October 9, 2020

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, recognizing the leading cancer diagnosis and the second leading cause of cancer-related deaths in Texas women.

The HHS Breast and Cervical Cancer Services (BCCS) program provides quality, accessible breast and cervical cancer screening and diagnostic services to women.

Regular screening is the best way to detect breast or cervical cancer in its earliest stages, so remembering to get regular screenings and encouraging others to do so is key.

BCCS services include:

  • Clinical breast examinations.
  • Mammograms.
  • Pelvic examinations and Pap tests.
  • Cervical dysplasia management and treatment.
  • Help applying for the Medicaid for Breast and Cervical Cancer program.

To learn more, visit the BCCS webpage. Check the BCCS Client Eligibility page or the BCCS: Who Can Apply? page to see if you’re eligible for services.

Throughout the month, BCCS encourages you to continue learning about breast cancer through these national recognition days:

Oct. 13: National Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day

Metastatic breast cancer is also known as stage 4, meaning the cancer has spread to other organs in a process called metastasis. All deaths from breast cancer are caused by metastatic breast cancer, which is treatable but not curable.

Oct. 16: National Mammography Day

Since 1993, the third Friday in October has been recognized to encourage women to make a mammography appointment. Mammograms are a screening that uses an X-ray picture of the breast to find breast cancer.

Oct. 21: Breast Reconstruction Awareness (BRA) Day

Many women who have had a mastectomy (surgery to remove an entire breast to treat or prevent breast cancer) have the option of reconstructing their breasts. BRA Day focuses on educating women about options to make a reconstruction decision that’s best for them.

To learn more about breast cancer and Texas resources, visit the Healthy Texas Women website.