick
State Legislative Representative
Fort Worth


The Committee is required to meet quarterly. The following dates have been set for fiscal year 2021:

  • November 4, 2020
  • December 15, 2020
  • January 13, 2021

Most meetings are held in Austin.

For More Information

Contact us at

Past Events

August 25, 2021

April 7, 2021

January 13, 2021

December 15, 2020

November 4, 2020